We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Advertising Misleading” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Julius Sturgis Pretzel Bakery

Julius Sturgis Pretzel Bakery
219 East Main Street, Lititz, PA 17543
717 626 4354
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Julius Sturgis Pretzel Bakery, established in 1861, is the first commercial pretzel bakery in America. As of August 2007, the site is under new ownership. The bakery and store have been completely renovated and are now operated once again by the Sturgis family. Visitors can tour the original pretzel bakery, see soft pretzels being made by hand, and find pretzels baked by the oldest pretzel baking family in the United States.
Kannapolis, North Carolina
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Advertising Misleading”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Advertised that you make your own pretzel. You do play with dough to form a pretzel as the docent explains the origin of the pretzel as well as the meaning of the shape. You do not bake your pretzel. The tour consists of the docent showing how pretzels were made in the past and in today's modern oven. Hard pretzels are not made at this bakery now. So, you do not get to see pretzels being made. You are given a small bag of pretzels that are baked at another bakery. You may buy a soft pretzel for $1.00 that has been baked at Sturgis' Bakery. Overall, disappointing and not worth the $3.00 charge for the tour.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    113
    52
    8
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“fun historic place to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Fun, inexpensive tour but would probably be most enjoyed by young families as you get to roll your own soft pretzel and the little ones seemed to love that. I enjoyed hearing the history of the place and eating some pretzels.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Pretzel Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Tour the factory & learn how to make your own pretzels. Lots of fun for everyone,especially young kids.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Fun activity with kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Visited Sturgis Pretzel factory last week. I took two grandchildren with me ages 13 and 10. It was a good experience. I was afraid it would bore them but both of the kids came out happy. Admission is $3.00 adults 12 and up and $2.00 for 3-11. This is a group tour....so we had to wait about 15 min for the next group to go in. The first thing we did was stand in front of a table and learn the history of the first pretzel. Everyone enjoyed learning how to roll out and twist our pretzel dough. The tour lasted about 30-40 mins. The guide was very interesting, held everyone's attention and patiently answered all questions. Coming out my grandson said the only thing that would have made it better if we had been able to cook our own pretzel and eat it. After the tour we did buy a fresh out of the oven soft pretzel for $1.00 in the Sturgis store outside the tour room. Good experience. I plan on taking the rest of the grandchildren to Sturgis.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talleyville, Delaware
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“The best soft pretzels in Pennsylvania”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

I thought the Julius Sturgis bakery in Lititz was going to just be another tourist trap like so many in nearby Lancaster. Well I was wrong! It's the original home of the Sturgis bakery and it is a small, informative museum with a friendly staff. You get a hands on opportunity to roll your own pretzel (with play dough) and then learn how the first hard pretzels came to be. The original bakery and ovens are still in place.

Soft pretzels are made on site and you simply have to give them a try.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Julius Sturgis Pretzel Bakery also viewed

Lititz, Lancaster County
Columbia, Lancaster County
 
Lititz, Lancaster County
Lititz, Lancaster County
 

Been to Julius Sturgis Pretzel Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Julius Sturgis Pretzel Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.