We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colonial House on Main Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ligonier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Colonial House on Main Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Colonial House on Main Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
231 West Main Street, Ligonier, PA 15658   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Ligonier B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing and fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

This was a return trip to Colonial House in Ligonier., a kind of celebration of the arrival of spring. We were greeted by snowdrops blooming in the small garden by the front steps. This visit, we stayed in the Laurel Mountain Suite on the third floor. Since I saw the rooms some months ago on a tour of the house, Jim and Dawn have redecorated this third floor suite in the colors and furnishings of an Adirondack camp. The redecoration turned out beautifully. Even though you are under the roof of the house, the ceilings are high, the windows large, and the light against all those angular surfaces and colors is beautiful. A nice space just to sit, look, relax and breathe. We came to Ligonier for the annual soup festival, which is a fun event with more than 2 dozen Ligonier merchants opening their doors to soup-makers and soup-tasters for the day. You vote for your 3 favorite soups--which is hard because they are all good. This was a real food trip ... next morning Dawn treated us to a yummy French toast casserole with all the fixings including real maple syrup. We'll be back!

Room Tip: I'm a repeat visitor to Ligonier and I've stayed in all the suites in Colonial House. They a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    3
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
24
52
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Weirton, West Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Had a wonderful stay at Colonial House on Main. It was our first experience with B&B and we LOVED it! Dawn was great! Available and friendly she had great suggestions on where to go and what to see. The room was beautiful, comfortable and very clean! Breakfast was so much more that we expected. Plenty of delicious food! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

This home is a 1900 century home. Nicely restored in very good condition. The home is warm and cozy. The staff is exceptional and invisible.. You never see them, but they do so much to take care of you. The breakfasts are truly amazing.... FULL breakfast, pancakes, bacon, eggs etc.
Location is perfect in the heart of town. You are a 1 block walk from shops restaurants etc..

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

If you're looking for a very comfortable, cozy, beautifully restored bed and breakfast, look no further. We stayed here around New Years and had a wonderful time. Dawn is a fabulous cook, and even made accommodations for my partner who is gluten and dairy-free. The suite was beautifully decorated with antiques, with a large living space plus bedroom. We wanted for nothing. We will definitely stay there again. Thanks Dawn !

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Had reservations ahead of time and arrived at 2:45 PM but could not check in until 3:00 PM, the designated check-in time. Enjoyed our stay. Dawn was a good hostess, accommodations were fine, third floor suite was excellent---plenty of room and comfort, breakfast was good-----plenty to eat and quality was good. Checked out on Sunday morning while Dawn was at church-----was able to leave check and keys in our room. Nice, quiet place to stay. Very much in walking distance to the main n part of town. I/we would stay here again. Thanks, Dawn for your hospitality on this cold, snowy weekend. We were happy.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroeville, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Dawn is certainly in the right business. We wanted a quiet get away to bring in the New Year, and the Colonial House was perfect. Dawn was so accommodating about what time we would arrive. She couldn't have made it easier. We had such a peaceful evening in a wonderful suite that was still decorated for Christmas. The king size bed was great as well. The next morning, Dawn had prepared a gourmet breakfast just for the two of us. She was so pleasant and informative. She spent just enough time talking with us and gave us plenty of alone time as well. We couldn't have asked for a nicer get away.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohiopyle, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

This was the second time my husband and I have stayed at Colonial House this year. We wanted to have an overnight babymoon and just get away for a day to breathe a little. We couldn't wait to see Dawn again and catch up with her. We stayed in the main street suite this time and it was so cozy and comfy for the two of us. The bed was super comfortable and the bathroom had all the extra amenities and touches you don't find most places. It was beautiful with the Christmas decorations still up. We had to change our dinner plans at the last minute and Dawn was wonderful in helping us find another place. Breakfast was amazing as usual with cinnamon rolls with cherries on top and yogurt with blueberries and amazing ham frittata. Once we got home we realized we had forgotten our cell phone charger and Dawn emailed us almost right away and said she was sending it and wouldn't allow us to even pay for postage. We are hoping to sneak away again this summer and wouldn't think of going anywhere else. Thanks again to Dawn for always making us feel like we have come home again after being away way too long.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colonial House on Main Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial House on Main Bed & Breakfast

Address: 231 West Main Street, Ligonier, PA 15658
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Ligonier
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ligonier
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colonial House on Main Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.