We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After Christmas get-a-way:” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alden House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lititz
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Alden House Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Alden House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
62 E. Main St., Lititz, PA 17543   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Lititz B&B and Inns
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“After Christmas get-a-way:”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at the Alden House. The friendly hospitality and welcoming was apparent from the moment of our arrival until our departure. Each morning, breakfast was always unique and delicious. Coffee, tea and a variety of cold beverages are always available twenty-four hours, as well as, several snacks set out for your enjoyment. We stayed in the first floor, Joshua Room at the front of the house. The room was a nice size, had beautiful high windows facing the main street, sometimes noisy. A sitting area with two high back chairs and a TV, and a queen sized bed that we found to be very firm and not comfortable. The large narrow bathroom was very clean, with sink and stall shower. The pressure in the shower is poor. Our hostess was very helpful with informative about the area and offered suggestions for places to eat. Our hostess also arranged a wonderful dinner at an Amish home for us. All in all we would return but choose a room on the second level and perhaps toward the backyard away from the busy main street. The lovely town of Lititz is worth a visit.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back and possible second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    12
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
35
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Alden House B&B should be experienced if visiting in the area. The room we had, #1 the Joshua Room, was nicely decorated with a very high ceiling with full length curtains covering the numerous windows in this single room. The 2 high-back chairs offer limited seating, and there is no work area. The queen side bed was comfortable. Overall I am please with my stay, but things worth noting that could be improved upon: The front door on Main Street had a sign that said “Vacancy” and “welcome”, but the door was locked and directed you around to the back door. That was not very welcoming. Room 1 is facing the street and the street noise is relatively loud. It seems extraordinarily loud starting at 4:30 when the trucks come through town. The bathroom is large, but it is skinny and long, standing at the sink, a second person cannot go by. The shower has very low water pressure which did not offer for a pleasant showering experience. Breakfast was pleasant, as we enjoyed the company of two other couples around the table. Served were pancakes and sausages along with several other dishes, all which were delicious. Overall I would recommend The Alden House to others.

Room Tip: Ask if there is someone staying in the room upstairs, if so, you will be able to hear them walking a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed in the Scandia room which was very dark and depressing. Only ONE window, which opens onto a covered porch where people are sitting - directly in front of this one window - so it's a bit awkward to get any natural light into this room. Bed was old and loud - creaked every time we moved even the tiniest bit. Mattress was very hard. Nothing very special about this room. A bit dissapointing compared to other B&Bs we have stayed at. It was clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pitman
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Location, location, location and the rooms are very nice. The breakfast is very nice and interesting.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldenbb, Owner at Alden House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We always get the best guests at the Alden House!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matawan, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

We recently stayed for 2 nights while in the area for a wedding. Out room was very clean and comfortable and the private entrance from the parking lot was really great as well. Breakfast was very nice, and we especially liked the option of strawberry or peach juice in addition to Orange with breakfast - it's those small things that make it a nice way to wake up. The 2 mornings we were there we left for the day well fed and caffeinated! The fajita frittata was the highlight for me, as well as the chocolate orange cake for dessert! John and Lynndell were both very nice and the Inn is kept very nice and tidy. The location is great and walkable to most things, but John was quick to ask if we needed directions anywhere as well. We will definitely stay there again if we find ourselves in Lititz in the future!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Alden House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

One of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept on in a B&B or hotel anywhere!! Lovely place, right in the centre of town. Great hosts, delicious multi-course breakfast. Highly recommended for a weekend away!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldenbb, Owner at Alden House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. It is easy to provide great service to great guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stay at B&Bs because they offer variety, a good breakfast, interesting guests, and interesting hosts. The Alden House, located on Lititz's main street met all of these qualifications. They also have their own parking and this is always a plus in our book. Lititz itself is a little off the beaten track (being not quite in Pennsylvania Dutch country) but just far enough away that one is not surrounded by the tourists that one would probably find in nearby Lancaster.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alden House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alden House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 62 E. Main St., Lititz, PA 17543
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lititz
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Lititz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Alden House Bed and Breakfast, a fine example of "In-town elegance." This 1850 brick Federal style house is located in the center of the Lititz Historical District within strolling distance of local attractions, unique shops, and fine dining. It's the perfect location to enjoy the ambience of the charming town of Lititz while being centrally located in Lancaster County, PA.The Alden House has been professionally restored with modern amenities while retaining all its original charm. The high ceilings, striking staircase, cozy dining room, and comfortable rooms and suites all remind guests of another era, a time when the pace was just a little slower. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alden House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;