We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge South

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Econo Lodge South to your Saves list
Econo Lodge South
2140 US 30 East, Lancaster, PA 17602   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 38 Hotels in Lancaster
NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

for $40 per night($50 for 4 person), this one is a great value. The receptionist is a nice guy.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    2
    7
    17
See reviews for
6
8
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gibbstown, NJ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

I have stayed in at least 15 different properties in Lancaster County but would never go back to this one. Everyone in correct, the rooms smell. There was a terrible stale cigarette smell in the whole property. Definitely better choices exist in this great town.

  • Liked — Price during peak season
  • Disliked — Odor
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mecklenburg
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2008

I come to Lancaster with my family yearly, and about three years ago we decided to stay at the Econo Lodge South. Let me tell you, I do not plan on staying at this hotel when I return.

First off, I booked two rooms -- one for my husband, my son and I and one for my daughter and her friend. There were no alarm clocks in both rooms. We ended up having to go to the local Wal-Mart and purchase alarm clocks for our rooms just to see what time it was.

Secondly, the beds were very uncomfortable. Every morning, I would wake up with a back ache due to how hard the beds were. Also, the pillows were very hard and made my neck sore, which made a good nights sleep very impossible.

However, there were a few positive aspects of the hotel. One was the staff. The lady that checked us in was very friendly and hospitable. Also, we were close to the shopping malls and restaurants(there was a Denny's across the street), which made it very convienent. Gas stations were also nearby, and that made it easy to walk and get a cup of coffee and a newspaper.

I wouldn't reccomend this hotel to anyone to stay at. I think that you can find a better hotel than this.

  • Liked — The staff and the convience of shopping, stores, and food.
  • Disliked — No alarm clocks in room, the beds and pillows.
  • Stayed October 2005, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2007

Let's start with the beginning...we booked this hotel through hotels.com. Hotels.com said there was no pool but you were given "access to a hotel nearby" so we assumed okay there's no pool but they have some sort of a deal with the nearby hotel. No, you have to pay 10$ per person to go to the hotel nearby. That was very misleading. So, we were informed of this and decided we weren't going to pay 10$ to swim, so we proceeded to check in and were informed of a 2$ charge if you use a credit card to pay? Who does that? I've never heard of a hotel that does that and make a reservation through hotels.com, we had to use a credit card. So we were a little annoyed but whatever, we proceeded to our room. You have to climb a small flight of stairs to get to your room. No big deal but it reeked of B.O. Maybe the Econo lodge should think of shampooing their carpets because it was nauseating. We entered our room and it didn't look bad with the lights off. Then, we turned them on. There was an old love seat sitting about 12 inches away from our bed. It was very akwardly located and it looked like econo lodge employees picked it up while it was sitting out on someones curb to be thrown in the trash. It was GROSS. It may have at one point in time been tan but it's now a blackish-dirt color. We didn't touch it and recommend that if you plan on staying there, you don't touch it either. Our shower had a few short curly black hairs in the tub. Beautiful. So we decided okay we'll watch some tv. The back part of the remote control that keeps the batteries inside was missing, but it was replaced with a BAND-AID!!! Was it used before on a body part? I dont' know, but it was gross. They offer a whole 19 channels of tv, 6 of them don't quite come in...so enjoy all 13 channels of tv. I wouldn't recommend this place.

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — Old couch in room
  • Stayed October 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2007

This hotel is awful! Don't go! From the moment we walked in the room, we were hit with the smell of mold and mildew. It was obvious that they haven't cleaned the air conditioner in ages because of the smell. The towels were like sand paper. Didn't even go near the breakfast buffet...was afraid of what I'd find. For the money we paid, the room was absolutely not worth it. What a rip off!

  • Liked — Nothing...it was awful!
  • Disliked — The smell
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrimack, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2007

Okay, I always take Trip Advisor reviews with a grain of salt. I figure someone from the competition writes some of the more scathing reviews, but previous reviewers are on target here.

We utiliized this motel because of its low price. We spent a week in Pennsylvania and stuck with Econo Lodges in Scranton, Lancaster, and Hanover (outside of Gettysburg) in order to use the Choice Rewards program to qualify for a $50 gas card.

Believe it or not this facility charges two dollars extra if you use a credit card. We have traveled exstensively throughout the United States and Europe and have never encountered this. I thought that the only people who would pay cash in this day and age at a motel or hotel are those who are only staying for an hour!

Our room was okay. It was a non-smoking room with two double beds as requested and it was clean. There was no odor in the room upon arrival, but we were surprised to find an ashtray in a designated non-smoking room.

Unfortunately the management has used no rhyme nor reason in the designation of non-smoking rooms. There are numerous non-smoking rooms posted right along side of the smoking rooms. When you turn on the bathroom light the overhead fan brings in the foul odor of smoke from other rooms.

Speaking of foul, the lobby, the stairway, and the corridors just plain stink!! The smell of body odor and stale cigarette smoke was overwhelming. Someone needs to air these areas out and/or clean the common area carpets! When we returned from dinner one night at about 8 p.m., the lobby carpet was covered with dirt and crumbs. The desk clerk who was applying her lipstick either did not care or did not have a key to the cleaning closet because at 9 a.m. the next morning, it was still filthy!

They did have some delicious bakery doughnuts along with toast, coffee, and juice. There was no pool, but they will give you access to a pool at Howard Johnsons, just two doors away.

We were in the heart of Pennsylvania Dutch Country which is why we stayed here and enjoyed the many attractions, but there are many, many other motels in the area. I would recommend that you choose someplace else to stay!

  • Liked — Low price combined with Choice Hotels rewards program
  • Disliked — The smell!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston Ontario
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2007

Stayed one night, found the room very dirty, stained carpet and in the bathroom mold, spider webs and wall paper soiled. The blanket under the comforted was something you'd give your dog to line his bed.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge South

Address: 2140 US 30 East, Lancaster, PA 17602
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 38 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Tingo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Econo Lodge South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Lancaster
Lancaster Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.