We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what it used to be” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Baxter's Saloon & Grill

Baxter's Saloon & Grill
20 Liberty Blvd, Malvern, PA 19355
610-722-5920
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 61 Restaurants in Malvern
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: We are an America Restaurant serving steaks, seafood, burgers, salads and chicken dishes. Private room and catering available, see our website for details. Outside dining. Live entertainment Wed.-Sat.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Lunch with a friend on a Tuesday at 1 PM. First thing I noticed was the lack of patrons over what used to be a thriving lunch crowd a few years back. (maybe new mgmt?). Several of the tables were not bussed so we were directed to back by the doorway to kitchen, etc. I asked to wait while another table elsewhere was cleared (only one other table had patrons in the entire section). We ordered the baked eggplant. When asked what came with the cassarole (bread encrusted & had cheese in it), the waitress said nothing else, but we could have rolls if we wanted. We did order them. Rolls were good, but I feel a small side garden salad would have justified the price somewhat. Cassarole dish was small for the 10 bucks we paid but the unfortunate part was it was fairly dry with very little marinara (which would have helped). Overall, it had the appearance and taste of having been frozen and simply heated. May go again, perhaps try a salad, but menu is a bit pricey for what you get.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    8
    8
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amherst
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delightful Family Reunion at Baxter's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We gathered our Italian family together for a reunion and had our big dinner at Baxter's. They did a great job at adjusting the dinner for our needs and the food was great. The catering chef Juang went above and beyond to meet our needs . . . and even took the kids behind the scene to the ice cream bar. He did it with such grace and cheer. Our wait staff Lisa and Donna were on the spot to take care of our needs and were wonderful.Our family wanted to take all three of these Baxter employees home with us!!! Thank you all so very much for making all 40 family members of this Italian family happy with the food, the service and the great customer service you extented to us. Anytime I'm in the area, I'm guarantee I'll be back to visit Baxter's!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, AL
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Fajitas”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Split steak fajitas for two. Quick service and enjoyable food, though not out of the ordinary. Conveniently located to hotel complex across the street.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Attentive Service and Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Met a friend for dinner and had an enjoyable time catching up together. Our server was attentive without making us feel rushed. Food was good. I had a cheesesteak & fries. Nice overall atmosphere.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Good Food, Great Service - But Mexican? What are you thinking of?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I've enjoyed this restaurant for some time. The staff is outstanding, the food, thanks to the preponderance of Vietnamese kitchen staff has been consistently very good.

The ownership however seems to be a different matter all together. On numerous occasions I've witnessed his cranky, surly and tempermental behavior and am amazed by his conduct, expecially in front of customers. This restaurant does, or did, a good business until recently when with little or no notice was given that it was closed for "Renovations".

More than a surprise it was bizarre because the renovations are centered around a change in menu, from classic and traditional dishes (i.e., shepards pie, fish, steaks, burgers, snapper soup, salads, cheesesteaks, open faced turkey, roast beef, daily soups and quiche selection) to Mexican fare.

I don't know about anyone else but the last thing I want to eat is spicy Mexican food for lunch. It might make a lot of sense if there were a large hispanic customer base in the surrounding area but that isn't the situation. This is a Great Valley office location with a high percentage of professionals, none of which I've heard express a desire for Mexican fare or for that matter speak Spanish.

Stranger still is that this restaurant closed for renovations with less than one weeks notice and even then it was a small printed notice on the door (really small font) that would be overlooked as most people wouldn't be reading anything printed in such small letters. The notice explained that this restaurant would be closing for at least three weeks (not for a finite period of time) as they were renovating and introducing a new menu.

How many restaurant operations have you seen shut down for a range of time (not a specified start to finish) and suggest that you try them afterward? Me? None. Now ther are well past the targeted re-opening date and their voice mail indicates that they still don't know when they will re-open, although it does suggest you check back soon.

I can't help but wonder what the staff has been doing during this hiatus. Will they return or will they have been forced to find employment elsewhere? In my opinion this is a move by management to replace higher paid employees while introducing lower cost fare. I don't know when or if this restaurant will re-open but I doubt it will resemble its former self.

In the meantime I've found other choices that are as good or better than Baxters that I wasn't aware of simply because I was forced to do so. McKenzies Brew house, about 3 minutes away, is substantially better, more comfortable and upscale than the prior Baxters was at roughly the same cost. I don't own or run a restaurant but I do have a business. Customer service is king. That's what made Baxter's great - the staff and the kitchen, especially the kitchen in this instance.

Change one or both and you likely have a bad outcome for the owner. Time will tell but I doubt Baxter's will be the same and possibly may soon be history.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baxter's Saloon & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Baxter's Saloon & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baxter's Saloon & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.