We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Country Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Savory Grille

Savory Grille
2934 Seisholtzville Rd, Macungie, PA 18062
+1 610-845-2010
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 24 Restaurants in Macungie
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At Savory Grille, we believe that fine dining is an experience to be savored often - whether you're celebrating a special day or the everyday! "The first of all considerations is that our meals shall be fun, interwoven with love and congenial talk, leaving us with a charitable feeling toward the world." This quote from Andre Simon nicely sums up our philosophy here at Savory Grille. Whether you're unwinding after a long day of skiing or celebrating an anniversary, we are the perfect spot for a comfortable dining experience with friends and family. Enjoy a truly unforgettable meal from a menu that always reflects what is freshest and most flavorful! All of our breads, stocks, and desserts are made in-house daily so you can be sure that your dish is both fresh and delicious. After almost 20 years of impeccable food and warm service by our friendly staff, we've earned a reputation as one of the region's premier dining establishments. Join us soon at the historic Seisholtzville Hotel to savor great food and good times with your friends or family!
Telford, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Country Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We had heard about this restaurant from a friend and tried it last weekend with some other friends. Although a bit expensive (city prices for a country place), the experience was well worth it. The food was excellent, as was the service, with a good wine list. If you are in the greater Allentown area, this place is worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    8
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A "Backwoods" Gem!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Though a little out of the way, this is one of our favorite restaurants in the region. The seasonally changing menu is superb...and it feels good to know that the fresh and vibrant ingredients (in which the chef pairs into bold dishes that ALWAYS please!!) are from local farms. We also can't wait to try the unique cocktails that are ever changing and exciting. The lavender pear martini's are an exceptional choice. We prefer the older and smaller dining room because of the charm, but it can be difficult to maneuver if you have stability issues. We shared the foie gras appetizer with another couple in our party that had never had it....just for them to try it....and it did not disappoint. You can never go wrong at this place!!!!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShawnDoyle, Owner at Savory Grille, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your continued support. We at Savory Grille enjoy making our friends happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oley, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“A Graceful Wait Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We celebrated or fiftieth wedding anniversary here, with our young friends who share the same date but are only up to their thirties in marital bliss.
It's a tiny dining room crammed with tables, but the wait staff maneuvered around each other and customers waiting to be seated. There are only four seats at the bar. They have an extra dining area on the porch which is the better place to be served, unless you are like me and appreciate the ballet.
Don't order the rack of elk.
Salads and appetizers are better than the main course. Especially the gnocchi. Skip the main course and order another chocolate martini.
I think we spent $500 for the four of us, at least that, maybe $750. We like to have wine and dessert.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macungie, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Probably the best restaurant in the Lehigh Valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Superb food cooked by the owner chef who is self trained and passionate about his art. Although the restaurant is on the pricey side it is well worth it. The menu is seasonal and all the food is fresh, much of it coming from local farms.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Excellent food hidden away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I keep forgetting about this place. But the chef really knows what he's doing in the kitchen (which looks immaculate BTW). Had the same menu as the reviewer below. I really enjoyed the gnocchi. Had the chicken which came with so many perfectly prepared vegetables (carrots, haricots verts, baby bok choy). Kicked up coffee ice cream in a toffee tuile bowl was "the icing on the cake". Everything was perfectly seasoned and executed. Service was attentive. My only complaint was one of the servers reeked of cigarette smoke.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Savory Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savory Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.