We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Economical” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Continental Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Continental Inn to your Saves list
Continental Inn
2285 Lincoln Highway East, Lancaster, PA 17602   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 38 Hotels in Lancaster
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Economical”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

I have stayed at the Continental Inn several times in the past 5 years and eventhough I do see some disturbing reviews, out stay has always been nice, however; we are locals and stay in the off season to take advantage of the indoor pool, sauna, whirlpool, gameroom, ping pong, and free breakfast. They may have time in the off-season to clean it better and bugs are not as much of an issue with the cold. I have NEVER seen a bug in any of the rooms but I do admit they are very dated. I think this is how they keep costs down. Bedspreads, linens and the bathroom were always clean but the decor is old, dark and dated but usable and the rooms are set up nicely. On the weekends or when there is a lot of people or a holiday, there are two free breakfasts and it is a buffet (a small buffet). Less busier times the free breakfast you can order off the menu which is nicer. Despite all the comments about the dining staff and front office staff, everyone I have talked to or been waited on by has been extremely friendly and I think the staff is one of the Continental Inn's best attributes next to all the stuff they have for kids.

Now onto my favorite part, the facility amenities...there is ping pong (you have to purchase ping pong ball for 50 cents at a machine but keep the ball or bring your own and you can reduce or avoid this chg). Ping pong table is in the indoor pool area and in the game room in the lobby. They have a nice, heated indoor pool, indoor small baby wading pool, indoor hot tub, indoor sauna, and lounger seating indoors that has ultra violet tanning (not strong but enough to simulate natural light) lights above some (a bonus for me!). Also, there is a changing room at the indoor pool as well. You do have a short walk, outside (but with a top cover) to get to the indoor pool facilities. In the main lobby is a small game room with ping pong and billiards and this is where the Le Fluer restuarant is located, again, as this is a motel, you do have an outside walk to get to the lobby/game area. Summer ammenities outside also offer an outdoor pool, nice playground for kids, tether ball, and tennis courts which is a lot for a budget hotel (under 100 dollars in the winter and very reasonable rate in the summer as well. 10% off for AAA members.
Now, for the bad part, I do think they could do a deep cleaning and rooms would be nicer, also, while some rooms are labled as non-smoking, remember at one time you could smoke in ANY room so many do have a smokey smell to them but I never found this to be overpowering. If you are real picky or have kids that are young enough to still stick things in their mouth, or have severe allergies or asthma, you may want to find another place but my family including my brother in law and sister, all who have kids 6-12, love this place and the kids bug me constantly to go to the Continental Inn. Individual breakfast is tastier than the buffet but the buffet is not bad.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    40
    33
    21
    39
See reviews for
81
17
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Selden, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

My family stayed there as part of a larger group. In speaking to other members of the group, we all agreed that this place is a Dump! The rooms were infested with bugs and the hotel staff were rude. The rooms actually come with fly swatters so the hotel ownership and staff know there is a problem. I don't recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

I traveled with my husband and son last June. We had a great time. We walked to Dutch Wonderland. The breakfast was great. The grounds were perfect with indoor and outdoor pools and playground. Planning another trip for this June.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazleton, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

My mother and I recently did a 1 night stay in Lancaster to get some shopping done at the outlets. Since I was a child I have been visiting Lancaster always staying at the Continental Inn. I have not been there in a few years and was a little skeptical because of some of the reviews I read, however, figured it was only for a night. When we arrived as soon as we opened the door the smell of clean hit you right in the face. We couldnt have been happier with the room. The carpets looked brand new having no stains whatsoever, the bathroom was clean, the linens were clean. We also had a complimentary breakfast at the restaurant which was excellent. I definitely plan on staying here again and for longer next time to get to enjoy the pools :-)

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison Park, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

I was a little leary staying hear after hearing some of the reviews listed. We had stayed hear before but, it had been a couple of years. We decided to come back to this hotel for the convience and price. I was worried about dirty rooms and bedbugs but there was none of the above. The rooms are not fancy but, were CLEAN!!! So, If your looking for a nice, clean reasonable place to stay that is close to everything, I would recommend it! It's also nice to not spend all your money on a place and to have a little extra for shopping! My kids also loved the great play area outside and the awsome pool!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

This is not a luxury hotel, by any stretch of the imagination. However, for the price you cannot beat it. It is safe, convenient and did not find it to be dirty as others reported. We have spent many happy summers there and would go back again. There is a large courtyard for the kids to run around. You can walk to Dutch Wonderland. Where else can you go for under $100 in this day and age? If you're picky, skip it. If you're just looking for a good time with family and friends and want to save money, go and enjoy.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

Lets face it, if your staying in this area, your here for Dutch Wonderland, Shopping or Good Food. I doubt your looking for a resort. Your looking for a clean, decent room and this is what you get at this establishment.
This place is clean, the help treats you like family, you get a free breakfast, a real breakfast, and they have both an outdoor and indoor pool.
We are repeat visitors and each visit our room is clean, the beds are comfortable, and the maid staff is exellent.
Bottom line if you need to spend $250+ a night then this is not your place, but..if you would rather have the extra hundred a day for shopping then this is your place.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Continental Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Inn

Address: 2285 Lincoln Highway East, Lancaster, PA 17602
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 38 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Continental Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Lancaster
Continental Inn Lancaster

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Continental Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.