We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Malvern staple” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anthony's Pizza & Italian

Anthony's Pizza & Italian
127 W King St, Malvern, PA 19355-2411
(610) 647-7400
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 62 Restaurants in Malvern
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Soups
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Malvern staple”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I have been eating at Anthony's for about 14 years and it is always very good. Some of my favorites are Ham and Cheese Stromboli, Chicken Cheesesteak with Broccoli and their tomato pie. On a negative note parking around lunch time can be a bit tricky

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    24
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, PA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Always one of my first picks for dining out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I grew up in this area, worked nearby and have had their food both order out or eat in MANY times.Their pizza, subs and chicken fingers have all been delicious. Though dine-in I have found the manicotti to be so good I don't often try anything else. It's a local favorite favorite.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Good family place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Casual dining with good pizza and pasta .I like the BYOB option. The take out is also fast and efficient. Love their chicken cheesesteaks.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Anthony's pizza is best in the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We've loved Anthony's pizza for well over a decade. The restaurant is consistently good, and as a BYOB, a long-time favorite. It's got traditional red-sauce Italian food - from chicken parm and veal dishes to caesar salad and great homemade soups. But it's the pizza that keeps us returning when we need a hit of Italian comfort food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“what a gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My husband comes here every couple of months for lunch and raves about it, so I went with him once and had to admit the place was packed which usually means the food is good. Well, not only is the food outstanding, the service is top notch--waitresses are customer friendly and the kitchen is super quick which is what a lunchtime crowd needs.

Just went for dinner last night, and was even more impressed! Husband had the crab/shrimp linguini special($23) and I had the veal piccata($20) even though I am making that for dinner tonight and we were incredibly pleased. Average salad but nice homemade Italiand dressing and in season tomatoes(extra credit). Nice veggies-broccoli and carrots rather than frozen added to the dinner and decent bread--not flavorless white.

What really impressed us both was that the waitstaff was so cheerful, professional and quick moving. They turned tables like professionals so that there wasn't a line yet didn't rush anyone. They were attentive but didn't try to be your neighbor or friend, and focused on true service with a smile. I mentioned it to the hostess who I figured out was the owner because she was about 50 years old and was working like an 18 year old....instantly I knew she was the owner because she was the hardest worker in the place and I have NEVER seen a hostess run around like that and also reach out to customers at the same time, remembering names and trying to ensure no one had to wait. It reminded me of just about all the chain restaurants(and not cheap ones) where the 18 year olds seem to delight in not making eye contact and letting you know it will be a long, long wait, not caring even one little bit if you turn around and leave. Or even the waitress that you make aware of how you like your coffee black and they mechanically bring you cream and sugar because they are on auto pilot and didn't listen to a thing you said.

Great job owners and staff!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anthony's Pizza & Italian also viewed

 

Been to Anthony's Pizza & Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anthony's Pizza & Italian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.