We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center to your Saves list
Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2300 Lincoln Highway East, Lancaster, PA 17602   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 36 Hotels in Lancaster
GreenLeadersGold level
Lehighton, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Do not stay here.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I was there for a conference with my husband. The worst place ever. Our room and the entire wing we where on smelled like pee. No heat the first night and it didn't get any warmer the other two nights we where there. The bathroom needs redoing. Our room was across from the maids head quarters. They where very noisy. The best part was the walking trail around the golf course. Also they made the conference end early on the last day so they could clean the rooms and we where told 10 minutes before we had to check out. The hotel has a lot of potential very sad.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry S, General Manager at Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your personal observations regarding your stay here at the Lancaster Host. Please accept my sincere apology relative to the issues you allegedly faced, we have investigated and resolved them accordingly.

As for the overall condition of the hotel; I can assure you that our hotel management team as well as our corporate team is dedicated to an ongoing program to update the facility as funding is available, unfortunately this may not happen as quickly as we would like for our guests.

As the majority of our reviews indicate, the Lancaster Host is a wonderful place to stay while you are in the Lancaster area due to its central location among many local attractions and its unique family amenities.

As for the ten minute notice to vacate the property, please contact the group leader/coordinator for a complete explanation as the statement written in your review is not accurate. Check out time is 11:00am unless special arrangements are made in advance.

Respectfully yours,
Harry Stevens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    121
    128
    138
    142
See reviews for
217
112
18
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grant
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed a week during an event at the hotel and expo center. We were very disappointed in the lack of quality and poor accommodations. Our room had old and dirty carpet, the sink and tub were cracked in many places, the a/c vent was full of dust, tv is a tube not flat screen with very limited channels. The toilet overflowed(it was fixed promptly) then there was no hot water then our toilet started leaking at the base and we had to use towels to keep the floor dry for 2 days. There also was a major water leak on 2 floors that required relocation of guests to another hotel.
There is a major lack of handicap accessibility to rooms,etc. there is a dumb waiter for wheelchairs but it was too small for our average sized scooter. The elevator barely accommodated the scooter as well. The front lobby handicap ramp is diffuse to navigate with a scooter.
The adjacent expo center is within walking distance but not completely covered should there be inclement weather.
The front desk staff and gentleman that fixed the toilet were very courteous and friendly.
Will not stay here again when in the area.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry S, General Manager at Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to submit your personal observations regarding your stay here at the Lancaster Host. Please accept my sincere apology that the hotel did not meet your expectations.
As for the overall condition of the hotel; I can assure you that our hotel management team as well as our corporate team is dedicated to an ongoing program to update the facility as funding is available, unfortunately this may not happen as quickly as we would like for our guests.
The hotel did experience a water main break on the 500’s level hallway; we relocated affected guests to other rooms within the hotel and compensated them for any inconvenience. The water leak was repaired on same day and hotel removed/replaced any affected drywall or carpet.
Results from our guest survey, conducted by an independent third party indicate that over 82% of our guests enjoyed their stay at the Lancaster Host. In conjunction with our positive reviews on this website indicates the Lancaster Host is a wonderful place to stay while you are in the Lancaster area.
Thank you for your patronage and your feedback.
Respectfully yours,
Harry Stevens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed overnight for a quick trip to Lancaster and decided to give the Host a try despite the poor reviews.

On the good side: the room was low priced, the location was close to shopping, there is a game room in the hotel, our room had a balcony to get fresh air and the room was clean.

On the bad side: Our hotel room fixtures have passed their time and need lots of TLC. Our bathroom sink had white paint applied around its rim and it looked ridiculous with the chipping and shabby look. The room had an over-all look of wear-and-tear and I really was sorry I stayed despite the low price.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry S, General Manager at Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
We appreciate you taking the time to submit your feedback. We agree with many of your statements relative to the need for additional renovations. The corporate team and hotel management is committed to making the necessary improvements. We are completing renovations to areas of the hotel as time and funding allow, unfortunately this may not happen as quickly as we would like.

Thank you for choosing the Host, we appreciate your patronage and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Respectfully yours,
Harry Stevens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We had a group of 12 people traveling. The staff was great and very friendly and professional. This was also true of the people working with me in the office (before we arrived) as well - Kathy D. was awesome working through the various questions and planning. They had the rooms ready when we got there and they handled a minor glitch very quickly. I was afraid the rooms would look much different than the pictures on the website - so I was pleasantly surprised when the rooms were exactly as presented and were clean and comfortable.

The hotel is in a good location and we were able to manuver around very well for our planned activities.

After a good night's sleep - we had a good breakfast the next morning. We plan to stay here next year as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry S, General Manager at Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your recent stay at the Lancaster Host Resort in Lancaster, Pennsylvania.

We are pleased you and your group enjoyed your stay with us here at the Host. We are also grateful that you took time to comment regarding your positive experiences and appreciative of your great review.

As your personal observations reflect, our team is committed to continuous improvement in all areas of the hotel, and we are very pleased that you recognized the fruits of our labor for you, our valued guests.

We look forward to your next visit here with us at the Lancaster Host. Please contact me directly if I can be of further assistance.

Sincerely,
Harry Stevens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Was very disappointed with this hotel. Have always heard such great things about them. It was rundown, dirty and outdated. We had received a special rate for the room through Groupon. I am almost convinced that they have certain areas of the hotel for people who are not paying full price. Otherwise I can't imagine the good reviews. The room itself was quite large. The sofa was old and broken. The room temp was 78 degrees and the air conditioner did not work (per the front desk, the ac's had not yet been turned on to function...it was only March). Carpets were stained. The bed was fairly comfortable but the sheets were not good quality. Restaurant was ok, except my husband had to reorder his meal as they were out of soy sauce for what he had ordered. Would not recommend this hotel. We laugh about it now.. "remember that hotel we stayed at for our anniversary..." But was not funny at the time...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry S, General Manager at Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate all comments.
We do not place Groupon patrons in less desirable areas of the hotel. Did you contact the Manager on Duty and request a change in room? He or she would have been pleased to accommodate you.
I did speak to you after the fact and sent you a complimentary gift certificate to stay at the hotel sometime in the future free of charge, you neglected to include that in your review.
As always, thank you for your patronage, we look forward to having you stay with us in the future.
Respectfully yours,
Harry Stevens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

The hotel room was run down and needed a good cleaning. The sheets were threadbare and smelled. The carpet was badly stained. I could not wait to leave and the first thing I did when I got home was take a shower. They must have given us the worst room--our view was the dumpster. Worst hotel I have ever stayed in.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry S, General Manager at Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Did you receive the email I sent to you through TripAdvisor? I wanted to gain additional information relative to the validity of certain issues you cited in your review. Please contact me directly at hstevens@lancasterhost.com so I may learn more of the details as reported in your review. We do not have any rooms overlooking a dumpster, do you have the correct hotel?
As many other reviews indicate the Lancaster Host is great place to stay while you are in the Lancaster area, I am disappointed that our facility did not meet your expectations.
Hopefully you can visit again sometime in the future and see the results of our continuous improvement plans.
Respectfully yours,
Harry Stevens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pen Argyl, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My family of 3 recently stayed here for a Sunday-Monday get away since our son is off of college on Mon. The guys enjoyed a golf game while I did some shopping. The resort has a very nice golf course with a walking trail/jogging around it.

The rooms were very clean, staff was very friendly, and the food was delich. We had the breakfast buffet in the morn. which was done up so beautifully and such a wide assortment of items. For dinner that night we ate in their restaurant LEGENDS for my son's birthday meal. It was all delich. from soup to nuts. It was not very crowded since it was a Sun. evening and most people/business travelers, etc. were home for the weekend.

There was a lot to offer at this resort for sure. Indoor/outdoor pool, an arcade area for the kids, a children's play area inside. Our room over looked the golf course and the other side of the hotel over looks the beautiful outdoor pool. I would love to try this place in the summer when the pool is open. They have one of the largest and nicest outdoor pool areas I have seen. Very large and they even have a swim up bar area.

Anxious to retn. and so centrally located to the outlets, Dutch Wonderland, Sight and Sound Theater, etc. etc.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry S, General Manager at Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your recent stay at the Lancaster Host Resort in Lancaster, Pennsylvania.

We are pleased you and your group enjoyed your stay with us here at the Host. We are also grateful that you took time to comment regarding your positive experiences and appreciative of your great review.

As your personal observations reflect, our team is committed to continuous improvement in all areas of the hotel, and we are very pleased that you recognized the fruits of our labor for you, our valued guests.

We look forward to your next visit here with us at the Lancaster Host. Please contact me directly if I can be of further assistance.

Sincerely,
Harry Stevens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center

Address: 2300 Lincoln Highway East, Lancaster, PA 17602
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 330
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Host Hotel Lancaster
Lancaster Host Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.