We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great State Park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Locust Lake State Park

Locust Lake State Park
Mahanoy City, PA
Website
Improve this listing
Type: State Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Pottsville
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great State Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We camp here with our travel trailer 2 - 3 weekends a year. Our latest was Memorial Day weekend 2012. This is one of the better state parks with a nice paved path for walking/bike riding. It is good for a 2-3 night stay.....since there is only electric. The bathrooms are cleaned regularly, however they can get muddy depending on the weather outside. There are boat/kayal rentals, the camp store is nice/well stocked with great ice cream. Overall, a great place to camp with the family.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    20
    2
    1
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful day by the water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Well kept State Park, loved the bike trail around the lake.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamaqua, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Locust Lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Very well kept and run State Park; magnificent area to explore

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Always a great time with family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We've been camping here for many years now. There's usually about 20-25 people in our group, and we reserve multiple campsites. Obviously, we love it here. We love to take our canoe to the lake, hike to the camp store and get icecream, and look at the stars at night. Nothing like breakfast cooked outside in the morning! The sites are always well kept. The ranger is a little grumpy, but the gals at check-in are friendly and helpful.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great mountain camping.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011 via mobile

I can not even begin to say how wonderful this state park is. My husband and and children have been camping for 15 years. We have stayed at several different campgrounds. However last year was the first year we did a state park. A friend recommended it. I was so use to stay near stuff to do and have pool that I wasn't sure I would like it. However I was wrong.
Let me start by saying that we just came back from our 2nd trip in less than a month. The tent sites are huge and there is plenty of room for our large 2 room tent, a small dome tent for my son and his friend. We also set up our screen tent around the picinic tables. Every site comes with a large picnic table and fire pit. Our site bordered the woods and there was a creek that ran behind us. Great for kids to go exploring and finding creatures of the woods, like salamanders, chipmunks, butterflies and tree frogs to name a few. All while being in eye or ear shot. The bathrooms/showers are clean and remodled. Lots of hotwater and a good flow. Only one complaint is that they could of mopped the floor more frequently (do to previous rain). However we have been there other times and the ba5throoms are very clean. At night it is very quite and peaceful for campfires and sleep.
The lake is so beautiful, you can fish (adults with a licences) it is filled with plenty of sunnies which make little ones happy and trout and bass. The campstore has row boats. Peddle boats and kayaks for rent. You can also take in your own small boats. There is an end of the lake that is roped off for swimming and it has a little beach area with pebble type sand. Mountains surround the lake and there are trails to hike on, which range from very easy to difficult and several miles. They do occasionally have guided hikes with rangers from Pa Parks.
To top off your day they have a camp store that has the odds and ends that u may forget. Plus they have The Best Ice Cream!
Everyone is very friendly from the PARK rangers. To the host campers, to the teenagers working at the store.
We have had a really good relaxing time staying at this campground and will be back at least one more time this season.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Locust Lake State Park also viewed

Lansford, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Locust Lake State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locust Lake State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.