We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"carryout" prepared Pigs in a blanket so disappointing - dry and tough” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Darlington Inn

Darlington Inn
1473 Darlington Road, Ligonier, PA 15658
(724) 238-7831
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 30 Restaurants in Ligonier
Cuisines: Hungarian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“"carryout" prepared Pigs in a blanket so disappointing - dry and tough”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Bought a whole tray of Hungarian pigs in the blanket from their tent at the Ligonier Farm market and they were the toughest - driest pig in a blanket I have ever had. So very disappointing - but, just thankful I didn't use them when we had guests!
The first batch, I thought maybe I had over cooked them - so the 2nd batch I put in a slow cooker on low and even added water and extra kraut to moisten them up and keep them tender... they were a bit better - but- just overall disappointing. I am Hungarian (2nd generation) -- so, I really wanted to love them.
I will say they were the best "wrapped" piggies I have ever seen - the way she tucked the corner into the meat itself - secured the cabbage from slipping off - very clever.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    13
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ligonier, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Club dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Had dinner with members of a local club we belong to. Served appetizers, drinks, salad, entree and dessert. Very enjoyable.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

The owner herself treated us at our table and the accordion music was great fun. Food was a buffet which was authentic and delicious! Looking forward to returning soon!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel Park, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hungarian Home Cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We've been to the Darlington Inn twice: Once for a Saturday night buffet, with enjoyable accordion music and singing, and once for the regular menu. Before each dinner, a bowl of delicious, homemade soup is served. The service is friendly, the food yummy, and the owner/chef comes out to greet you.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal;PA
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Good homestyle meals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Great place for good home made cooking. nothing fancy just very good comfort food. Hungarian cuisine, stuffed cabbage rolls like my grandmother used to make. If you like Pierogies this is the place to go!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Darlington Inn also viewed

 

Been to Darlington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Darlington Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.