We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More of a gift shop than a chocolate factory” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wilbur Chocolate Co.

Wilbur Chocolate Co.
48 North Broad Street., Lititz, PA 17543
+1 717-626-3249
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 20 Attractions in Lititz
Type: Factory Tours, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tour this museum featuring hundreds of pieces of antique candy making memorabilia, then buy some quality chocolate at the factory store.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“More of a gift shop than a chocolate factory”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

They had a very extensive gift shop, offering many unique chocolate figurines etc however there is nothing to tour other than some old chocolate memorabilia in the form of chocolate molds and other antiques.

If you're in the area, it's worth stopping by but not really worth making a special trip unless you're in the market for some (pricey) novelty chocolate.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    96
    46
    14
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Makes Hershey pale in comparison”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

What a jewel located right in the middle of downtown Lititz. The chocolate is absolutely wonderful and the ladies working there are very personable. The Wilbur Buds were a huge hit with my Tennessee family. We try to make Wilbur at least a monthly visit.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
armonk, ny
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“It's chocolate and it's not the HersheyFest!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

There we were -- about 30 minutes south of Hershey, in the middle of the Wilbur Chocolate Factory watching women in white labcoats and hairnets dip marshmallow; making S'mores, and getting elbow deep in melted chocolate. Of course, Lucy and Ethel came to mind in the famous episode... but to the credit of the Wilbur set up, there was no conveyor belt! The chocolate is of extremely high quality -- and of equally high price. Since this is the point of origin, one would hope for a discount, or at least a deal here and there. Anyway, don't miss it.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fun and friendly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We were in Lancaster for the weekend and ventured to Lititz, PA for Saturday morning! Wilbur Chocolate Factory was everything yummy! I got a few VERY unique gifts, such as a chocolate toothbrush and tube of toothpaste for my boss, a dentist! Curlers, blow dryer, mirror, and chocolate comb for my hair stylist!! I was able to participate (without a kid!) to make a chocolate turkey! ($1) The staff was super friendly and very helpful! We left a few dollars poorer but happy! Yummy chocolate!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Chocoholic Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

A gem! Every type of chocolate you can imagine and everything I have bought there is delicious! If you are lucky you can watch the wonderful ladies in the back of shop making s'mores, filling molds, or making other sweet treats. Lots of varieties of fudge, molds, filled chocolates, bars. Video of the history and making of chocolate. Fantastic displays of custom items that they can make out of chocolate. Samples. Friendly staff! You could spend a couple of hours easily getting lost in the sights and smells of this shop/factory. (There chocolate is used by another shop in Lititz, Julius Sturgis Pretzel Bakery, to cover pretzels - see seperate review)

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wilbur Chocolate Co. also viewed

 
Lititz, Lancaster County
Columbia, Lancaster County
 

Been to Wilbur Chocolate Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wilbur Chocolate Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.