We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close your eyes and the smell will convince you that you are inSouth Carolina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JoBoy's Brew Pub

JoBoy's Brew Pub
27-31 East Main Street, Lititz, PA 17543
717-568-8330
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 68 Restaurants in Lititz
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Saint Augustine, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Close your eyes and the smell will convince you that you are inSouth Carolina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

As displaced southerns living in Pennsylvania we find that there are things that we have to search to find here in the north: baked beans with real flavor, warm and welcoming attitude, great cole slaw and back home BBQ. JoBoy's is worth the trip to tiny Manheim, PA. Have co-owner Jo show show you how to jazz up the baked beans to perfection - oh and did I mention you get as many refills on slaw and baked beans as you can eat. Gotta have BBQ pork platter or brisket platter. Jo makes the mac-and -cheese from her mother's recipe.
Hubby Jeff is busy out back making some tasty home brews. We love his American IPA Hopitude. Goes great with the BBQ.
Something else that Jeff brought to PA with him is southern hospitality. Sarah is our favorite bartender - always pleasant and charming and ready to keep your glass full.
Take the drive through the country to JoBoy;s - we promise it is worth the trip.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    28
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Best BBQ outside of the South”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

We shared the BBQ Sampler & had the french fries (hand cut & fabulous), the coleslaw (way too much vinegar, very sour), and the mac&cheese (average). The BBQ was excellent - all the meats were very tasty, not too much spice (so you enjoy the flavour of the meat with the smoke). This really is the best BBQ I have eaten outside of the south. We were disappointed with coleslaw - one mouthful and I couldn't eat anymore because the excess vinegar made it too sour. My friend who had the mac&cheese said she was a little disappointed - it was just ok. I was driving so I didn't have any beer - but they do brew all their own.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange City, Florida
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“not worth it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Very dry pulled pork; sauces lack flavor; soggy French fries. Extremely sweet Cole slaw, they know nothing about southern BBQ. Won’t go back

  • Visited September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Pork BBQ and Beef Brisket”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

JoBoy's has wonderfully authentic smoked BBQ and their sauce is to die for. Their sides are great and the beer is good. This small town establishment has a friendly and welcoming atmosphere and you will be sure to see the owners on the premises milling about. Give JoBoy's a try and you will be back time and time again.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Awesome BBQ and Microbrewed beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

I do not have enough space to write how much I love JoBoys. Not only do they have the best ribs I have ever had in my ENTIRE LIFE, but some of the best micro-brewed beer as well. (JoBoy's American Pale Ale is currently my favorite beer!) The owners are incredibly friendly and will know your name the second time you come in. All the food is made from scratch with love. This place is absolutely amazing. I will never stop recommending JoBoy's to everyone I know.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JoBoy's Brew Pub also viewed

Lititz, Lancaster County
Lititz, Lancaster County
 
Lititz, Lancaster County
Lititz, Lancaster County
 

Been to JoBoy's Brew Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JoBoy's Brew Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.