We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect setting for family celebrating a special occasion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Hollow Inn Restaurant & Bar

Cedar Hollow Inn Restaurant & Bar
2455 Yellow Springs Rd, Malvern, PA 19355-1411
610-296-9006
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cedar Hollow Inn Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #37 of 62 Restaurants in Malvern
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Perfect setting for family celebrating a special occasion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We booked Cedar Hollow for our family of 6, celebrating our parents' 45th anniversary on a Saturday night in June. We were seated on the porch, which unfortunately has a view of the parking lot, rather than a garden or courtyard.

That, however, is the only drawback to the restaurant. The manager ensured that we were not rushed through dinner, and offered our family complimentary desserts. This was incredibly unexpected and very much appreciated.

Each of us thoroughly enjoyed dinner - great portions & very tasty. Not terribly pricey for what we considered to be a special/memorable occasion.

Would highly recommend Cedar Hollow to family/friends who are looking for a great restaurant & sincerely appreciate all the efforts from the staff in creating a special evening.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    13
    14
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thorndale, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This place has average overpriced food and the waitresses are not friendly at all. Everything takes them a long time too. The temperature in the restaurant is freezing.
Some menu items are good - like the lamb sliders but some are just terrible - like the spring roll with the wasabi sauce. Wine is not very good either.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draper, Utah
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Amazing Dessert...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Cute restaurant in a converted 19th century farmhouse with great atmosphere and a lively bar scene (even on a Wednesday night).

I had the prime rib sandwich - good but not the best I've ever had. Dessert was another story! I knew it was a bad sign when instead of a dessert menu they brought out a tray showing each dessert. The flourless chocolate cake was amazing and very rich - best if you can share it.

Tip: if you don't see something you like on the regular dining menu ask for the bar menu as there are several additional options.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A lovely local pub with great atmosphere and good food which was a little pricey.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We had an excellent meal here and enjoyed joining the locals in their weekly Quizo music quiz. A nice cosy atmosphere, shame the food bill was so high.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Good, but with much room for improvement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Decor was casual and neat. We were seated in a room filled with pictures of Greece, which was odd given nothing about the menu reflects Greek cooking. The watermelon lemonade cocktail lacked any flavor. The artisan cheese plate was excellent, but the block of Brie was quite large for an appetizer. The onion soup was well balanced, not too bitter or sweet that is common error. However, there was too little onion, mainly broth. I had the duck which was very good, but the portion was much too large. The skin was not crispy as expected. The crispy pork belly was crisp, but the sauce was overly sweet. Fortunately it was my partner's entree and only sampled. One bite was overpoweringly sweet for a savory dish.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cedar Hollow Inn Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Cedar Hollow Inn Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Hollow Inn Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.