We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waterpark good, hotel not so much” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Host Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Budget Host Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Budget Host Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2100 Lincoln Hwy E. (Rt. 30 East), Lancaster, PA 17602   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
2015 Package Deals
Ranked #22 of 38 Hotels in Lancaster
York, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Waterpark good, hotel not so much”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Tired of the winter cold we booked two adjoining rooms here so the children could enjoy the waterpark. The Wingate next door is nicer but you would have to walk through the parking lot to get to the waterpark; no fun on a wintry day. The waterpark is fine for toddlers to pre-teens. Very shallow for the most part but lots for them to do there. Nice hot tub. We were there on a Saturday and it was very crowded with families. The hotel is in dire need of refurbishing, very rundown, although clean. Breakfast was abysmal. Very crowded, overflowing trash cans, dirty tables, infrequent refills, stale pastries. One of the TVs in the room did not work at all. We did not get a good night's sleep because the room was too hot with the heater on and so we had to use the a/c and it recycled noisily every 10 minutes all night. Very disturbing. If we had the choice we would have just used the waterpark and not the hotel, but that is not an option. This may be fine for locals looking for a day and night away from home but the average traveler would find it a big disappointment I think.

Room Tip: I think the only way you may be able to get a good room here is to ask if it's been recently ren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vincent b, Manager at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 2 days ago
I'm sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations on your last stay with us. We certainly would have liked to have the chance to correct any items you had a concern with during your stay, rather than hearing about them after your check out. We strive very hard to make each guests stay as pleasant as possible. I'm sorry you felt we fell short this time, but I invite you to return to give us another chance. I look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    50
    37
    23
    36
See reviews for
121
19
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff were very professional and the breakfast fantastic. They let us check in at 9:30am and let us use the waterpark all day. We got our room keys at 4pm. Our room was on the first floor and were very fortunate to be one of the newly renovated rooms. We had a flat screen tv, microwave, new beds.... The room was very nice, we did not expect much since it was a Budget Host but were totally surpised of the cleanliness and professionalism. Definitely plan to go back many more times. The kids loved the indoor waterpark and the indoor pool. Temperatures were very nicely warm while sub zero outside.

Room Tip: Get the rooms in the 100 they are closest to the waterpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vincent b, Manager at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 1 week ago
I am glad to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that our staff provided excellent service; excellent customer service is a priority of our staff. I am glad to hear that you and your family had a great time at the Caribbean Indoor Water Park, attached to our hotel. The free hot breakfast is a popular feature of our hotel and is always a hit with families. Thanks for giving us the opportunity to host your family and I look forward to seeing you during your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurmont, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Inside and out this place is in much need of renovations. The pool was okay. I am glad we did not spend the extra $12 for the "water park", it really didn't look worth the money. The night we stayed in March was chilly, so we needed to run the heater. Well, it's either run the heat full force, or turn it off and freeze. So, we were very uncomfortable and hot during our night's stay. The breakfast bar area was ok, but too crowded. The pictures on most travel websites as well as the hotel's own pictures are quite deceiving. It isn't as clean and inviting as it appears. Our friends were in another room the same night and said their room was rather dirty, and the comforters had large stains on them. The towels and wash cloths were quite rough. Our room was a queen bed with sofa bed and was fairly small.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor may be a little better, quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vincent b, Manager at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 1 week ago
I'm sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations on your last stay with us. We certainly would have liked to have the chance to correct any items you had a concern with during your stay, rather than hearing about them after your check out. I'm not sure what advertisements or pictures you saw that you felt were deceiving, as no other complaints have been received about them and are an accurate representation of our property. Had you called the front desk during your stay and expressed your concerns, we would have been happy to correct any issues for you immediately. We strive very hard to make each guests stay as pleasant as possible. I'm sorry you felt we fell short this time, but I invite you to return to give us another chance. I look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania Dutch Country, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was very dirty, molded and outdated. The pool was dirty. The water in the water park was dirty. The bathtub drain did not drain. The tub spout did not work. The shower curtain had black mold on it. There was no WiFi. There was no free HBO. We never were told that there was free breakfast. I would not eat anything in this place. The towels were like sandpaper. There was no extra electrical outlet to plug a cell phone charger in. There is no security. The room we stayed in was had a broken door frame around the door locks. There was no handicap parking along the side if the hotel. The morning we were leaving, there was two young man getting high in the parking lot. This place is not kid friendly. the garbage can outside was always full. The lock cards that open the doors did not always work. The people that say this is nice, must be blind and cannot smell.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vincent b, Manager at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 2 days ago
I'm sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations on your last stay with us. We certainly would have liked to have the chance to correct any items you had a concern with during your stay, rather than hearing about them after your check out.

I would like to clarify some items that you mentioned. We do have free Wi-Fi and free HBO. Wi-Fi information is given during the check in process. A channel guide is located in each room and lists what each channel is. Breakfast information is also given during the check in process, as well as posted on a sign in the lobby and in the in room directory. Each room is equipped with a 6 prong outlet and also has various outlets located in the room, so there is plenty of space to charge your phone and plug in other items. Our hotel is very kid friendly, having a water park located on-site is a good indication of that. Our staff routinely walks thru the hallways and around the property to ensure guest safety. Again, had you had any concerns, they could have been brought to our attention and we would have corrected them as best we could.

We strive very hard to make each guests stay as pleasant as possible. I'm sorry you felt we fell short this time, but I invite you to return to give us another chance. I look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were looking for a weekend away to do some swimming and celebrate my son's 2nd birthday. We found the Lancaster Caribbean and decided to spend the weekend at the Budget Host Inn. We had both sets of grandparents join us for the weekend.

Overall, we had an awesome weekend. The value for the money was totally worth it. We were a little bit worried that the pool area would be cold given that it was the middle of winter and freezing outside, but it wasnt at all. The water was super warm and even the air just sitting around outside the pool was warm too. The air in the hallways getting from the rooms to the pool was cold, but you only spend a minute in the hallway anyway.

My only complaint is that it was really crowded. The two hotels that fed into the waterpark were totally booked the weekend that we went. The breakfast was GREAT but had a line out the door. The hot tub was so crowded we could not get in. The baby pool area was very spacious though and we spent most of our time there with no issue. They did run out of clean towels for the pool though by the end of the day.

The hotel itself was certainly not a luxury hotel but we had absolutely no issues. The rooms were clean and very spacious. We were able to fit 2 pack n' plays in our room without it feeling crowded. and the front desk accommodated our request for adjoining rooms for our party which was very helpful.

Overall, I have to give this 5 stars. We will definitely be back. I just hope to find a day that is less crowded and then it would be a perfect visit.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vincent b, Manager at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 1 week ago
I am glad to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you and your family had a great time at the Caribbean Indoor Water Park, attached to our hotel. The free hot breakfast is a popular feature of our hotel and is always a hit with families. Thanks for giving us the opportunity to host your family and I look forward to seeing you during your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We picked this hotel because of their indoor waterpark. It was excellent for our family. The winter has been rough on us and we wanted to visit some place close by for the weekend. Great visit and the breakfast was fantastic. We had a wonderful time !

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vincent b, Manager at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
I am glad to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you and your family had a great time at the Caribbean Indoor Water Park, attached to our hotel. The free hot breakfast is a popular feature of our hotel and is always a hit with families. Thanks for giving us the opportunity to host your family and I look forward to seeing you during your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Waterpark mediocre. Good for little kids and above 8 nothing for a 5 year old. Small breakfast room too crowded for 70 room hotel especially with families. Coffee only available at breakfast. Only microwave was in breakfast room and at the front desk. Also had Roach in our room. Internet on a timer but kept dropping out before having to sign back in anyway. On a good note room was spacious. Don't believe we will stay there again.

Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vincent b, Manager at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
I'm sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations on your last stay with us. We certainly would have liked to have the chance to correct any items you had a concern with during your stay, rather than hearing about them after your check out. We strive very hard to make each guests stay as pleasant as possible. I'm sorry you felt we fell short this time, but I invite you to return to give us another chance. I look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Budget Host Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Inn & Suites

Address: 2100 Lincoln Hwy E. (Rt. 30 East), Lancaster, PA 17602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Budget Host Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Budget Host Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Hotel Lancaster
Howard Johnson Hotel Lancaster
Lancaster Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Lancaster Pa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Host Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.