We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bear Creek Mountain Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bear Creek Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Bear Creek Mountain Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Doe Mountain Lane, Macungie, PA 18062 (Formerly Inn at Bear Creek)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Macungie
Princeton Junction, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Loved the experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

My family and I just returned from our first visit to Bear Creek Mountain Resort. We plan on returning next year, once a month, Jan- Feb- March. We are a family of five, mostly intermediate and advanced beginner skiers. The resort was smaller than I expected, it was clean, friendly and affordable. The girls had a great time in the Kodiak kids program which was also affordable. The ratio of instructor to kids was small. 1:4. The rentals were nice. We did not experience crowds or long lines often associated with Pocono skiing. The mountain was well maintained. The food at the ski lodge was what you would expect in a ski lodge, but the other restaurants were very good. Service was excellent. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor, non slope side since that was all that was available when I booked. I h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearCreekRep, General Manager at Bear Creek Mountain Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for brining your family to Bear Creek for your ski getaway. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and hope we see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Mark Schroetel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    53
    4
    3
    5
See reviews for
105
55
4
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
usa
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We really enjoyed a weekend here. Fun skiing, plus a gym and spa for those who don't ski. The Trailways and Grille restaurants had very good food, and the rooms were nice. The rooms with slope-side views are nice, but beware that you might hear a lot of trail-smoothing machinery in the middle of the night. The staff throughout the hotel was excellent. Would visit again.

Room Tip: Slope-side has best view but can be noisy at night if they are smoothing out the trails. First floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearCreekRep, General Manager at Bear Creek Mountain Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review. I hope you and your family are able to return again in the future. We look forward to hosting you again soon.
Sincerely,
Mark Schroetel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skippack, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

This is our 3rd yr. in a row visiting as a family of 6. We stayed in a slope side suite that sleeps 4 in the main bedroom and then 2 on a sofa bed. My kids are now getting older so we asked for a roll away for the living room to accommodate 2 older boys so as to not share a bed. The staff was great helping with all questions. The room was clean and large enough. We actually for the first time ate in the nicer sit down restaurant adjacent to the main lodge public area. Great food. Great staff. The conditions were as good as they could be on the hill. The lift operators were just as friendly as the front desk staff. My wife lost her drivers license on property. It was found and they actually mailed it to use before we even had to ask. I would without doubt recommend this property again. I can't wait till next year.

Room Tip: Slope side rooms always give a great view of the hill. I actually like them when they are blowing s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearCreekRep, General Manager at Bear Creek Mountain Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for your continued loyalty. I am so glad we were able to locate your drivers license and return it quickly! We look forward to seeing you again next year!
Sincerely,
Mark Schroetel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

My family has visited Bear Creek for four straight ski seasons and we always look forward to our stay. It is by far one of the cleanest and friendliest places I have ever stayed at with my family. We attend an annual trip with a social club and the banquet facilities and food are among the best in the region. All of the facilities are top-notch: the hotel, the restaurants, the ski activities and rentals, the gift shops, the spa, the fitness center and the banquet facilities. The ski rentals are a little pricey, but the equipment is well-maintained and of high quality. The slopes are well-groomed, the ski school "student to teacher" ratio is good and my family loves the tubing. The only things we've never used are the outdoor pool (love the indoor one) and hot tub. But we may try them on a repeat visit, as we will be back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearCreekRep, General Manager at Bear Creek Mountain Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for the review. I would definitely recommend giving the outdoor pool a try. There is something really special about relaxing in a pool when you are surrounded by snow!
We hope you are able to return soon.
Sincerely,
Mark Schroetel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, PA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I visited Bear Creek for the 3rd time this season. It is always an enjoyable place to ski. It provides a variety of terrain for the whole family. I believe we have been skiing here for at least 13 years and we keep coming back. The lodge can't be beat. It is spacious and even at the busiest times you can find a seat. The prices are reasonable and it is generally less crowded than other ski resorts in central Pennsylvania. It may not be the biggest mountain, but you can get in a full day of skiing without spending half the day in a lift line.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearCreekRep, General Manager at Bear Creek Mountain Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you so much for your loyalty through the years! I am glad you had a great stay and had a fun time on our slopes. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Sincerley,
Mark Schroetel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed at Bear creek for 2 nights/3days. It was a wonderful experience for both my husband and I. - Rooms: beautifully decorated and the most important part, THEY WERE CLEAN! I'm way over the top about the cleanliness of my hotel room, but this was one of the cleanest hotels I've ever stayed in! They were comfortable, spacious rooms.
- Price: We chose the mid week ski and stay package.... The price was great! We paid about $215 the entire stay including the ski package! There were no hidden charges, no unexpected add-ons. They spell everything out for you in the beginning and what you see is what you pay.
- Amenities: There is an indoor pool and jacuzzi.... Just outside of the indoor pool is an outdoor jacuzzi. There is an outdoor heated pool which was beautiful to swim in at night while watching the skiers. Just a few steps away there is another outdoor jacuzzi, all with a view of the mountain. There plenty of fireplaces to relax near. Plenty of lobby space to take a break and read a book. There is a hotel gift shop, not very big, but just enough. There is also a game room
- Food: Lots of places to eat, none of which break the bank. There is a restaurant on site that opens for dinner. It was a great place if you wanted to eat a nice dinner on a date, etc.... However, they had options on the menu that were a little less extravagant, for those who may just want to order a nice burger. Grab a table near the window! There is a smaller cafe with seating..... Sandwiches, pizza, coffees and pastries. There is a small ice cream shop with banana splits and waffles. Then there's the large eating area that has everything from salads to chicken fingers, tacos to pizza and on and on! It was reasonably priced and was accessible the entire day.
- The Spa: great experience! The rooms were calming and the therapists were knowledgeable of their work. Would do it again in a second
- Skiing: I had never skied before.... So this was going to be quite the experience. We were able to purchase a ski lesson. It was a great price and it lasted 2 1/2 hours. The instructors were so patient and they knew what they were doing. They have ski rentals on site, so it was easy to get our gear and then have them hold it for us.

Overall, It was a really great experience! Everything you need is really right there in the hotel.... It was a great experience and we will be making this regularly. You can't beat the price and the hotel was a plus!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearCreekRep, General Manager at Bear Creek Mountain Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
I am so glad you had such a wonderful visit and happy to hear you enjoyed your first time on skis. We do offer advanced lesson and some great women's programs too that would be great follow ups to your first time lesson.
I hope you and your husband are able to return soon and take advantage of the cold and snow while they last!
Sincerely,
Mark Schroetel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I've been coming here since it opened and just stayed recently...the hotel is clean and comfortable. 2 nights is more than enough time for snowtubing, swimming, skiing, spa treatments (didn't do that yet) and dining.
Adults will Love the outdoor hot tubs and kids will love swimming outside in the heated pool...bring a camera...you may get lucky to get a shot of the kids swimming in the snow. Food in the grill is really good...if you want something super casual, the restuarant next to the outdoor pool is simple and inexpensive (perfect for the kids)
Our kids took snowboarding lessons (shout out to Gabby) and we were able to walk around with beers..... the best part of this resort, is that it is SO close to the suburbs of philly...45 min away, but you feel like you are out in the middle of nowhere, will snow surrounding you. I definitely recommend this place and can't wait to return!

Room Tip: TIP for PARENTS: be ORGANIZED! if you can't check in til 3 and need to be out by 11am, have a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BearCreekRep, General Manager at Bear Creek Mountain Resort, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thanks so much for bringing your family up to visit. I am happy to hear your kids enjoyed their lesson and hope they are taking advantage of the continued cold to practice their newly learned skills.

Sincerely,
Mark Schroetel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bear Creek Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Creek Mountain Resort

Address: 101 Doe Mountain Lane, Macungie, PA 18062 (Formerly Inn at Bear Creek)
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Macungie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Macungie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bear Creek Mountain Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bear Creek Mountain Resort & Conference Center is nestled on over 330 wooded acres in scenic Berks County, Pennsylvania. The resort offers skiing, snowboarding and snowtubing in the winter. During the spring, summer and fall the resort offers hiking, mountain biking, fishing, disc golf, boating, tennis and many other activities. Guests can plan an event in the spacious banquet and meeting facilities, dine at The Grille at Bear Creek or the Trail’s End Cafe, relax at The Spa or enjoy a dip in our indoor and outdoor pools and hot tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Bear Creek Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Creek Mountain Hotel Macungie
Hotel At Bear Creek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bear Creek Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.