We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location and staff, could use some updating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of General Sutter Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lititz
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
General Sutter Inn
Save
You added General Sutter Inn to your Saves list
14 Main Street, Lititz, PA 17543   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Lititz B&B and Inns
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely location and staff, could use some updating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed in this cute little inn for 1 night. Our stay was pleasant and the room and hotel were very clean. I am not usually very picky, but I thought it was a shame that the wallpaper in the bathroom was completely peeling off the walls, and the room was not as clean as a $150+ a night room should be. Overall, I would recommend this inn if you're passing through Lititz / Lancaster. The staff were very pleasant as well!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    26
    18
    8
    11
See reviews for
18
47
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Never stayed on site, because we live in town, but we eat regularly at the Sutter. The meals are always prepared like few can do it. The dining room is precious. The hotel bar, while small, is welcoming. The patio is the best the town has to offer in camaraderie in terms of staff and customers. Great place for any reason. Located next to the Bulls Head.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuckerton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

First, let me say, We will go back again. Our room, 222, was lovely. It faced on the alley and was very quiet. In addition to the bed, there were two chairs (which we love). My complaint is that the bathroom needed painting, the shower curtain needed changing (worn-not dirty) and the radiator needed dusting behind it. The shower ran all night (more than dribbled). I reported this and was told it was all being worked on. We'll see. We love the location so much, we'll return. Steps are difficult for my husband. There is no one to take your bags upstairs. We managed, but would have preferred some help. It is a creaky old building and very charming, nicely decorated. If you can overlook some of the signs of aging, I would recommend all it has to offer. The pub next door (attached) has great crab cakes and many beers to try (a limited menu but well varied). It has an active bar scene and is very busy. There is also a very popular restaurant attached. We did not try the Continental Breakfast at the hotel. There is a shop down the street, I think is called Chocolate that has lattes etc and organic omelets etc. We love this shop, so we ate there. There are many other attractions in walking distance that make this a worthwhile destination. Check in times are generous and much less restrictive than B&Bs.

Room Tip: Since steps were an issue and there is no elevator, we chose the second floor. We were happy with 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My wife and I spent the night at the General Sutter Inn for a little one day getaway to Lititz. The room we stayed in definitely retained its old charm. If you enjoy history as I do, this is a cool little inn. The room we stayed in was facing the main st and I believe over top of the Bulls Head Pub. The street noise didn't bother me, but it was a bit loud at times until around midnight. We stayed in room 212. We had some great craft beers and nachos at the Bulls Head, just down the stairs to the right. . I would highly recommend stopping in Bulls Head. We would lodge here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawsville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This hotel is within walking distance to both the Wilbur Chocolate Factory, Sturgis Pretzel Factory, Lititz Springs Park, and lots of shops and restaurants. It is an old historic hotel, so don't expect plush amenities. We found the hotel comfortable and it fit our needs. The hotel restaurant is top notch, so do miss having a beer and dinner. The breakfast is simple and no frills, but it does the job.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewksbury, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We just spent 4 nights on a soft bed in a comfortable room. The antique charm made the stay restful- The staff was open, kind and responsive. I asked for something and it appeared. The night clerk, Laurie, made sure we were comfortable, offered tourist advice and even advice on beers. The attached pub has a beer list that was extensive, but the bartenders were knowledgeable and offered samples after we described what we liked. This Inn was one of the best parts of staying at "The coolest small town in America"

Room Tip: No fridge, but coffee in the room. Old building, stairs to get to the room. Very homey atmosphere
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lier, Belgium
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

location is fine and the terrace nice. We drank and ate at the bar. My kids had their first burger and loved it. For them the plate was large enough. We ordered a "large"plate of salmon. Based on the stories of the enormous portions we orded 1 large plate for 2. This was a very huge disappointment.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to General Sutter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about General Sutter Inn

Address: 14 Main Street, Lititz, PA 17543
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lititz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Lititz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This comfortable inn is located across the street from the residence of California pioneer John Augustus Sutter, who fled here after losing everything in the Gold Rush. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
General Sutter Hotel Lititz

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage General Sutter Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.