We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of the way, unique gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Darlington Inn

Darlington Inn
1473 Darlington Road, Ligonier, PA 15658
(724) 238-7831
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 29 Restaurants in Ligonier
Cuisines: Hungarian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Out of the way, unique gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This family run restaurant serves authentic Hungarian food. It was one of the best and most reasonable meals we had on a recent 4 week trip to USA. We would go back in a heart-beat - just not sure when we'll be in Pennsylvania again - this was our first visit to that lovely state.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    13
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Hunkie Heaven: Bubba Would be Proud”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

First off, if you don't know who Bubba is, then this will truly be an experience. (Bubba is a Hunkie Grandma). Also, Hunkie can be used to describe a huge section of Europe, which is where I started.
To the review !
There is a big difference in Hungarian cuisine as presented in the US and that in Hungary. Having spent a few months in Budapest, I was amazed at the difference in tastes. The Darlington Inn has preserved the true Hungarian presentation of the cuisine: tastes just like Bubba used to make, not what is Americanized Hungarian. I visited the Inn on a Saturday night, when the buffet is presented, to be able to get a taste of many different offerings. Do this, please !You will not find a single item that is stale, cold or lacking the true flavor of Hungarian food. And the selection is GREAT!.....including dessert. Then, visit another day and order from the menu for the items you really loved. Betcha you can't eat it all !
About Saturday nights at the Inn: there are no menu offerings, only the buffet, and you must make reservations early....it gets very busy. Cash only. Bar available. $2.50 draft beers. Buffet less than $14. Casual dress, noisy place, great people and......get this....an accordion player that sometimes sings! It was like the Hunkie wedding I had 40 years ago.
And, if you just want some goulash or hulishki (sic) to tide you over until your next visit, the Darlington Inn has a booth at the Ligonier Farmers Market in Ligonier on Saturday mornings. Free samples, great prices.
This one is for you, Bubba. Paprika Up !

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Loved the Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Great Hungarian food! Hungarian Golosh and the Hunters pork loin were exceptional. Also the chocolate rum pie. My family and I will be back. Inside may be a little too much like a bar for some, but I liked it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Back to Hungarian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Once a year we all meet at the Darlington Inn for our friends birthday It is tucked away, but it is easy to find. The food seemed to be exceptional this time. The dumplings, chicken paprikash, and halushki were exceptional. We will definetely go back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ligonier, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Authenic Hungarian cuisine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

The Darlington Inn is a unique find in the country alongside a creek. The food is bountiful rustic Hungarian--everything is home made. It is casual dining with a friendly atmosphere--a perfect spot for a family get-together. If you get lucky, Elizabeth will sell you a bag of her famous drop noodles. This is a must stop with guests because it is out of the ordinary.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Darlington Inn also viewed

 

Been to Darlington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Darlington Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.