We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was very disappointed.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cracker Barrel

Cracker Barrel
35 Willowdale Dr, Lancaster, PA 17602-1472
717-290-8100
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 502 restaurants in Lancaster
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Madawaska, Maine, USA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Was very disappointed.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I've heard others rave about Cracker Barrel so wanted to give it a try. It was certainly a let-down. One thing, my baked potatoe was excellent but my ham was tough and fatty. Also, the vegetable of the day was a broccoli casserole. It was a pile of slop on my plate. I had to ask the waitress what it was. I couldn't even eat it--it tasted as terrible as it looked. Good thing it wasn't more expensive than it was. I will probably never return to Cracker Barrel, anywhere.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    96
    83
    32
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Breakfast was good to go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Went for breakfast and all were well pleased and well fed. Everything from French toast to gravy and grits were had. Service was great as Cracker Barrel's normally are.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“good food, good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We haven't had many great experiences at Cracker Barrels, and we almost didn't come back, but decided to give it one more try. I'm glad we did. Our waitress (I wish I remembered her name) was very helpful and friendly, and the food was delicious. Try the sweet potato casserole...yum!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthCentral Pensylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Resting on the Laurels of the Cracker Barrel name”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I have eaten "out" A LOT in the last thirty-five years. With that as a benchmark, the service at Cracker Barrel is average, the food is average, the prices are average, the cleanliness is average, and the decor is average. It's not a high end eating place.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithtown, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“RELIABLE FAVORITE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

The rocking chairs on the porch are welcoming, for sale and serve a particular purpose. Take a seat and wait your turn. Good , tasty food with inconsistent portion sizes. If a server other than your table's brings food, forget any side---they're in a rush. If you like Ruben sandwiches you'll love these---the absolute best.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cracker Barrel also viewed

Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 
Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 

Been to Cracker Barrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cracker Barrel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.