We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Southern BBQ, Good Beer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of JoBoy's Brew Pub

JoBoy's Brew Pub
27-31 East Main Street, Lititz, PA 17543
717-568-8330
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 68 Restaurants in Lititz
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good Southern BBQ, Good Beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

What's not to like? Finding good souther BBQ here in Yankeeland has been like looking for a needle in a haystack. Found JoBoy's in Manheim and drove over to try it out this afternoon. Good, draft beer followed by a 1/2 rack of ribs, beans, and homemade fries; what's not to like? They advertise "North Carolina" style, so you can expect more vinegar in the slaw than the sweet, creamy northern slaw. Ribs fell off the bone. Atmosphere is casual of course, blues playing on the sound system, ...perfect. Not much to not like, so we'll be back.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    28
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manheim, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“what portions and great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Have gone there several times They have unusual hours so call before going. They have a micro brewery on the premises and the beer is always satisfying

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Nothing bad to say about this place except I wish it was closer to my house! From the second of walking in my husband and I were greeted with such welcomeness it was nice! We started out with 2 of the beers which they make right on the premises and they were great! To eat we tried the smoked cabbage with bbq sauce, which they make their own bbq sauce omg soooo good!, bacon and butter it was out of this world and different! Then we had chili, excellent! and shared the smoked sampler platter which tasted like bbq that you see them make on tv and only imagine how it tastes, but I did get to taste it and it was phenomenal! Got a growler to take home of the Raz Ale because it was so yummy! and I wanted to take home a gallon of their homemade bbq sauce but they only sold it by the pint so I took some of that home too! I would recommend this place to everyone to try and especially beer lovers and bbq lovers! The service was excellent! Our waitress Sarah was wonderful! We will be back!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Really decent BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

The ribs are meaty and fresh. I have been there several times and most times the owner has come around the thank us for coming. The servers need a little more training on enhancing the dining experience and not taking it over (like starting a conversation with you and not leaving!) I do not like the cornbread but the beans are good. Overall good experience.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Close your eyes and the smell will convince you that you are inSouth Carolina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

As displaced southerns living in Pennsylvania we find that there are things that we have to search to find here in the north: baked beans with real flavor, warm and welcoming attitude, great cole slaw and back home BBQ. JoBoy's is worth the trip to tiny Manheim, PA. Have co-owner Jo show show you how to jazz up the baked beans to perfection - oh and did I mention you get as many refills on slaw and baked beans as you can eat. Gotta have BBQ pork platter or brisket platter. Jo makes the mac-and -cheese from her mother's recipe.
Hubby Jeff is busy out back making some tasty home brews. We love his American IPA Hopitude. Goes great with the BBQ.
Something else that Jeff brought to PA with him is southern hospitality. Sarah is our favorite bartender - always pleasant and charming and ready to keep your glass full.
Take the drive through the country to JoBoy;s - we promise it is worth the trip.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JoBoy's Brew Pub also viewed

Lititz, Lancaster County
Lititz, Lancaster County
 
Lititz, Lancaster County
Lititz, Lancaster County
 

Been to JoBoy's Brew Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JoBoy's Brew Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.