We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As charming as the town itself” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ligonier Tavern

Ligonier Tavern
137 West Main Street, Ligonier, PA 15658-1226
724-238-4831
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 29 Restaurants in Ligonier
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“As charming as the town itself”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Walking the lovely town of Ligonier, Pa, you cannot miss the old fashioned building of Ligonier Tavern on West Main Street. With its charming facade and magnificent old world style, it's clearly one of the best atmospheres to have a great meal in this town. Never been disappointed in the meals, and today I had Lobster salad which was amazing and a lovely Sangria for lunch.

I cannot say enough however about our waitress, Chrissy. What a lovely young lady, talkative, friendly, as charming as the tavern itself. A wonderfully accomodating girl, we were served promptly and courteously. She certainly is a someone to ask for when eating at this establishment.

Would I return here? In a heartbeat! We ate on the outdoor front balcony today and though it was a bit chilly, the warm atmosphere of the building itself coupled with Chrissy's demenaor made for a most pleasant time.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    39
    23
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very dissapointing!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We went to the Ligonier Tavern for Sunday Lunch/Dinner and were very disappointed with both the food and service. After we sat down it took almost 15 minutes before our waitress even came to our table. Once there she only asked if we needed something to drink. Five minutes later she brought our drinks to the table and asked if we were ready to order. She did not explain if there were any dinner specials or if we had any questions. We both ordered entrees (Boat Scallops @ $24.99 and Seafood Risotto @ $21.99). We thought this would include a salad or soup but when we questioned the waitress she simply said they do not. She did not even ask if we would like to order a side salad or soup. I have had many risottos and this one was the worst ever. The risotto was undercooked and over salted. Really, salty risotto, who does this?
We went there for a nice Sunday meal and left still feeling hungry and like we just wasted $60+ on a bad meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peter M, Owner at Ligonier Tavern, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
I am sorry for the experience you had at the Tavern. That weekend we had 2 cooks call off and 2 servers call off. I know that is not your problem, but it made for a very rough weekend for us. Please come by and try us again because that is not our usual service or food. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Going down hill fast”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This little place used to be quaint. It used to be clean. It used to have good food. None of the above apply anymore. I visited last Friday for lunch and I was so disappointed. The tables, floor and décor were grimy / sticky / dusty / dirty! They were out of most selections from the menu and what we did eat, although eatable, it wasn't worth ordering again. I certainly won't be going back anytime soon unless something drastically changes.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peter M, Manager at Ligonier Tavern, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
I am sorry you had that experience at the Tavern. It was a difficult weekend because I had 2 servers and 2 cooks call off Saturday and Sunday. I know that this will not make your experience any better, but we do care about you and hope that you would return and experience us as we usually are.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal;PA
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Lunch with friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Very good lunch with friends. We all had salads which were plentiful and filling. Good attentive service.It was a beautiful day and we were able to sit on the second floor terrace outside with a nice view of Main Street.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Horrible!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Wish I could tell you how the food was but sadly we never got to try it. We were so excited to try this restaurant. But upon entering we waited around 4 minutes for anyone even to appear to seat us. Several servers were working but every time they walked by they avoided eye contact. We got the feeling they did not want us there. Finally someone seated us. She said I will bring you some silverware. She never came back. After waiting 15 minutes no one ever came. I went towards the kitchen where there were several servers and asked for the manager. I was told there was no manager. I said we have been here over 15 minutes and dont even have a glass of water. No apology. Nothing. We left.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ligonier Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Ligonier Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ligonier Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.