We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Flavors in an Irish Pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Purcell's Irish Pub

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Purcell's Irish Pub
15 S 6th St, Lewisburg, PA 17837
(570) 523-6000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 57 Restaurants in Lewisburg
Cuisines: Irish
Restaurant details
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Unexpected Flavors in an Irish Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

If you happen to be in Lewisburg, chances are you are visiting Bucknell. There really isn't much more to the town other than the college and businesses surrounding and serving the college crowd. That said, we were hungry after visiting the school and based on our location on Main Street, Purcell's (it's actually Puirseil's) came up as a top choice for food within walking distance. The decor and character of the place is exactly what you would expect - dark wood, lower ceilings, a large bar at one end of the establishment, etc. What was surprising were some of the food choices on the menu. For instance, they offer baked brie and homemade hummos as appetizers. We tried the latter and it was some of the best I've tasted - rich, slightly chunky, served with an ample assortment of veggies and pita. For dinner, my son had a great pub burger with all the fixin's. I enjoyed a Cornish pasty (yes, that's the spelling) - essentially a puff pastry filled with ground meet and veggies. Everything was delicious. They were even setting up for live entertainment when we left. If we hadn't been so tired from all of our travels, we would have stayed around to see what that was about.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    1
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lewisburg
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Skip this one”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I provided a review back in 2012 and gave Purcell's high marks. They went through a renovation and change in early 2013. I don't know if the food tasted as poor as I thought but the new "Vanilla" atmosphere is anything but an Irish/English pub and doesn't help. My fiancé and I are saddened as this was a favorite of ours. We have let the management know that we don't plan on returning to this establishment. It is a shame…

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Food & Irish Pub Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We've been to visit Bucknell 3 times this year and have eaten at Purcell's each time. Never disappoints. Large selection of items for families from babies to seniors. Live fiddle music was perfect entertainment after a long drive into town. Lots of options for meatless Fridays. Good Guinness, great Fish & Chips (small is plenty) and warm Bread Pudding! Yum!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Never planning to return”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Based on reviews, we tried Purcell's for dinner before a basketball game. We ordered the Fish and Chips, which our waitress praised as Purcell's signature dish. It took 45 minutes before our food came. There was live music which was nice, but we were anxious about how long it took. And, to make things worse, when the food finally came, the fish was crisp on the outside but raw on the inside. Didn't have time or appetite for recooking the fish. And, we won't be back to try it again. Same goes for Bull Run Inn that shares the same kitchen. There are lots of other better options.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

You read reviews all the time and you can't be sure what you read is true, however, I can say that my husband and I were thrilled with the fantastic food and great experience that we had while visiting in Lewisburg, PA. Order the Steamed mussels and the Seared Salmon, fish and chips you will be as excited about the food experience too. Thank you Brittany for adding to our great experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Purcell's Irish Pub also viewed

 

Been to Purcell's Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Purcell's Irish Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.