We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great menu also available at pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of General Sutter Inn

General Sutter Inn
14 East Main Street, Lititz, PA
717-626-2115
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 68 Restaurants in Lititz
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Chester Springs, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great menu also available at pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We enjoyed the food and menu so much at the pub that we decided to try the restaurant for dinner. We enjoyed the cheese plate, burgers, and chicken and leek pie. The service was excellent. Very nice dinner experience in Lititz.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    43
    18
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brogue, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Average...nothing special.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here for lunch. The waitress was pleasant and friendly. I had a roast turkey sandwich, which was very tasty. The accompanying chips were too salty and inedible. My companion had a fish pie that was ninety percent mashed potatoes and very bland. Even though there were only two other tables occupied, the acoustics were horrible. It was difficult to carry on a conversation while sitting next to each other. It took a long time to clear our table, and even longer to receive the check. We don't plan on eating here again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, NJ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Repeat offender!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I was in Lititz again a couple of weeks ago and I just couldn't stay away from General Sutter's. I had my usual and the friends I was with had other burgers and were impressed with the quality of the food, the portions and the terrific service. I wish I lived closer because my family and friends would definitely be regulars. The place has a certain charm that you just don't find any more and the service was terrific as usual.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Historical Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

While this Inn is a historical cornerstone of the community, the lunch and dinner menus clearly define the excellence of the chef's talents.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ephrata, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“PERFECT wedding reception.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

It seems like just yesterday my wife (then fiance) and I were at the Bull's Head for lunch and wandered into the Sutter's banquet hall. I told her the room would be nice for a wedding reception. About a year later we were making wedding plans and decided to express our interest in using the Sutter as a reception hall.

We were introduced to one of the front of house managers, Jeff. Soon the plans (and stress) starting mounting up. Every time we sat down with him, Jeff was organized... he remembered details of our last meeting, and gave us confidence and peace of mind that we picked the right venue.

Come the day of the reception it was absolutely unreal. The level of service, the atmosphere of the room... the food (oh my god, THE FOOD!!) exceeded expectations in every way. We offered our guest a choice between an airline chicken breast with vegetables or a filet and crab cake with an herb cream sauce... I was worried when the filet arrived at my seat with only a butter knife. The filet was so tender a butter knife was all I needed.

If you're planning a wedding in the area, you should really consider the Sutter. Littiz Springs Park is a great place for an outdoor wedding venue, and despite the inherent markup in any wedding reception, we received tremendous value and satisfaction with this place. Even as the party ramped up and people got a little rowdy, they kept a straight face and were very accommodating to our 110 guests. They also offer a Sutter Rewards card program that gave us additional perks for booking our reception there.

To anyone that sees this review for dining or otherwise, meeting Jeff and some of the service staff at the Sutter was proof to me this business knows what the hospitality industry is all about.

Tony and Tara, reception date October 6th, 2013.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed General Sutter Inn also viewed

Lititz, Lancaster County
Lititz, Lancaster County
 
Lititz, Lancaster County
 

Been to General Sutter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage General Sutter Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.