We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1740 House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lumberville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
1740 House
Save
You added 1740 House to your Saves list
3690 River Road, Lumberville, PA 18933   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Lumberville B&B and Inns
Old Bridge, New Jersey
1 review
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Spent a week end with family and friends enjoyed their delicious meals their indoor fireplace and outdoor fire over looking the river and canal, laid back atmosphere .They are just up river from Lambert ville and New hope and all that kind of shopping that I like and above all else is their friendly and helpful attitude.

Room Tip: They all have great views our room had a fireplace king size bed could not have expected more !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rlobach, Innkeeper at 1740 House, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. It will soon be time to put the outdoor fire pits away as the weather gets warmer and enjoy the Delaware River shoreline as it gets green. Would love to share another season with your group. Summer and Fall are a great time to return.

Cheers
Richard
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    11
    1
    5
    1
See reviews for
14
41
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

After working for Westin Hotels I find the level of my customer service expectations to be much higher then most establishments can meet. The 1740 House has not only met my expectations, but it has exceeded them. Soon as I walked through the door I was greeted by the Inn Keeper. Richard expressed how the staff of the 1740 house were there to make my experience memorable and did they ever. The breakfast was unique in its flavor combinations while staying classic in it's ingredients, the work of a true culinary wizard. The housekeeping staff was prompt in response to any and all requests and also offered more then once to help with baggage to and from my car. The internal decor and exterior layout of the property enhanced my experience all the while hugging the banks of The Delaware River, reminding me of easier times growing up when I would run bird dogs through the fields of my grandfather's Pennsylvania farm. I can not give The 1740 House enough Stars. "A MUST!"

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Innkeeper at 1740 House, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
The beautiful scenic surroundings of the 1740 House provide an exceptional palate to serve our guests in a fun and loving way. Through compliments like the ones you shared here on TripAdvisor, it is great to know we got it right. We all look forward to seeing you again soon.

P.S. Remember to request Blueberry French Toast when making your reservation.

Cheers
Richard
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

After staying at the 1740 House last winter, we chose to have our wedding guests stay here for our wedding this past weekend. It was a beautiful weekend - snowfalls on Friday and a beautiful and warm day on Saturday. All our guests remarked at what a wonderful time they had and said this was the best wedding ever. The food was outstanding, and the staff went above and beyond for us at every opportunity. The innkeeper, Richard, and his wife, Theresa were very accommodating and sweet as could be. We had exactly the rustic and cozy atmosphere we were looking for. The Grand Suite was large enough to host 25 people for a Friday reception, and provided amazing views and a large outdoor deck with cute furniture. We held an after-party for about 40 people with desserts inside and a firepit with s'mores outside. We had some friends bring guitars and had a blast just singing songs, eating the wonderful food, and lounging in the living area. I would recommend the 1740 House to anyone looking for a relaxing getaway or a charming, rustic wedding.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice, although we especially loved 6, 18, 7, 23, 18, and 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Innkeeper at 1740 House, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for allowing us to be host to your wedding guests overnight needs.

The group was a true pleasure to host. I will be certain to pass all of the compliments on to the staff. The staff had a great time being of service and the sing-a-longs by the firepit were contagious. (We caught ourselves singing too!) We hope to see you next year for your first anniversary.

P.S. Bring the guitars, I will have the firepits set up for the second set.
Cheers
Richard
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keansburg, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I recently visited the 1740 House for my best friends wedding. I have never had such a wonderful experience. The food there was outstanding and the staff was friendlier than I could imagine. The staff was very accomadating to all of our needs, the fires never went dull and the smiles never vanished, If you are looking for a romantic weekend getaway with outstanding food, wonderful staff and views that take your breath away then this is the place to go.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Innkeeper at 1740 House, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank You for sharing your experience at the 1740 House. The entire staff loves hearing that we contibuted to a wedding groups wonderful experience. I heard many of the attendees say that they would love to come back. Hope we get to see you with them soon!!

Cheers
Richard
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful B&B! The room was beautifully decorated with a lovely view of the river. The staff was attentive and helpful; making our staff very enjoyable. Breakfast was delightful and staff fulfilled our requests with pleasure. We would recommended the 1740 house to all!

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Innkeeper at 1740 House, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for the sharing your visit on TripAdvisor. The inn's staff always appreciates hearing that our guest enjoyed their stay with us. Come back soon the inn is even more beautiful in the spring!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had a family wedding here from a Friday to Sunday. I stayed in suite 19, first floor. The room was spacious and clean except the carpet looked like it needed a good deep wash. The king bed was extremely uncomfortable, the only complaint about the room. The place is right on the river, with beautiful views. Since it was all family staying there, I got to go inside many of the rooms. They all seemed very nice. Our Friday night event was held in the Grand room - its a huge room, with a huge outdoor private deck and awesome views. At night we were able to sit around the fire pit outside and make smores or go inside to the common room where a nice fire was burning too. The workers were ok, the main owner guy wasnt that friendly. I think he seemed annoyed because we had so many people there all over the place. But everything was really nice and the breakfast on both mornings was good. Lots to choose from and a nice room to eat in. it was a 10 minute drive into new hope which was nice.

Room Tip: suites are much bigger and the Grand room was awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, Innkeeper at 1740 House, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your visit to the 1740 House. Room 19 is the second largest room at the inn and is frequently requested by repeat guests. We welcome all comments regarding our guests experience and will look into how to improve on your concerns.

Many of the other wedding guests stated they would be returning again to enjoy the scenic area. I hope you will join them.

Cheers
Richard
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanuet, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed at the 1740 house for a wedding being held at their sister property. I booked my room with a nice gentleman who gave me confirmation number, room #14 (king bed), and the deposit amount charged to my credit card. Upon check-in, I was told they did not have my reservation. Somehow I was given a confirmation # with only 4 digits although they said all confirmation numbers have 6 digits since last year. After searching the computer for almost 30 minutes they finally agreed to give us a room. The room was very small with a full sized bed (listed as a queen) the only lighting was 2 small bedside lamps, the bathroom was tiny and the water temperature while showering alternated between scalding and freezing no matter what the setting. Instead of a closet there was a rack to hang our clothes and although the view was beautiful, we could not enjoy it due to the amount of people celebrating in the bridal suite we shared the small balcony with. This room was 1/2 the size of the other rooms and cost the same. I then learned that the couple who booked the room we got insisted on being moved to another room due to the noise level from the bridal suite. They were moved to a suite at no extra charge. When I brought this to the attention of the innkeepers, I was told in a nasty tone that because they had arrived 30 minutes earlier they were given the room. We had 5 couples who knew our room had been booked almost a week before theirs (including the one who made the switch), but instead of offering us a discounted rate, it was insinuated that I had lied about having a reservation. It turns out we were not the only one's who had a problem. One couple had a room as disgraceful as ours, had no heat until 12:30 am, no soap and the same problem with the shower. Two families with 3 people were each given a room with 1 bed instead of the 2 beds they requested. Our breakfast experience was good, however another family member who asked when a hot item would be replenished was told they were not making any more because the buffet was closing in 15 minutes. From our experience the owners have no interest in anything but taking advantage of people who have no other options and certainly made their money off of our large family. I would never again stay on a property owned by these people. the 8 hours of driving back and forth would have been preferable to our stay.

Room Tip: make sure you have a valid confirmation number and the names, dates and times of who took the reserv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rlobach, Manager at 1740 House, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
The staff of The 1740 House tries its best to accommodate the needs and requests of every guest.

Mistakes do occur, and if a guest arrives and we determine that a mistake has been made on the part of our staff, I personally see that the concern is resolved to the satisfaction of the guest.


At time of reservation we provide a confirmation by email of all information, including a copy of the registration and deposit paid. In this particular case, neither the inn staff or the guest could produce records indicating a reservation had been made and a deposit paid. I have continued to research for that record; even in today's high-tech world, it is possible to lose information. With that said, it is not possible to refund a deposit without record of a deposit ever paid.

Every room at The 1740 House is different in size and decor, with the view of the Delaware River helping to provide the charm they all share. The entire inn has an exceptional level of quaintness to it, making the overall experience a memorable one.

As the innkeeper I attend to all facets of the inn's daily care, which includes the check-in, breakfast, and check-out periods. I am available 24/7, in person and by cell phone, to receive requests and resolve concerns. I accepted compliments from other guests who were a part of your wedding group, many of them indicating they would be returning for another stay.

Should you or the inn staff be able to produce the records of a reservation and deposit, I would look forward to making the financial corrections as part of satisfying your concerns.

Yours in Hospitality,
Richard Lobach
Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 1740 House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1740 House

Address: 3690 River Road, Lumberville, PA 18933
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lumberville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lumberville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 1740 House offers the comforts of a first-class hotel with the ambiance of a small country inn. The Main House consists of the original living room with wood burning stone fireplace for lounging on a cold winter's day. All 24 guestrooms have either a Balcony or Terrace with views of the tranquil Delaware River and Canal. Every guest room has a Private Bath and individually controlleed Heat and Air Conditioning. Keep the Television hidden away in the amoire to provide for the perfect Romantic evening. Free high speed internet service keeps you connected to the outides world while you enjoy your surroundings of a day gone by. We offer the very best of Spirits, Cordials and Wines in our private 1740 Club (open to guest when they stay at the inn.) Tapas style menu served Wednesday through Saturday from 4:00pm till 8:30 pm. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
1740 House Hotel Lumberville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1740 House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.