We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DELICIOUS!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pudges

Pudges
1555 Sumneytown Pike, Lansdale, PA 19446
267-263-4968
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 102 Restaurants in Lansdale
Restaurant details
Lansdale, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Went with my boyfriend and had the Reuben sandwich, reasonably priced, and am told by friends they have the best Cheesesteak in the area. Great service, and very fresh ingredients. Highly recommended!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    2
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon Valley, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Had an excellent mushroom cheesesteak hoagie - Philly-style! The price was fair and the food was good and plentiful. A real bargain.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Pudge's has great sandwiches and hoagies. The sandwiches are always well stuffed and never skimpy. Good variety, but not a place you want to go if you are on a diet!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oneonta, New York
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Best hoagies and cheesesteaks anywhere, but only this location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My review applies only to the Pudge's in Lansdale (Kulpsville), not the ruined Blue Bell location. The only similarity between them now is the menu.

Pudge's steaks and hoagies are legendary, and since I first ate here in 1985, I've never had another hoagie that even comes close to a Pudge! I've traveled the 200+ miles just to get one many times, and it's worth it. Not only is it a huge sandwich, but the perfect proportions, super-thin sliced meats, fresh toppings, and especially the fresh crusty-chewy rolls make it a culinary creation far greater than the sum of it's ingredients. It's the sub to which I compare all others, and everything else falls short.

After stopping at the Blue Bell location a week ago and having a terrible experience (See their recent TA reviews for more info), I started looking for information about what might have happened. A March 2012 article in the Montgomery News explained it:

"Co-owners Mike and Barbara Williams sold their interest in the Blue Bell location several months before opening their new site (this location). The Blue Bell store, still called Pudge’s, is now under new ownership."

I then called this location and spoke to the manager, John. He was very friendly, informative, and assured me that regardless of our experience at the other location, THIS location was still doing things just like they always have. He gave me his word that if I came in, I would not be disappointed, and he was right. Thanks John. I would never have come back if you hadn't graciously given so much of your time.

I knew this was going to be a better experience the moment I walked in and saw Kim at the register. She's the same terrific, (and a little sassy) waitress, server, busser, check-out girl, etc. I've been seeing since I started eating at Pudge's almost 30 years ago. I'm ashamed that I never knew her name until this visit, however. As soon as she found out who we were, she told me they were out of roast beef (a joke based on my experience at the Blue Bell location), we had a good laugh, then she proceeded to bring me the perfect Pudge I was promised. My wife had an excellent cheesesteak as well, and we both had a wonderful dining experience. My world is now a better place knowing my favorite steak and hoagie shop is still in business and going strong.

If you took the time to read all this, and you've never been to Pudge's in Lansdale, PA, do it! If you've sworn off Pudge's because of the changes at the other location, go to this location and have an authentic and legendary Pudge's experience again.

My only complaint is that they have just two regular tables with chairs and a bunch of booths. My wife and I are very large and the booths are terribly uncomfortable. We chose to wait about 20 minutes until a regular table became available.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Cheesesteak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We flew into Philly around lunch on Friday but, due to my wife's bridesmaids duties, we were not able to hit up one of the more famous places in south Philly. Pudges was down the street from hotel so I decided to give it a shot. PUDGES DID NOT DISAPOINT!!! The bread was great, the meat was cooked perfectly, and it had the perfect amount of toppings.

GIVE PUDGES A TRY!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pudges also viewed

 

Been to Pudges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pudges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.