We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Fashioned Fun For Families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Idlewild & SoakZone

Idlewild & SoakZone
P.O. Box C, Rt. 30 East, Ligonier, PA 15658
724-238-3666
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 6 things to do in Ligonier
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With something for everyone, Idlewild & SoakZone is rated the Best Kids Park in the World by Amusement Today magazine, and rated Best Park for Families by the National Amusement Park Historical Association. With two parks in one, this is what family fun is all about! The oldest amusement park in Pennsylvania, Idlewild & SoakZone offers a delightful day of fun for every member of your group. Whether you’re celebrating a birthday, having a party, hosting a company picnic, or spending quality time with family and friends, Idlewild & SoakZone helps make everything easier and hassle free with party packs and catered event menus. Attractions that include the Rollo Coaster, SoakZone, Storybook Forest and so much more make Idlewild & SoakZone the place to be for everyone young and old!
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Old Fashioned Fun For Families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Nice park, wooded with an old fashioned look and feel. Lots of rides for younger children and a couple for older ones and adults (Mouse and log flume). Vintage amusements such as the whip, caterpillar and scrambler. Plenty of amusement park type food options and picnic facilities available. Three generations of my family went this last visit and all had a good time.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff C, Public Relations Manager at Idlewild & SoakZone, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thank you for visiting, Jamlaur! We love hearing stories of the different generations visiting the park together and creating great family memories. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    91
    44
    15
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Better than Disney for toddlers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We have two toddler girls. They liked Disney but were overwhelmed. Idlewild is calm, clean and plenty of grass and trees. We spent most of the time in the little kid area. Lines are short for the most part. Rides are old-fashioned fun. The food is horrible (unless you like fried food) but they have plenty of picnic areas and encourage people to bring their own food and picnic. We spent one day in the Soak Zone area. Small for a water park but clean and fun. We liked it enough to buy season tickets.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff C, Public Relations Manager at Idlewild & SoakZone, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thank you for visiting! We are glad that you enjoyed yourselves enough to upgrade to the Season Pass. When visiting next time, I invite you to check out the Food listings on the map/guide that they hand out at the auto gates. You will find many other options besides fried food listed. We offer Deli-style Sandwiches & Hoagies, Panini's, Salads, Fruit Bowls, BBQ Chicken, Charbroiled Chicken, Ribs, Turkey Legs, Pulled Pork, Corn on the Cob, Tacos, several varieties of Grilled Chicken Wraps (my personal favorite), Gyros and more! But, as always, Idlewild does allow you to bring your own picnic baskets/coolers and enjoy your own family picnic in one of our scenic picnic groves! We hope you enjoy your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Park is geared towards younger children.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

I have been going to this park since I was a child and now I take my kids who are now teens. I kinda miss the plain swimming pool that they took out and the wasps and bees were awful. They really need to spray nests more especially by the ice cream stand trash can by the tables. It was hard to keep them away because the tables were not kept wiped off so the drips of sweetness attracted them. They were also by the French Fries tables.Definitely can't eat in peace without bees and wasps flying around. Other than that the park is good although it is a bit pricey now because they were rated the #1 kids park in the world in a magazine.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place for family's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This park is great for young children. It has a play area with ball pit, slides, and climbing net. Storybook forest with little houses of all the classic stories. Raccoon Lagoon with rides for little ones. They also have a water park area with slides, wave pool, lazy river, and kids area. It's such a beautiful park.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Florence,Pa, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun, fun, fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

The entire family had a great time.We packed a picnic lunch and had great family day.

Large variety of rides for all ages and thrill seekers.

For those of us over 60, "The Mouse" looks mild but it tends to rough up those old bodies a little too forceful. I advise caution on that one! Stick to the old fashioned roller coaster and have a good time...

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Idlewild & SoakZone also viewed

 

Been to Idlewild & SoakZone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Idlewild & SoakZone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.