We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bunha Faun

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bunha Faun
152 Lancaster Ave, Malvern, PA 19355-2123
610-651-2836
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 61 Restaurants in Malvern
Price range: $17 - $40
Cuisines: French, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Private Parking LotFrench Cuisine with an oriental FlairActually located in Frazer, PA but mailing address is Malvern
Hawley, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The food was inventive and delicious. Presentation and service was good (service lagged a bit when it got busier). The outside is not inviting (used to be a dairy queen and looks it). But the food was AMAZING! We couldn't stop sharing tastes of appetizes and entrees - and then could not resist sharing desserts, based on the quality of the first two courses! Highly recommend!!! BYOB

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    7
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What a Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

After driving past this restaurant for years, my husband and I ventured in after reading reviews on Trip Advisor. What an absolute treat! I don't know what was better the food or the service. We started our meal with the escargot and crab ravioli. The sauce for the ravioli was wonderful as were the ravioli. The escargot was sublime. My hubby had the filet with au gratin potatoes and green beans. He said it was the most flavorful, perfectly cooked filet he has ever eaten. I had the roasted duck with raspberry sauce. The waitress recommended going with the fruit sauce verses the wine sauce and she was so right. The duck was cooked perfectly. It was crispy, yet juicy and so flavorful. Everything, in fact is packed with flavor. Desserts looked wonderful, but we were too full. Our waitress was wonderful. She provided perfect service, recommendations and shared a few really wonderful stories. You absolutely must visit this wonderful little gem. You'll won't regret it. We're already talking about what we are going to order at our next visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester Springs, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“OMG. The Best BYOB in Chester County”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I have to say, Bunha Faun was the highlight of my week. The Food was amazing and the service was outstanding. I ordered the 8 oz. Filet and it was better that any chain (Capital Grille, Sullivans, Mortans, stc..). My wife had the Duck and it was terrific. I would HIGHLY recommend Bunha Faun for a nice escape into fine cuisine.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Awesome food, but service was fair (at best).”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I went with my wife and anopther couple for a Saturday evening dinner out. We had reservations but still had to wait nearly 45 minutes to get seated (and only after my wife and I started to confront the staff about the delay). Once seated the service was ok, still not great.
Then the food came and it was AWESOME. The fish, seafood and veal were all outstanding! The sauces were top notch and the portion were good. It is BYOB, so the check is a nice surprise at the end.
It is a hidden gem as you can pass by it without ever noticing it. I recommend it, but be ready to wait.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malvern pa
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A HIDDEN PEARL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

A small romantic restaurant hidden among the commercial bric-a-brac that is Route 30. Thanks to Tripadvisor and its reviewers we decided to try BF to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. Great choice! Quiet, low key, romantic, BF is just the place to go when a special meal is what you need. Service was superb. Our candle began to sputter and was quickly replaced. Little things, we told the server we would split an appetizer and it came out on separate plates, no messy fumbling at the table. The menu is full of delicious surprises, duck, rack of lamb, even tofu for the dedicated vegetarians among us. The two and one hours we spent there were among the most pleasant we have experienced. Give BF a try. You will discover restaurant going is not all rush, rush, but a delicious event.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bunha Faun also viewed

 

Been to Bunha Faun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bunha Faun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.