We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place for breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dixie Picnic

Dixie Picnic
215 Lancaster Ave., Lincoln Court Shopping Center, Malvern, PA 19355
484-320-8024
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 61 Restaurants in Malvern
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Bakery, Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Jeannette, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great little place for breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The owner was super friendly. The food was excellent and so fresh. The grilled stickes melted in our mouth and the homemade strawberry jelly was so good. We got eggs whites so tried to even out some if the grilled sticky! We would highly recommend stopping in if like us you enjoy eating at local Mom and Pops while traveling.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    7
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Parkesburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Recent newcomer - been back 4 times in a month!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Dixie Picnic has got to be my new favorite lunch spot when I'm around Malvern. A friend recently picked up boxed lunches for us (deviled egg, side of slaw or potato salad, sandwich, and a small cake like an inverted cupcake). Beyond just being a really simple idea that is very charming, the food is all fresh and all delicious. Throw in a genuinely friendly staff and I think anyone would find something they love here. One of my new favorite things is to take other people here and spread the word.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Boxed lunch/dinner you will love!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Delicious sandwiches (can do gluten free) with a side and a moist, flavorful cupcake--what's not to love? Picnic in the park? Picnic on your deck or patio? Pick up some boxed lunches and entertain with ease. You couldn't prepare better yourself.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice lunch / friendly service / delicious cupcakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I wish it didn't take me so long to have lunch in this adorable little restaurant. I guess because it's in a strip mall...I didn't think it would be so adorable inside. Aside from the way it looks, the lunch is really delicious and reasonable to boot (8.99 for sandwich/cupcate/just enough pasta salad on side). The cupcakes are freaking amazing. Also, the staff was really friendly! When they heard it was my birthday, they gave me a cupcake...even though I got one with my boxed lunch.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester Springs, PA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dixie Picnic is a treat ...but its not just a Southern inspired treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

With a name like Dixie Picnic I was expecting just southern.....but not ham hocks and collards! This charming spot is a refreshing step back into my mom's kitchen....I am guessing your Mom's kitchen will be here too.
Whether we are talking the sumptuous cinnamon buns fresh out of the oven (light moist and buttery) accompanied with a large cup of the delicious fresh brewed coffee.... or the mouth watering chicken salad on multigrain bread, you will not be disappointed. And we haven't even mentioned the upcakes. These cupcakes are upside down little cakes fully frosted "with icing in each bite" in the best flavors, moist comfort in a sweet little end to a great lunch.
P.S. Don't miss the baked goods in the second room...homemade and baked daily to bring home or take to that next dinner party...key lime pie,turtle brownies or tres leches cake to name a few.
Dixie picnic has a welcoming staff, varied menu at a reasonable price, and it is such a comforting place to pull up a chair. MMMM! MMMM! GOOD!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dixie Picnic also viewed

 

Been to Dixie Picnic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dixie Picnic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.