We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B&B, exquisite hostess - and a great visit with the wolves” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Speedwell Forge B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lititz
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Speedwell Forge B&B
Save
You added Speedwell Forge B&B to your Saves list
465 Speedwell Forge Rd, Lititz, PA 17543   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates from $250
Ranked #6 of 10 Lititz B&B and Inns
US
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful B&B, exquisite hostess - and a great visit with the wolves”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We have visited Speedwell Forge many times in the past several years and it's always a pleasure. The rooms are spacious, comfortable, immaculate and beautiful. Dawn serves a delicious three-course breakfast. The cats are sweet and the wolves are gorgeous. Their howling is so soothing. This has been one of our favorite places to visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    9
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
54
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williamstown, nj
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

I loved this place. Its so quite and peaceful! And the wolves!
So the best part of this B+B is that when we stayed, in April, those who stay the night are allowed, during the day and until dusk, to walk around the enclosure and view the wolves. This is So much better than the tour, for you photographers listening...We spent an extra 2 hours later that evening taking pictures of the gorgeous wolves while they played and interacted without the threat/enticement of treats, where they come up to the fence line and sit and wait for bits of chicken or venison or beef...
They also offer private photo tours, which they will walk you around alone and answer questions.
The house was great, nice and antique. They did a great job fixing it up, and was very quiet and romantic. The breakfast in the morning was amazing and really helped start out the day right!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms would be great, but we made sure we had a private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We had one of the best weekends ever! I have never met such a wonderful innkeepers. We felt so welcomed. You can tell what a wonderful heart Dawn has as soon as you meet her. We felt so peaceful and relaxed. The property is beautiful. Breakfast was so yummy. The wolf sanctuary is a really amazing place. I cannot wait until we can return. If we lived closer they may not be able to get rid of us!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

M y husband and I stayed in Bill's room. The B&B was perfect. The food was great and our hostess was a lovely person to talk to. We loved our stay and would like to stay again. Learning about the wolves was educational and adventurous. A perfect getaway. Patty

Room Tip: Bill's room was cozy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pa
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

my wife and I had planned to visit the Wolf Sanctuary, and decided to also stay over a night at the Inn. What a great experience all around. Fascinating back story from the owner Dawn Darlington regarding the genisis of the house and how the Wolf Sanctuary came about. Arrived late afternoon and had time to view the wolves on our own prior to our next day tour. How great was that! Room and Inn were really comfortable and homey. Dawn and Darren work very hard at this life they've chosen and it shows. Oh, and the Breakfast part of the B&B was awesome. Thanks again Dawn for everything.

Room Tip: If you book a tour of the Sanctuary do yourself a favor and book a room here for the night before or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucks county pa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

My husband and I received a gift certificate for the Speedwell and we finally had the opportunity to redeem it. We booked the Paymasters Office/suite. We took advantage of the tour at the wolf sanctuary (which was great) before we checked in. We actually got there early and Dawn, the innkeeper, was kind enough to let us get in our room before check in time! The room was amazing....it is beautiful, cozy, inviting and honestly was the cleanest room I have ever had in a B&B or hotel. It was spotless! We ordered a basket of goodies which had warm fresh baked bread and brownies along with other tasty items. The bread was soooo good! We highly recommend this property. The setting is gorgeous, the rooms and the mansion are lovely and the breakfast prepared by Dawn was incredible. Dawn and her husband Darin are wonderful hosts.

Room Tip: Paymasters Office
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampstead, Maryland, USA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I found this place back in August. No as no idea that it would be such a fabulous get away. Tucked back in the woods, on gorgeous land, you find a beautiful home nestled in among the wolves. Yes! Wolves! The Wolf Sanctuary of PA is on sight. It's a beautiful monument to preservation of beautiful wildlife. Rescued wolves and hybrids live here and entertain all. We stayed in the paymaster's suite and loved swimming in the oversized in room jet tub (right by the fire place). The owners are gracious and loving and we will return. Thank you for such a blessing.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Speedwell Forge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Speedwell Forge B&B

Address: 465 Speedwell Forge Rd, Lititz, PA 17543
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lititz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Lititz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1760 and listed on the National Register of Historic Places, Speedwell Forge B&B offers sophistication and elegance. Three lovely guest rooms plus two cottages, all with private bath, on a peaceful 120-acre farm boarding a nature park. The perfect place to get away from it all, yet only minutes from the historic small towns of Lititz, Manheim, and all of Pennsylvania Dutch Country. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Speedwell Forge B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.