We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idlewild Park & Soak Zone” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Idlewild & SoakZone

Idlewild & SoakZone
P.O. Box C, Rt. 30 East, Ligonier, PA 15658
724-238-3666
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 6 Attractions in Ligonier
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks, Amusement Parks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With something for everyone, Idlewild & SoakZone is rated the Best Kids Park in the World by Amusement Today magazine, and rated Best Park for Families by the National Amusement Park Historical Association. With two parks in one, this is what family fun is all about! The oldest amusement park in Pennsylvania, Idlewild & SoakZone offers a delightful day of fun for every member of your group. Whether you’re celebrating a birthday, having a party, hosting a company picnic, or spending quality time with family and friends, Idlewild & SoakZone helps make everything easier and hassle free with party packs and catered event menus. Attractions that include the Rollo Coaster, SoakZone, Storybook Forest and so much more make Idlewild & SoakZone the place to be for everyone young and old!
Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Idlewild Park & Soak Zone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

What a wonderful amusement park! The rides, pool and picnic areas are first class. It's a good
Park for all ages. Enjoy!!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    90
    44
    15
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Family Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I've been taking my daughter here since she was three years old. The season passes are one of the best entertainment values out there. It's an old fashioned style theme park... there are not to many left like this. Some discounts available include reduced fee entry into some of their other properties such as Kennywood located near Pittsburgh, PA. The park is very picnic friendly, so you can pack a basket and not spend a fortune on park food.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holts Summit, Missouri
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good fun, reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Mostly carnival rides with two larger coasters: Wild Mouse and a 1930s wooden coaster. But, even these two are not mega-coasters. Got discount tickets from Great Eagle grocery for $28 and next day tickets for $18. An order of their award winning cheesy, bacon french fries($6.95) fed three of us. Also got souvenir bottle($8.99) for 99 cent refillable drinks. While the park is oriented for younger children, my 24 and 27 year old enjoyed themselves. The water park was especially fun and had most of the usual park activities. An old park, but kept clean. Entertainment we saw was pretty cheesy and high school level. Most of the staff were of course kids. A few were cheerful and friendly, but most couldn't care less.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Geared for younger children”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This park is a nice place to take children who are in elementary school and prior. The rides are all geared toward kids who are very young. (unless they plan on being in the over packed wave pool all day!) My daughter has a season pass. I won't buy another one next year! There is no place to eat healthy at all. They have a place that sells a sad excuse for a salad...I wouldn't even bother!. You can pack a cooler and picnic. There are plenty woodsy areas to eat on a hot summer day. The food there is really just not worth it! Also the bathroom facilities are old and pretty gross. The one going toward the soak zone should be avoided if possible! The changing area in the soak zone is crazy. It is much too small for the amount of people there. I was also there while there was an emergency in the wave pool and the lifeguards didn't react professional enough. There was actually chaos! I wouldn't ever rely on a 16 yr old to watch or save my 6 yr old anyways. I would go back because I get free passes and I live so close....but I wouldn't pay the full price!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Decent Park”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I recently took my four year old to idlewild. She enjoyed storybook forest although the workers could smile to make it better! The only woman not frowning was the older lady who played the mother who lived in the shoe. She went out of her way to talk to my daughter. The park lacks signs so it is hard to tell where you are going. The rides were okay. One in particular made me very sick. The spider is great if you enjoy throwing up! Overall it is just like all other parks; overpriced!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Idlewild & SoakZone also viewed

 

Been to Idlewild & SoakZone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Idlewild & SoakZone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.