We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Renovations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Host Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Budget Host Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Budget Host Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2100 Lincoln Hwy E. (Rt. 30 East), Lancaster, PA 17602   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Summer Packages Available
Ranked #23 of 38 hotels in Lancaster
Annapolis, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
218 helpful votes 218 helpful votes
“Wonderful Renovations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This hotel has always been our family winter getway for years. On this most recent visit we noticed the renovations of the hallways and guest rooms immediately ! The room had new furniture, chairs, pictures, bed skirts, bed spreads, even a flat screen tv, microwave, refrigerator, and a coffee maker. Definately the hotel and room looked great ! The indoor swimming pool was nice and warm. We even purchased the passes to the Caribbean Indoor Waterpark for one of the days. It was very nice and relaxing getway for us all.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vincent b, Manager at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us! I am happy to hear that you have been coming to our hotel for years and have noticed the many improvements we have been busy doing this past year. We have more things planned for the future, so be sure to check them out when you return. I look forward to seeing you during your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    35
    25
    16
    31
See reviews for
79
15
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
belfod, nj
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Recently I had to go to Lancaster to attend a seminar. I was looking for a hotel that was close to the Convention Center, affordable, and close to everything. After googling on trip advisor I found the Budget Host Inn & Suites of Lancaster. My room was clean and the rate very affordable. Budget Host definately met my budget. The hotel was about 2 miles from the convention center and close to many restaurants and gas stations. The room was clean and the wifi was very fast. I was able to watch movies on my lap top in the evenings. The hotel had a Caribbean Indoor Waterpark next to them. It seem like a nice place to take the kids for a vacation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vincent b, Manager at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us! As you mentioned, we are centrally located to all things in Lancaster, including the convention center. Also, as you mentioned, we have the Caribbean Indoor Water Park attached to our hotel. The water park is open all year round, so be sure to remember us when making vacation plans. I look forward to seeing you during your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My son just turned 6 and my wife and I were looking for some special way to celebrate it. We heard from a friend about the Budget Host Inn & Suites and the Caribbean Indoor Waterpark. We booked about 2 rooms and got 8 passes and purchased extra two passes which gave us a total of 10 passes to use at the Caribbean Indoor Waterpark. The waterpark staff permitted us to bring our own cake and food. We used about 4 tables they had on the 2nd floor of the waterpark. We suprised our son by having his closest friends enjoy the waterpark with him. He was very happy and definately will remember this birthday forever !! It was worth every penny to see the smile on our son's face.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vincent b, Manager at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us! I am also glad to hear that your son and his friends had a great time at the Caribbean Indoor Water Park celebrating your son's birthday. The water park is an excellent place to have a birthday celebration. I look forward to seeing you during your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Delaware
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Our stay at the Budget Host Inn & Suites hotel was fantastic. We had booked their waterpark package, which included an overnight stay and 4 passes. We had to purchase one extra pass, because of our 3 kids. Our suite room was very nice and spacious. The microwave in the room was nice to warm up the kids food and milk. The entire staff was very friendly, especially when we requested a crib at the last minute. They were very nice about the whole thing. The waterpark was something out kids will always remember. It was just the right size for our children. We were able to enjoy the good size wading pool which was only 12 inches deep. We even ordered pizza to be delivered to the waterapark. They had plenty of seating on the 2nd floor. Great visit to Lancaster.

Room Tip: The suite rooms includes the waterpark package in their price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vincent b, Manager at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us! I am also glad to hear that you and your family had a great time at the Caribbean Indoor Water Park. As a reminder, the water park is open all year round, so be sure to visit again. I look forward to seeing you during your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appomattox, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Usually Trip Advisor is a very accurate source of information about the quality of motels. That is why the three star rating of this Inn plus their very low internet special rate attracted our attention. However, upon arrival, it was obvious that this is a very old, worn and poorly maintained facility. In being candid though, my wife and I did not have a reservation because the special rate was for walk-ins only. So we did ask to see the room and after a quick inspection realized it was below average but darkness was coming on so we decided to book for two nights. Big Mistake!!! Upon occupying Room 102, my wife noticed long female hair throughout the bathroom floor plus a big carpet stain at the foot of the bed. In one corner the wallpaper had separated from the wall, creating ripples all up and down the wall. On another wall there had been a picture or something that was removed but the screw holes left. Also there was a big gash in the wall by the headboard. The bathroom sink had black scuff marks and rust along the edge of the rim. The tub had a big black spot where apparently the finish was either worn or chipped off. However, the bed was very comfortable and the sheets clean. Judging by the parking lot, about all their customers are out-of-town construction workers. If you go to the Inn's website, do not be misled by the pictures which were probably taken when it was fairly new. I certainly would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vincent b, Manager at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
I'm sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations on your last stay with us. We certainly would have liked to have the chance to correct any items you had a concern with during your stay, rather than hearing about them after your check out. We strive very hard to make each guests stay as pleasant as possible. I'm sorry you felt we fell short this time, but I invite you to return to give us another chance. We have been very busy this past year doing many improvements to the property, as stated in the many postivie reviews, but I'm sorry that we didn't meet your expectations. I look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

our room was "recently renovated"...i believe all they did was put up a new shower curtain. room was dirty, tiles were cracked and coming off and the beds were not clean looking. i did not feel comfortable sleeping there, and i certainly did not want my children sleeping there. no frills either... only two tiny bars of soap (no shampoo, etc.) luckily, we only lived 1.5 hrs away, so we drove home. waterpark was ok, but pretty cold.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vincent b, Manager at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
I'm sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations on your last stay with us. We certainly would have liked to have the chance to correct any items you had a concern with during your stay, rather than hearing about them after your check out. We strive very hard to make each guests stay as pleasant as possible. I'm sorry you felt we fell short this time, but I invite you to return to give us another chance. We have been very busy this past year doing many improvements to the property, as stated in the many postivie reviews, but I'm sorry that we didn't meet your expectations. I look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The hotel itself is pretty run down. Holes in walls, dirty carpets, in the hallway some carpet was tattered.But it's not the worst I've stayed in. you get what you for. Staff is friendly and the security guard walked around the halls. They have coffee in the lobby. The pool is a decent size. And the indoor waterpark which we purchased with our hotel package ($12 per person if not with package) was enjoyable. 2 big tube slides that were really fast; hot tub that the kids can go in; shallow pool with a water dumping tank and water shooting guns; And another pool varied between 3ft and 4ft., with ropes to climb across ontop of an alligator and a 4 hoop basketball area inside the pool, also in that pool there was a small vortex pool (kids loved that). It's right across the street from Dutch Wonderland. Shopping and food within walking distance. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vincent b, Manager at Budget Host Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us! I am also glad to hear that you and your family had a good time at the Caribbean Indoor Water Park. We are in the midst of completing replacement of our hallway carpet, as well as some room carpets, so the next time you return, that project should be completed! I look forward to seeing you during your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Budget Host Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Inn & Suites

Address: 2100 Lincoln Hwy E. (Rt. 30 East), Lancaster, PA 17602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Budget Host Inn & Suites 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Budget Host Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Host Hotel Lancaster
Howard Johnson Hotel Lancaster
Lancaster Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Lancaster Pa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Host Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.