We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Disgusting.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn Amish Country

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Rodeway Inn Amish Country to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn Amish Country
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2331 Lincoln Hwy. E., Lancaster, PA 17602   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #25 of 38 Hotels in Lancaster
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Absolutely Disgusting.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Vile, Disgusting and Shocking are the key words in describing this horrible franchise of a national chain. That this hotel is allowed to stay open is a clear indicator that health department and national chain inspections do not take place.

Upon arrival you immediately notice that the buildings are in dire need of a painting and the parking lot is so potholed it could be in Iraq. A long shuttered Italian restaurant with pieces falling off is the centerpiece of the property.

Rooms are filthy and outdated. Ceilings are covered with mold, as are bathrooms. There are bedbugs and crawled throughout and flies and Mosquitos. We found mice droppings in the drawers. Towels and linens are ratty and stained.

Breakfast consists of stale bagels and dry cereals served in a small office entrance way. Parking spaces at the office note that they are only for the use of customers of the restaurant which closed over a decade ago.

A constant stream of guests line up each morning to complain about conditions to an owner who pretends to be a non-English speaking desk clerk.

This place is a health hazard and a horror.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    28
    24
    15
    40
See reviews for
37
44
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ozone Park, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I go twice a year to this motel with my in-laws for our yearly trip to Amish Country. For the price you pay - that's what you get! This is by no means a 5 star hotel or your regular chain of motels. Its convenient, and cozy. Definitely needs a renovation or two, but it serves its purpose for a weekend getaway! Will continue our yearly family vacation!

Room Tip: If you are not a smoker, ask for a non-smoking room, otherwise they assume you have no preference an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington NC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I am a member of Choice Hotels customers group. After procuring a room at the Roadway Inn in Lancaster PA, I looked at the reviews. They did not sound good, and I was apprehensive; but because the rate was so reasonable, I decided to take a chance and follow through with my reservation. When I arrived at the hotel, I was met by employees that were courteous and helpful. The room was clean, odor free, and had no bugs. It was quiet and a perfect location, near the Amish Country with many nice eating places within close walking distance. The morning continental breakfast was good. The managers, Al and his wife, were concerned about the low reviews and wanted to make our stay enjoyable. This is an old hotel, but clean and comfortable. Also, you will have a hard time beating the rate. I will stay there again when I visit this area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

As a reviewer on Tripadvisor, I really made a very big mistake! I booked a motel without checking the reviews on Tripadvisor. I will never ever make the same mistake again! This place is an absolute DUMP! The pictures on the web site of this "MOTEL" don;t show how dingey and dirty this "MOTEL" is. When we arrived, it was quite clear we were not going to spend the night at this "MOTEL". I made this evident to the desk person. His reply was that they where fully booked and "He" could do nothing to give us a refund. I asked for the key of the room so we could inspect it. Apon opening the door a strong odor of deoderizer hit us. The room was dark dingey and did not apear to be clean. This "MOTEL" IS IN DIRE NEED OF A CLEANING AND UPDATING.

A little side bar: When we arrived there were four police cars parked in front of the building where we were to stay.

We did not stay at this establishment.

Room Tip: Don't even think of booking this motel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHERMANSDALE,PA.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Make reservations elsewhere. Nightmare....Dirty, does not look like picture on internet. That pic was probably when it opened years ago. Nothing is kept up. Poor appearance. Just do not stay there. The man at the desk was very rude to an american like us. Need i say more.
Cheaper for 2 nights, but we now why now. Pay a little more and stay elsewhere. Cannot believe that 'Rodeway motels' would allow a motel to be kept like this. tell everyone you see that this place is a mess and not liveable for humans.

Room Tip: A good room would be a mile or so down the road. discusting and smelly and not a livable place for f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

OMG !!! This was suppose to be a time to celebrate and enjoy with my family, but that did not happen. We got to the hotel by 4 o'clock, only an hour off from check-in time. When we entered to check-in, they messed up our reservation !! They gave our room to someone else who came in at 3. I'm sorry, but doesn't policy state that the hotel has a certain amount of time to hold a room??? If i'm correct, the time is longer than an hour !! Anyway, the room was dirty and smelled old. The pillows were flat and the sheets were not clean. The chair smell of old cigaretts and dust!! The bathroom was beyound repair. To be honest, this "motel' needs a complete renovation, badly !!! They ruined my birthday, and my stay !! My family and I WILL NOT BE RETURNING TO THIS PLACE. A word to the wise, it's not worth your money !!

Room Tip: *Nothing *Dont go here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Good price but in need of some TLC. Does not really look the pictures... What was with the people camping outside the rooms in lawn chairs drinking beer? Definitely will pick a different motel for my next visit to Lancaster.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn Amish Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Amish Country

Address: 2331 Lincoln Hwy. E., Lancaster, PA 17602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 38 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Rodeway Inn Amish Country 1.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rodeway Inn® Amish Country is a touch of Italy in the heart of Dutch Country. This Lancaster, PA hotel is ideally located in Pennsylvania Dutch Country, less than one mile from Dutch Wonderland children's amusement park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rodeway Inn Amish Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Amish Country Hotel Lancaster
Rodeway Inn Italian Hotel
Rodeway Inn Lancaster

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn Amish Country, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.