We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strange combo of coffee & beer, but Breakfast surprisingly good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Sturgis Haus

The Sturgis Haus
43 East Main St, Lititz, PA 17543
+1 717-627-7827
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 68 Restaurants in Lititz
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Barbecue, Coffee Shop, Hamburgers, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner
Description: -Slow smoked brisket, pork, chicken, turkey,and other speacilties -Our own cured and smoked bacon -Homemade rubs and sauces -6 taps of our handcrafted beer -growlers to go -Full service espresso bar
Hershey, PA
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Strange combo of coffee & beer, but Breakfast surprisingly good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

What a strange little establishment. The entry looked quaint, so we saw that breakfast was served until noon, we walked in.....my entire family. The inside decor was confusing. There is a wall that had the locally brewed beers listed, but we were looking for breakfast. The tables and chairs were outdated, and not in a good, historical way. They were not a fit for the traditional floors and bar.

So, after sitting down, we had a server who was nice, but not customer service trained. We ordered the traditional breakfast fare, which was surprisingly good (eggs, sausage, pancakes, etc). We finally figured out that they are a pub that serves locally (on-site) brewed beers, but also doubles as a coffee house type for breakfast. The walls of beer offerings is up, but the back has self serve coffee and a "wall of mugs" that local patrons hang.

Here's the bottom line....this place has the potential to be a really unique combination of coffee and beer but needs to do the following
1) update the chairs and tables
2) take a few minutes and rewrite the chalkboard for breakfast, then for lunch/dinner
3) set a conversion time from coffee to beer (cafe to pub)
......being both confuses everyone

That being said....we will eat breakfast there again

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beerkinglititz, Owner at The Sturgis Haus, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We want to thank you for such a constructive review. We are in the middle of the dinning room updates and realize it needs to be more "pubby". Thank you for your suggestions,we will be implementing the chalk boards more efficiently and setting a time for the switch over.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    12
    15
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
fredonia,ny
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“a pint and a platter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We split a Harvest Platter(i think that was the name)there were four different sausages and two sides plus a pint of IPA.Pretty large selection of craft beers.Sausages were great-nice folks too.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Family Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We had a blast twisting our pretzels at the Sturgis Haus in Lititz. The kids loved it. The tour was short, but we saw enough to know how they were made. Oven rooms are Hot! Their soft pretzels are the best. Gift shop was ok. Great location downtown--- across from Moravain Church. Worth the stop

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great pretzels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Good place to stop to see how pretzels are made and to take some home. We always take pretzels home as well as enjoying fresh, hot, soft pretzels

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Just doesn't make it as a 'brew pub' or restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The interior is like a little corner diner, which is ok. The wait staff was inexperienced, but attentive. Out of the first choice beer, which is ok, 2nd choice was decent, but not over the top. I ordered a 'brat' with fried onions. I got what appeared to be a day old brat reheated and shrunk. Very dry and tasteless. The onions consisted of 3 strands stuck to the bottom of a hot dog bun and crushed by a pannini maker! My friend had the 'reuben'. That too was made via a pannini press - not at all what a reuben should be - and, it was made with bbq beef not corn beef! But, it did state that in the menu description, so caveat emptor. It's in the bustling part of town and might get enough one time tourist types to survive, and maybe they will thro out the pannini crusher and take time to make good sandwiches - and whatever, please do not serve day old brats! I probably won't return, but maybe I will just to see if we just had a bad day.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beerkinglititz, Manager at The Sturgis Haus, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your input. The waitress was only working her second day and trying to keep up.The Brats are from Wisconsin and are made by a well known Bavarian sausage kitchen and we have had nothing but rave reviews about them. The menu does not specify "fried" onions for the sausage sandwiches,just raw onion and the roll is toasted on the grill,but not the whole sandwich.And yes the "Reuben" IS made from smoked brisket...Hence the name "STURGIS REUBEN" as explained on the menu. Oh,and by the way....we've been here for over 15 years,and are full for breakfast & lunch everyday of the week so something must be going right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sturgis Haus also viewed

Lititz, Lancaster County
Lititz, Lancaster County
 
Lititz, Lancaster County
Lititz, Lancaster County
 

Been to The Sturgis Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sturgis Haus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.