We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check the patio” 4 of 5 stars
Review of General Sutter Inn

General Sutter Inn
14 East Main Street, Lititz, PA
717-626-2115
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 68 Restaurants in Lititz
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Check the patio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

good service and food, the patio is a great place to meet your friends right in the middle of Lititz

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    43
    18
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Romantic Dinner for Two”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

The General Sutter Inn has an amazing quiet restaurant that is the perfect place to celebrate an Anniversary or a Special Date! Dinner specials are always amazin as well as their entire menu! The staff is friendly and prompt!!! There Valentine's Dinner was amazing and we can't wait to go back next year!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Over the Rainbow
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

The only reason I'm giving this review an 'average' instead of a 'poor' was because the food was very good.
The service, on the other hand??? To say it was poor is an understatement. When our party of 4 arrived, we were told 30-minute wait because there were 9 groups ahead of us. We looked around, saw only one other group waiting and 4 empty tables around the patio.
When we were seated, after getting some drinks at the bar, the waiter said that he could not bring us more drinks at the table until the bartender transferred our bar tab to a food order (whatever). We waited another 20 minutes or so for the waiter to come back and take our order. Then another 30 minutes went by before the food showed up. We ordered burgers and sandwiches. Both of the burgers were way overcooked, as we had asked for them 'medium' and 'medium rare'.
Another 30 minutes passed and the server never showed up again to take more drink orders or see how our food was. He then showed up with a completely messed bill. Everything was incorrect. They finally took the overcooked burgers off of the tab and we just ended up splitting the one bill with the other couple we were with, even though we had asked for (and told 'no problem') two separate bills.
Overall, I believe this place is very poorly managed. There's no other explanation for having only one server for the entire patio, two hostesses and one manager yakking away with patrons and not helping out whatsoever, especially on a '2nd Friday' when they know that downtown Lititz is going to be filled with hungry people.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Top Contributor
253 reviews 253 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Food was very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Six of us had lunch there on a Monday. Everyone liked their meals. Choices that we had were Chicken Noodle Soup, Pulled Pork Cuban Sandwich, BLT Salad, Caesar Salad and Fish and Chips. No complaints here. We also had their Bloody Mary's which were very good but very pricy - $9.50 and you only got 1/2 stick of celery after we asked for it. They only had 1 waiter working. The service was good when it was only our table but when others arrived, we had to wait quite a while for our change and a box.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“An unexpected and delicious find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

While we did not stay at the Inn, we had a great lunch there on Saturday afternoon. The dining room was spacious with a menu of Maryland favorites - think crab - and other intriguing salads and sandwiches. The staff couldn't have been any nicer and were very patient as we asked for their suggestions for 'must sees' which included the pretzel and chocolate factories, museums and civil war memorials. If you go, please make a trip to the men's room...yes the men's room. Too funny!


Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed General Sutter Inn also viewed

Lititz, Lancaster County
Lititz, Lancaster County
 
Lititz, Lancaster County
 

Been to General Sutter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage General Sutter Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.