We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“KEEP ON DRIVING” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn Amish Country

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Rodeway Inn Amish Country to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn Amish Country
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2331 Lincoln Hwy. E., Lancaster, PA 17602   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #23 of 36 Hotels in Lancaster
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“KEEP ON DRIVING”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Avoid this motel. For another $20.00, you can stay someplace better. The sheets had stains, the towels were thin. Looks like they rent the rooms hourly. A/C - Heat was too noisy to sleep. Someone tampered with the door, and the dead bolt barely secured it. Run-down and dirty. Previous reviews are correct - vile and disgusting. Where is the health inspector?

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    34
    31
    15
    42
See reviews for
45
52
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in this terrible place over the Labor Day weekend, only because the area had no available rooms. The hotel looks as if it's abandoned and closed for decades. Once you get in your room, you realize it should be.

Vermin and bugs are plentiful. So too is mold, from floor to ceiling, peeling paint, smelly stained carpets and lighting, phones and appliances that do not work. The front desk does not answer the phone, and when confronted staff are disinterested and rude.

It is beyond belief that a filthy and unsanitary hotel like this could exist in such a major tourism area. We should have checked prior reviews. The national chain needs to address conditions at this health risk. We have certainly made them aware. It's been weeks and we still cringe at the conditions we slept in.

Gross!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
193 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Vile, Disgusting and Shocking are the key words in describing this horrible franchise of a national chain. That this hotel is allowed to stay open is a clear indicator that health department and national chain inspections do not take place.

Upon arrival you immediately notice that the buildings are in dire need of a painting and the parking lot is so potholed it could be in Iraq. A long shuttered Italian restaurant with pieces falling off is the centerpiece of the property.

Rooms are filthy and outdated. Ceilings are covered with mold, as are bathrooms. There are bedbugs and crawled throughout and flies and Mosquitos. We found mice droppings in the drawers. Towels and linens are ratty and stained.

Breakfast consists of stale bagels and dry cereals served in a small office entrance way. Parking spaces at the office note that they are only for the use of customers of the restaurant which closed over a decade ago.

A constant stream of guests line up each morning to complain about conditions to an owner who pretends to be a non-English speaking desk clerk.

This place is a health hazard and a horror.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ozone Park, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I go twice a year to this motel with my in-laws for our yearly trip to Amish Country. For the price you pay - that's what you get! This is by no means a 5 star hotel or your regular chain of motels. Its convenient, and cozy. Definitely needs a renovation or two, but it serves its purpose for a weekend getaway! Will continue our yearly family vacation!

Room Tip: If you are not a smoker, ask for a non-smoking room, otherwise they assume you have no preference an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I am a member of Choice Hotels customers group. After procuring a room at the Roadway Inn in Lancaster PA, I looked at the reviews. They did not sound good, and I was apprehensive; but because the rate was so reasonable, I decided to take a chance and follow through with my reservation. When I arrived at the hotel, I was met by employees that were courteous and helpful. The room was clean, odor free, and had no bugs. It was quiet and a perfect location, near the Amish Country with many nice eating places within close walking distance. The morning continental breakfast was good. The managers, Al and his wife, were concerned about the low reviews and wanted to make our stay enjoyable. This is an old hotel, but clean and comfortable. Also, you will have a hard time beating the rate. I will stay there again when I visit this area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

As a reviewer on Tripadvisor, I really made a very big mistake! I booked a motel without checking the reviews on Tripadvisor. I will never ever make the same mistake again! This place is an absolute DUMP! The pictures on the web site of this "MOTEL" don;t show how dingey and dirty this "MOTEL" is. When we arrived, it was quite clear we were not going to spend the night at this "MOTEL". I made this evident to the desk person. His reply was that they where fully booked and "He" could do nothing to give us a refund. I asked for the key of the room so we could inspect it. Apon opening the door a strong odor of deoderizer hit us. The room was dark dingey and did not apear to be clean. This "MOTEL" IS IN DIRE NEED OF A CLEANING AND UPDATING.

A little side bar: When we arrived there were four police cars parked in front of the building where we were to stay.

We did not stay at this establishment.

Room Tip: Don't even think of booking this motel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHERMANSDALE,PA.
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Make reservations elsewhere. Nightmare....Dirty, does not look like picture on internet. That pic was probably when it opened years ago. Nothing is kept up. Poor appearance. Just do not stay there. The man at the desk was very rude to an american like us. Need i say more.
Cheaper for 2 nights, but we now why now. Pay a little more and stay elsewhere. Cannot believe that 'Rodeway motels' would allow a motel to be kept like this. tell everyone you see that this place is a mess and not liveable for humans.

Room Tip: A good room would be a mile or so down the road. discusting and smelly and not a livable place for f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
1.0 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#27 of 36 in Lancaster
3.0 of 5 stars 19 reviews
1.3 mi away
Budget Host Inn & Suites
Budget Host Inn & Suites
#21 of 36 in Lancaster
3.5 of 5 stars 260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lancaster Red Roof Inn
Lancaster Red Roof Inn
#22 of 36 in Lancaster
3.5 of 5 stars 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Lancaster East/Strasburg
1.2 mi away
Country Inn of Lancaster
Country Inn of Lancaster
#12 of 36 in Lancaster
4.0 of 5 stars 242 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn Amish Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Amish Country

Address: 2331 Lincoln Hwy. E., Lancaster, PA 17602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 36 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Rodeway Inn Amish Country 1.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rodeway Inn® Amish Country is a touch of Italy in the heart of Dutch Country. This Lancaster, PA hotel is ideally located in Pennsylvania Dutch Country, less than one mile from Dutch Wonderland children's amusement park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Rodeway Inn Amish Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Amish Country Hotel Lancaster
Rodeway Inn Italian Hotel
Rodeway Inn Lancaster

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn Amish Country, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.