We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't bother” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2300 Lincoln Highway East, Lancaster, PA 17602   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 38 hotels in Lancaster
GreenLeadersGold level
PA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“don't bother”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The hotel staff and the lobby were nice, that accounts for the one star. The hallway to our room had low, stained ceilings and stained carpet. Upon entering our room we were greeted by a pungent aroma of cleaning fluid, the room was dismal, the door to the adjoining room was so warped that it would not fully close. The air vent had brown stains around it, the bed was slightly softer than concrete and then there was the bathroom.....the shower was dripping, the finish around the tub drain was cracked and broken off, the toilet was dirty and required several flushes to clear. We checked out within 30 minutes of checking in and the staff did not even ask why??? Unbelieveable, we went to the Best Western Eden Resort, it was beautiful and well worth the extra $36 per night.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry S, General Manager at Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to submit your personal observations regarding your recent stay here at the Lancaster Host. Please accept my sincere apology relative to the issues you allegedly faced, we have investigated and resolved them accordingly.

As for the overall condition of the hotel; I can assure you that our hotel management team as well as our corporate team is dedicated to an ongoing program to update the facility as funding is available, unfortunately this may not happen as quickly as we would like for our guests.

As the majority of our reviews indicate, the Lancaster Host is a wonderful place to stay while you are in the Lancaster area due to its central location and its unique family amenities.
Respectfully yours,
Harry Stevens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    108
    110
    119
    112
See reviews for
194
97
14
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wantagh, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

While the hotel staff sought to accommodate and address the issues above it was certainly an uncomfortable experience. We were upgraded to an executive suite after our initial room was found in disrepair -soiled carpets, phone not working , refrigerator 25$ for stay was filthy and toilet was unclean, space heater in room. In the suite we found 3 live stink bugs ( identified as such by hotel staff) and about 10 dead ones along the drapery line ( there is no excuse for shoddy housecleaning especially when the staff is aware of this bug issue). There was a huge volleyball invitational and no vacancy anywhere or we would have relocated. The lobby while nice smelled of cigarette smoke upon entering. I don't recommend this hotel. Staff members, Yvette, Parish and Jessie did their best to assist but I do NOT recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry S, General Manager at Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to submit your personal observations regarding your recent stay here at the Lancaster Host. Please accept my sincere apology relative to the issues you allegedly faced. We have investigated and resolved them accordingly as best we can as submissions are anonymous in nature.

Although TripAdvisor is a wonderful tool, the scores and the hotel’s subsequent ranking are calculated based on reviews from only 390 guests over the past few years. The submitted reviews are not verified by TripAdvisor as the website is unregulated.

Last year over 70,000 guests stayed here with us at the Lancaster Host. Only 111 guests submitted reviews to TripAdvisor. Of these 111 reviews forty two (or 37%) were classified as “negative” leaving 63% of the reviews classified as either positive or neutral. Even though the majority of our reviews are positive, we continue to make strides on a daily basis to improve the guest experience here at the Lancaster Host.

To this end, last fall the hotel enlisted the services of an independent third party vendor who sends a questionnaire style survey to each guest, post check out, guest participation is optional.

To date with five times the number of total responses versus TripAdvisor, 81% of our guests reported an overall positive guest experience which is significantly higher than what is reflected on the TripAdvisor site. Furthermore each and every one of our guest responses have been verified and they were indeed a guest of the hotel.

As you can read, we value each and every one of our guests; if and when we make a mistake, we admit to it and if possible, take immediate corrective action to ensure complete guest satisfaction. Our goal is for our guests to have a positive experience, enjoy their stay here, and return again to the Host.

We look forward to having you stay with us in the near future. If I may be of additional service, or if you have a question please feel free to contact me at hstevens@lancasterhost.com.

Respectfully yours,
Harry Stevens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orleans
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Every January we stay at the Host in Lancaster. The front desk is wonderful. They are so polite and sincere. The reception is always warm and refreshing. They truly care about their guests. My elderly friend appreciated the effort to offer a room near the elevator. It was so convenient and thoughtful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry S, General Manager at Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your recent stay at the Lancaster Host Resort in Lancaster, Pennsylvania.

We are pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay with us here at the Host. We are also grateful that you took time to comment regarding your positive experiences and appreciative of your great review.

As your personal observations reflect, our team is committed to continuous improvement in all areas of the hotel, and we are very pleased that you recognized the fruits of our labor for you, our valued guests.

We look forward to your next visit here with us at the Lancaster Host. Please contact me directly at hstevens@lancasterhost.com if I can be of further assistance.

Sincerely,
Harry Stevens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We brought our children and grandchildren to the hotel for a three day family reunion. Although the rooms, themselves, were just OK, the staff and overall facilities were great. There was a nice variety of food, and a lot of it, at breakfast. Due to dietary restrictions, we brought along our own food for dnner, which the staff willingly refrigerated and heated for us. We had dinners outside on the patio near the pool. We were able to use part of the conference center because it wasn't in use. There's a separate play room with slides and climbing equipment that our granchildren (age 4 and under) loved. The indoor pool was also a big hit. Being across the highway from Dutch Wonderland and a short drive to Cherry Crest Farms was really convenient. Our children and grandchildren would like to go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry S, General Manager at Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your recent stay at the Lancaster Host Resort in Lancaster, Pennsylvania.

We are pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay with us here at the Host. We are also grateful that you took time to comment regarding your positive experiences and appreciative of your great review.

As your personal observations reflect, our team is committed to continuous improvement in all areas of the hotel, and we are very pleased that you recognized the fruits of our labor for you, our valued guests.

We look forward to your next visit here with us at the Lancaster Host. Please contact me directly at hstevens@lancasterhost.com if I can be of further assistance.

Sincerely,
Harry Stevens
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I just returned from a stay at this place...the last time was 35 years ago. It looks like nothing has changed. The white towels and sheets were worn, dingy and grey with age....and I refused to use the bedspread. The sink had rust and shower trickled out. The heater unit ran all night, loud and smelled.
I stayed on the ground level...it felt like and smelled like a basement. Damp, mildew, dank and dark.
I met a number of people who were from the local area attending a bridge tournament and they said "don't eat at the hotel".

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

As many have said, this place is not a resort. I too, had to have a room changed because of dead flies and bugs everywhere! From the bed to the floor and even the tables were covered with them. The heat did not work at all and dust covered everything. I was moved to another room that was a bit better but staff seemed not surprised of my disgust of their room. I was here for a conference and was able to experience the food as well. The lack of clean items was apparent from the dirty dishes they were serving the breakfast buffet on to the unwashed coffee cups (4) at my table. The food was dry and looked gross.. I went home tired and hungry. The only good thing about this place was the location of the outlets, however, there are tons of hotels in the area. Do yourself a favor and pic a different place to stay even if your conference is here. I will NEVER stay here again!

Room Tip: Do not stay here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harry S, General Manager at Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit your personal observations regarding your recent stay here at the Lancaster Host. Please accept my sincere apology relative to the unique scenarios you experienced as described in your review.
As the majority of our reviews indicate, the Lancaster Host is a wonderful place to stay while you are in the Lancaster area; I am disappointed that our facility did not meet your expectations.
The management team has reviewed your comments and launched an investigation and will take appropriate actions as warranted. Did you receive the email I sent to you through TripAdvisor? I wanted to gain additional information relative to certain issues you cited in your review. If not, please contact me directly at hstevens@lancasterhost.com.
Respectfully yours,
Harry Stevens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Very clean! But old and needs some repairs in guest rooms. Peeling ceiling over shower. Noisy heater all night long. Needs more plugs for electronics.
Buffet breakfast is delicious and has a wonderful array of choices. Something for everyone.
The main lobby is beautifully decorated for Christmas!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center

Address: 2300 Lincoln Highway East, Lancaster, PA 17602
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Host Hotel Lancaster
Lancaster Host Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lancaster Host Resort and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.