We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scoop of ice cream finishes the buffet!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oregon Dairy Country Restaurant

Oregon Dairy Country Restaurant
2900 Oregon Pike, Lititz, PA 17543
717-661-6804
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 68 Restaurants in Lititz
Price range: $0 - $20
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Reading, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Scoop of ice cream finishes the buffet!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is a wonderful country restaurant. The buffet is not the largest in the area, but offered a nice selection of entrees...my favorites were ham balls in pineapple sauce and the baked corn. The soups were good and the salad bar had all the fixings! The dessert bar had a nice selection of pies, puddings, hot apple cobbler and whoopie pies. The best part is the scoop of ice cream to finish the meal! The menu is filled with PA Dutch staples and the usual diner fare. There is a market and gift shop attached so it makes for a fun evening.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    53
    26
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Always good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

If you want good home cooking, Oregon Dairy Restaurant has it for you. This a good mainstay to come in Lancaster County for a good breakfast, lunch or dinner. Their own made ice cream should always follow your dinner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good Fresh Food, Great place for kids!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We ordered off the menu and also had the buffet. The Chicken Salad sandwich with mandarin oranges and dried cranberries was wonderful! Ice cream was delicious! The buffet is small compared to some of the others in Lancaster County. Most of what is on the buffet is on the menu. The food is very good and the staff is courteous and the kids each get a goody bag when they arrive.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindenhurst, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“An excellent warm friendly place for a meal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had breakfast here while visiting Lancaster last weekend. The service was excellent and the food was very tasty and a very good value. I try and do my research before taking a trip and we travel often. We weren't expecting to spend money in a restaurant for breakfast because all of the hotels we booked on our trip offered a free breakfast. We travel every month or every other month and have to watch our budget in order to afford the luxury of vacationing so often. We purposely when planning our trips look for resorts that are all inclusive or if its not a resort then we usually choose hotels that offer complimentary breakfast. It just allows us to spend less money in the food area and use it for activities or our main dinner meal. Unfortunately, the first night of our trip was spent at a hotel that was not up to the usual standards that we prefer in accommodations. That being said we already decided before going to bed that we were not going to be eating the complimentary breakfast that was included in our stay. I logged into tripadviser and started my research. I came across this restaurant and although there were some that did post a few negative comments, I use it as a guide and I don't always believe everything I read. I know some people can find fault with the nicest places so I go with my gut feeling and just read as many reviews as possible. I also pulled up the restaurants menu and was so surprised to see such reasonable prices and such a lengthy menu. The meal descriptions seemed so extensive. I love country type food and being in the atmosphere of farmland like in the Lancaster area. Just the word dairy in the name of the restaurant was very appealing to me. I also noticed a lovely and somewhat unique offer in almost all of the different meal choices. A free donut and glass of milk. I thought how nice is that. It makes sense that a dairy farm would offer something to each of their customers that shows off what they are making I guess pretty regular. Its just that nobody seems to do that, nobody wants to give you anything extra for nothing. This was one of the deciding factors in choosing this place for our breakfast. I had narrowed it down to 3 and went with Oregon dairy.

Now for the review. The service was rather quick, A short wait when we arrived, but that shows you that a place is usually good if people are waiting just to go in. Our waitress Sheila was so lovely and friendly. The service once seated was extremely quick. The menu had so many options I couldn't decide because everything sounded so delicious. Our waitress Sheila asked us if we wanted our donut and milk and I asked her about them and being freshly made and she very nicely explained to me they are and I was excited to try both. Well, my fiancé and I split the donut to save room for our meal and it was absolutely delicious and it wasn't a dunkiin donut,,you could clearly taste the difference in the quality. The milk was also very creamy and delicious. They complimented each other. Then our meals came and the portion sizes were huge. I had a skillet egg combo dish and my fiancée had a combo egg dish also. Everything was so hot and tasted so fresh and delicious. We were getting so full from the large portion but both kept eating it tasted so good. The place has a very upbeat happy atmosphere and it was a pleasure to enjoy a nice meal. The prices are very reasonable and the staff very hard working from what I could see. We definitely recommend this to anyone reading these reviews. All around you can't go wrong with the Oregon Farm. My fiancée wanted to come back another morning to enjoy another breakfast but unfortunately since we changed to a different hotel I reminded him that we have to stay in our budget and take advantage of the complimentary breakfast at the hotel, but we will come back to the Oregon Dairy on our next trip back to the Amish Country. I was only disappointed I couldn't try the ice cream that I read countless positive reviews about but we will be back for that too!!! One last thing, we also enjoyed looking at the lovely grounds and animals on this farm. They were beautiful and they also had a lovely playground for kids. We also purchased some of the restaurants coffee because it was so delicious and noticed the 12oz bags for sale at the register when we paid. The coffee was delicious and we were happy to notice that they sold it and for a decent price as well. So, if you can try this restaurant you will be pleased!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Food quality varies depending what you order”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Have been here with family before and my first trip was better. The best part of the place is the outdoor playground and their ice cream. Why my husband and daughter were happy with their meal, mine was a bit of a disappointment. I had a wonderful turkey sandwich with cranberry relish but I should have chosen two different sides. I chose baby carrots because I thought they were cooked. They were raw which I wouldn't have minded so much if this said so on the menu or if our server mentioned it. They didn't even come with a dipping sauce! The second side dish had to be the worst macaroni & cheese I have ever had! They may have just pulled it off the buffet and served it because it was lukewarm, had no flavor, and was just plain awful! Thankfully I did not choose to order the Mac & cheese as my main entree! I am usually easy to please, especially where macaroni and cheese is concerned. You would think in an area known for cooking, they could cook Mac & cheese but obviously not. We have ordered wedding renewal cakes from them which where superb but I would go back and order anything but mac & cheese. You have been forewarned.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oregon Dairy Country Restaurant also viewed

Lititz, Lancaster County
Lititz, Lancaster County
 
Lititz, Lancaster County
 

Been to Oregon Dairy Country Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oregon Dairy Country Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.