We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A HIDDEN PEARL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bunha Faun

Bunha Faun
152 Lancaster Ave, Malvern, PA 19355-2123
610-651-2836
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 62 Restaurants in Malvern
Price range: $17 - $40
Cuisines: French, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Private Parking LotFrench Cuisine with an oriental FlairActually located in Frazer, PA but mailing address is Malvern
malvern pa
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A HIDDEN PEARL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

A small romantic restaurant hidden among the commercial bric-a-brac that is Route 30. Thanks to Tripadvisor and its reviewers we decided to try BF to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. Great choice! Quiet, low key, romantic, BF is just the place to go when a special meal is what you need. Service was superb. Our candle began to sputter and was quickly replaced. Little things, we told the server we would split an appetizer and it came out on separate plates, no messy fumbling at the table. The menu is full of delicious surprises, duck, rack of lamb, even tofu for the dedicated vegetarians among us. The two and one hours we spent there were among the most pleasant we have experienced. Give BF a try. You will discover restaurant going is not all rush, rush, but a delicious event.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    7
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenixville PA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Interesting find in Malvern.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Were it not for trip advisor, we would have continued to ride pass this gem in Malvern. Yes, it's an ugly building; the small sign does not begin to describe the great meal that awaits you - French with an Asian Flair? What does that mean? Make the trip inside....you will not be disappointed. Great food, decent prices, personable, attentive, knowledgeable staff, interesting menu and specials. No bar or lobby, but we love BYOB.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Exceptional restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The dinner we had here is probably one of the very best ever. The snow pea salad with sesame dressing is a must order item. The veal scallops literally melt in your mouth. This restaurant is the best kept secret in the Philadelphia suburbs.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Well Kept Secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This restaurant fools the passers-by. It looks very unassuming as the building is a a converted Dairy Queen. It is a small restaurant that caters to an adult crowd (I have never seen children there). There is no bar or lobby, so I suggest reservations, - otherwise you may be waiting in your car. I have been there many times and have never been disappointed. They describe the menu is 'French-Thai" though I don't see much Thai influence. Entrees are generally between $18 to mid $30. They usually have two at least two specials - one of which is seafood. They will alter to the customer's preference. I hesitate posting because I do not want this place to become too popular.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I have lived in the area 7 years and never ventured to try this place because of the plain outside and being primarily French food (which I am not a huge fan of). We tried it last night with a couple of neighbors and Wow, it was great. The food is french, but with an Asian flare so it made it interesting. All four of our meals were outstanding and the waitress was awesome. She made us feel right and home, was funny, and made good suggestions. This is also a BYOB so you can bring your bottle. If they spruced up the outside so people would notice when they drive by this placed would be packed all the time based on the quality of the food. The inside was also very nice. I will definitely go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bunha Faun also viewed

 

Been to Bunha Faun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bunha Faun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.