We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food & service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Road Toad

The Road Toad
2726 Route 30, Ligonier, PA 15658
7245397623
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 30 Restaurants in Ligonier
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Rockwood, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful food & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

It had been a few years since we'd gone to the Road Toad, but had always liked it. We decided to try it again and were pleasantly surprised to find out that children were now welcome since there was a change in ownership. We were able to sit on the back porch which had a lovely view of the stream. The food was very good - we had crab spread, the chicken cordon bleu special, cod, and very yummy desserts. My husband loved the caramel sundae which was huge! The service was wonderful from the hostess, the waitress, to the owner. We're looking forward to going back again and taking our daughter this time!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wwjbd0103, Owner at The Road Toad, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
I was so happy you came to visit us. It was a pleasure to serve you. Thank you for the very nice review! We hope to see you and your family again soon!
Ron
The Road Toad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    8
    8
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food, Great service, Great Owner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I love this place. The food is always good. The Bleu Burg salad is the best. I've never had anything bad. A charming place with good food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wwjbd0103, Owner at The Road Toad, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you so much! It makes us all so happy when our guests are happy! Please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acme, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Always a Good Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My wife and I celebrated Valentine's Day here for the second year in a row, and the meal was one of the best we've had anywhere in quite a while. The menu is not overwhelming in its number of choices, and they don't try to re-invent the wheel here. My wife had the salmon, and I had a petite fillet -both were cooked to perfection, and the portions were just the right size. The Maryland Crab soup was excellent, with a generous amount of crab meat. It was obvious that the food was not only prepared fresh, but delivered quickly from the kitchen to the table.
Entree prices are reasonable, but be advised - each side dish adds an additional $3 to the tab. Still, the total bill was around $80 with drinks, dinner, sides, and a shared desert. Pretty reasonable, particularly in an area where it's hard to find middle-of-the-road options.
A nice touch is the owner making sure he visits with each table, thanking them for their patronage and making sure that his customers are happy. Ask for a creekside table if available, particularly when visiting in the summer or fall.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Great Steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My husband and I dined at The Road Toad, and had a great experience. The steak and crab cakes were very good. Our server was very nice, and Ron (the owner) made a point to get to know everyone in the dining room and make us feel welcome. We will return the next time we visit Ligonier.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwestern, PA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Superb Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Always friendly service with attention to detail while offering an appetizing menu. Fine dining at its "Best"!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Road Toad also viewed

 

Been to The Road Toad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Road Toad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.