We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mid Week Special was great get away with teenagers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bear Creek Mountain Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bear Creek Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Bear Creek Mountain Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Doe Mountain Lane, Macungie, PA 18062 (Formerly Inn at Bear Creek)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Macungie
philadelphia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Mid Week Special was great get away with teenagers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Although we only live 1 hour from Bear Creek and have come up for day trips for years, I'd never stayed over...I took 5 teenaged boys for the mid-week ski and stay since it was so reasonable and included lift tix...we had 2 adjoining rooms. I can honestly say it was fantastic - from check-in to check-out, people were amazing, common areas in the hotel are warm, comfortable and cozy and somehow kept separate from the ski area as it was quiet, peaceful and felt undiscovered. Its also small and safe enough for the boys to go to the outdoor pool and hot tub and to the cafe to eat on their own...I am already trying to find another time to go back before the season ends - we loved it!! None of us are advanced skiers or boarders, so I can only say that for beginners/intermediate, it was perfect. They had enough man-made snow to give us 2 good days.

Room Tip: they have suites that sleep 6 that connect to a single, which we did. I would ask for a top-floor r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    54
    4
    3
    5
See reviews for
105
55
4
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Macungie, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband booked a weekend away for my sister and me. We are Lehigh Valley locals, but this was my first time away from home post-baby, so he wanted me close by so I wouldn't be nervous. We had a wine pairing dinner which was wonderful and definitely worth the cost. We had a room to stay 2 nights and spa appts for the next morning. Apparently, there was a "church group" staying in the hotel as well that weekend. This "church group" consisted of several dozen 12-17 year old boys, many of which had rooms right next to us. They were running up and down the halls, slamming doors, screaming, and laughing until after 2 in the morning. I called the desk 3 times. They sent someone up each time - it still didn't stop. When we checked in, I was required to sign a waiver indicating that quiet time started at midnight - and that I would be quiet at the risk of being kicked out of the hotel. Why were there different standards for these people? They offered to move me ... in the middle of the night ... to a new room. Why should I have to move? Why not make those obnoxious screaming teens move? They finally went to bed, but were up again for their daily activities at 8. Screaming, laughing, stomping around and slamming doors.

Before our spa appointment, we went down to the front desk to complain again. The hotel manager indicated that she would "take care of it." I walked away thinking - " What the heck does that mean??" We went to the spa around 10 after a delicious yogurt and granola parfait in the restaurant. We had massages, manicures, and pedicures. We were finished around 2 and had lunch.

I returned to the front desk to ask for a more detailed explanation of what "I'll take care of it" meant. The manager told me that the kids were in classes and workshops all day, she spoke to one of the leaders, and that it should not be an issue. From not having slept the night before, we decided to take a nap. Well - wouldn't you know it? The kids were not in class, they were up in their rooms and it sounded like they were jumping from bed to bed. Unbelievable.

I told my sister to pack her things - we were leaving. I went to the front desk AGAIN almost in tears. My husband had surprised me with a nice, relaxing weekend away, and it was ruined. The manager clearly cared more about the money they were getting from a large group of teens, than 2 women trying to have a relaxing weekend. I sleep better at home with a 2 year old than I did at this hotel. The "compensation" was that they did not charge me for the second night - which we didn't stay anyway.

Very disappointing. I would go there to have a meal, but I would never stay at the hotel again. Beware!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allentown
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Can't wait to go back! We stayed 3 nights. We had a suite with a living room and bedroom and it was extremely clean and comfortable.

The ski lessons for my 7 year old were GREAT. She was on the lift by noon and skiing very well at the end of her first day. Lift lines were almost non existent and they made a good amount of snow when we were there. Get out early to make the best of it before the crowds drive in.

The ski lodge can get extremely noisy and crowded and you have to get there early to get a table but this is typical at any ski resort. I suggest you head to the Trails End Cafe if you want a quiet, casual, relaxing lunch. The cost is no more expensive then the cafeteria in the lodge. Food at the 'Trails End Cafe' was great (DELICIOUS chili) for casual lunch and breakfast. Dinner at the Grille rivals any upscale place we have been to.

The spa is also wonderful, with reasonably priced services and a friendly staff.
We went with our 5 and 7 year old and felt that this was an overall very family friendly resort and look forward to going back.

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor if you want quiet. It is a thorough fare connecting two wings and can be noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

WOW the Bear Creek Mountain Resort really knows how to make a get-away weekend stressfree. The entire staff from reservations, housekeeping, ski rental, lessons, to resturants and all in between were extremly helpful and always had a smile. The convenience of staying right at the moutain makes the experience so stressfree. They thought of everything...separate rentals for hotel visitors..they even have a special check in place to keep your rental or personal ski equipment in each night or anytime during the day..so nice. It was the perfect place to take my teenagers to learn how to ski. I would highly recommend a visit!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merchantville, New Jersey
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I'll write a more in depth response to Living Social--but this was our first --"outing" and I was not disappointed--we left from 30th street station and drove to the mountain--we got there early enough to grab a bite to eat and head to the mountain an hour later--for snow tubing--I'm 42 and took my husband for his b-day (he is 46)--we both fit in rather well! The snow tubing although bottle necking at the top causing a bit of a problem and the living social people just worried about the blasting music and going down the mountain themselves--ignoring all drunk- behavior-interfering with the rest of the group---they were not that bad---Bear Creek Mountain was very professional about having our tickets and directions to our group and where to go and when--they did a nice job--i want to go back! The adrenaline rush is worth it all ! Scream while going down the mountain!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware Beaches
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Gone are the shag-carpeted walls and champagne-glass saunas! (Not that these typical Pocono-related treats were ever at this particular resort.) This recently renovated and expanded resort was 100% classy all around! Friendly staff, comfortable and well-appointed rooms, beautiful and breathtaking views of the ski slopes are some of the things I loved about our brief stay.

Flat-panel TV. fridge in room, classy dark colors.

Room Tip: Be sure and ask about a room with a view of the slopes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at BC Mountain Resort for 5 days after Christmas -- this was our children's first time skiing. It was a great experience -- the ski instruction stood out above all (esp. the Youth Discovery program), but all aspects of our stay were great. The hotel was clean and had good amenities - good food, nice pools and hot tubs, etc. Staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel is right at the slopes, ski rental is available in the hotel or near the ski school, and rental equipment was good quality. There was no natural snow, but the resort made snow every night (which must cost a fortune!) and the skiing was very good as a result. This is probably not the place for expert skiiers looking for a challenge, but it is great for families and kids. The lift staff was conscious of kids who might not be as quick on the lifts, and even the snowboarders were respectful of young kids on the slopes. Highly recommend for a family ski getaway.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bear Creek Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Creek Mountain Resort

Address: 101 Doe Mountain Lane, Macungie, PA 18062 (Formerly Inn at Bear Creek)
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Macungie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Macungie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bear Creek Mountain Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bear Creek Mountain Resort & Conference Center is nestled on over 330 wooded acres in scenic Berks County, Pennsylvania. The resort offers skiing, snowboarding and snowtubing in the winter. During the spring, summer and fall the resort offers hiking, mountain biking, fishing, disc golf, boating, tennis and many other activities. Guests can plan an event in the spacious banquet and meeting facilities, dine at The Grille at Bear Creek or the Trail’s End Cafe, relax at The Spa or enjoy a dip in our indoor and outdoor pools and hot tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bear Creek Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Creek Mountain Hotel Macungie
Hotel At Bear Creek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bear Creek Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.