We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CHARMING” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ligonier Tavern

Ligonier Tavern
137 West Main Street, Ligonier, PA 15658-1226
724-238-4831
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 30 Restaurants in Ligonier
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“CHARMING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This little town (off the beaten trail) was awesome. We spent the day walking through the little shop-filled streets. It is a beautiful little quaint town and will definitely plan another visit. For lunch we decided to eat at the Ligonier Tavern. What a surprise - crown jewel for this little town. The menu had huge selection to choose from - the atmosphere was great, and the food was very good. LOVED THIS PLACE AND WILL VISIT AGAIN.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    43
    27
    10
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Historically good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Out on a day trip and happened on this Restaurant .Great atmosphere in a historic restaurant/inn.
Seating was on the second floor balcony.(outdoor). The menu was very nice , not too complicated.
The four of us tried a variety from the menu grilled salmon sandwich, parmesan crusted chicken,
cajun chicken salad. and everything was well prepared good presentation, good tasting. Had
a lobster bisque soup also very good. Ordered a few desserts, I would rate them good to very good. I would go back . I also forgot to mention the service and it was excellent, our server was NIcole.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“As charming as the town itself”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Walking the lovely town of Ligonier, Pa, you cannot miss the old fashioned building of Ligonier Tavern on West Main Street. With its charming facade and magnificent old world style, it's clearly one of the best atmospheres to have a great meal in this town. Never been disappointed in the meals, and today I had Lobster salad which was amazing and a lovely Sangria for lunch.

I cannot say enough however about our waitress, Chrissy. What a lovely young lady, talkative, friendly, as charming as the tavern itself. A wonderfully accomodating girl, we were served promptly and courteously. She certainly is a someone to ask for when eating at this establishment.

Would I return here? In a heartbeat! We ate on the outdoor front balcony today and though it was a bit chilly, the warm atmosphere of the building itself coupled with Chrissy's demenaor made for a most pleasant time.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very dissapointing!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We went to the Ligonier Tavern for Sunday Lunch/Dinner and were very disappointed with both the food and service. After we sat down it took almost 15 minutes before our waitress even came to our table. Once there she only asked if we needed something to drink. Five minutes later she brought our drinks to the table and asked if we were ready to order. She did not explain if there were any dinner specials or if we had any questions. We both ordered entrees (Boat Scallops @ $24.99 and Seafood Risotto @ $21.99). We thought this would include a salad or soup but when we questioned the waitress she simply said they do not. She did not even ask if we would like to order a side salad or soup. I have had many risottos and this one was the worst ever. The risotto was undercooked and over salted. Really, salty risotto, who does this?
We went there for a nice Sunday meal and left still feeling hungry and like we just wasted $60+ on a bad meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peter M, Owner at Ligonier Tavern, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
I am sorry for the experience you had at the Tavern. That weekend we had 2 cooks call off and 2 servers call off. I know that is not your problem, but it made for a very rough weekend for us. Please come by and try us again because that is not our usual service or food. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Going down hill fast”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This little place used to be quaint. It used to be clean. It used to have good food. None of the above apply anymore. I visited last Friday for lunch and I was so disappointed. The tables, floor and décor were grimy / sticky / dusty / dirty! They were out of most selections from the menu and what we did eat, although eatable, it wasn't worth ordering again. I certainly won't be going back anytime soon unless something drastically changes.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peter M, Manager at Ligonier Tavern, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
I am sorry you had that experience at the Tavern. It was a difficult weekend because I had 2 servers and 2 cooks call off Saturday and Sunday. I know that this will not make your experience any better, but we do care about you and hope that you would return and experience us as we usually are.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ligonier Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Ligonier Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ligonier Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.