We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lancaster
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
1105 E. King St., Lancaster, PA 17602 (Formerly O'Flaherty's Dingeldein House)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 22 Lancaster B&B and Inns
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just like home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Brad and Keith were very welcoming and accommodating. The Lancaster B and B is friendly, yet elegant. We couldn't have picked a better place to spend the weekend. They even packed us a breakfast to go when we left too early for breakfast for a day trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLancasterBandB, Owner at The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Karen, please forgive it taking so long for me to respond. We are so glad you picked us as well our fabulous guests are why we do what we do. Thank you for your generous words. Come visit again next time you want to get away. Yours Brad & Keith, The Lancaster BnB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
136
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

My wife had wanted to go to Lancaster for the shopping (First Friday), so we planned a trip around our anniversary. Brad and Keith run an amazing Bed and Breakfast that should be the model for all B&B's. They were both very polite, helpful, and entertaining with great conversation. They keep a very clean and organized place. The breakfast consisted of delicious combinations that only a chef could put together. We look forward to staying at their B&B again in the near future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLancasterBandB, Owner at The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Tim, I thought about it and feel it is never too late to respond to someone who takes the time to review us so please forgive it taking so long for me to respond...that said it is you who give us the drive to make your time here the best it can be. We are so happy that your stay was rewarding! We look forward to you returning soon. Our best to you both! Yours, Brad & Keith, The Lancaster BnB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

we had a fantastic time with the two wonderful hosts. the B and B is lovely. the two hosts were incredible. super nice. incredibly great breakfast. very helpful and caring. very highly recommended. we had a room and our two girls shared an adjoining room. very tasteful decor too. great location. easy to walk into town or the market if you don't feel like driving.

Room Tip: all the rooms are great. quiet and lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLancasterBandB, Owner at The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
David and Family, Thank You for your great review! I decided it was not too late to respond to every review we had neglected to respond too so please forgive it taking so long for me to respond. You, your wife and the girls were the best! You really enjoyed your time here. Thank you for your words, we look forward to seeing you soon. Yours, Brad & Keith, The Lancaster BnB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

My wife and I had reservation here and tickets to the Fulton. The day of our trip the weather forecast was for 4 - 8 inches of snow. We called and talked with Keith the day before and he said that they understood if we decided not to come and would give us credit for a future stay.
Of course the weathermen missed on the forecast, the snow started about 8 hours later than expected.
Keith called us the day we were to arrive and said it was not snowing yet and they still would give us credit. However, we decided to go since the Fultion does not cancel and does not refund. The snow started onthe way. We stopped for dinner and by the time we left for the B&B the roads were covered.
We got to the B&B and were greeted with warmth and hot cider, yum.
Brad and Keith made us feel very welcome and we chatted until Brad reminded us of the time and we left for the theater.
Breakfast the next morning was wonderful and we talked about the show, as they had already seen it.
So glad that we decided to go, inspite of the weather.
Moral of the story, you can not trust the weatherman, but you can trust Brad and Keith to make you feel at home.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLancasterBandB, Owner at The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Cindy & Tim, please forgive it taking so long for me to respond but I am trying to return words to all who have taken their time to say nice things. Reading your story reminding me of last winter and I smiled. We were so very glad that you braved the weather and still came and yes the shows at the Fulton Theatre are worth the trip. We truly enjoyed meeting and getting to know both of you and would love to see you again soon. Yours Brad & Keith, The Lancaster BnB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanarkshire, Scotland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Spent 3 great days at the B & B in November (Hawthorne Suite) - And it was flawless. Everything has been already said about the rooms, breakfasts and, above all, Brad & Keith and every iota of praise they receive is justified.

I'm sure Lancaster has other nice places to stay, but I'm afraid anytime I return I'll only be going to one place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLancasterBandB, Owner at The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Graeme, I hope you both can forgive the lateness in my reply to your generous words. We have told many guest this past winter of your visit and the wonderful time we had with both of you. I hope your quilt keep you nice and cozy this past winter. You bring such joy to everyone you meet I say Thank You for choosing us for you time spent in Amish country. We hope you will gift us with a return visit until then keep well, Yours Brad & Keith, The Lancaster BnB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Me and my fiance had the pleasure of staying with Brad and Keith for 3 days in Nov 2013 , the house is gorgeous so picturesque from the outside and even moreso inside , from the start Keith was a fantastic host informing us of everything to do while we stayed in Lancaster even told us of some of his favourite places to visit , Brad is the most amazing cook i have ever met every morning you had a gorgeous breakfast cooked from scratch delicious everytime and he took the time out to explain to you how he cooked it which i thought was a lovely touch , both hosts joined us for morning and evening chats and it was great to hear all about their lives and travels and swap stories with them i would recommend this B&B to everyone as ive wrote in my heading id tripadvisor had more stars to offer this place would certainly get alot more would love to return in the more warmer weather be able to sit out on the porch and chat away to Brad & Keith thanks again for a fabulous time guys you made our stay extra special

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLancasterBandB, Owner at The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Isabel, We were the lucky one's with your both staying with us, we speak of you both often. You are both so very easy to talk to we felt a kinship right away and being Scottish myself made it feel even closer. Thank you for the great words and praise, I am sorry it has taken so long for me to respond, please forgive. If you find yourselves near to us do come visit and we head towards Scotland you will be the first call we make to have that beer. Thank You, Yours Brad & Keith, The Lancaster BnB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Do your self a huge favour and spend a night or 3 at the Lancaster. We stayed here two nights while exploring the countryside in September and it was the highlight of our 9 days in Pennsylvania. The owners are so welcoming, warm and friendly that we could have happily spent the day chatting with them. The Hawthorne suite was large, clean, well outfitted and just as shown in the photos.
It’s the little extras that made this place so lovely – a large comfortable living room with complimentary Port, chocolates and home made cookies, reference books of the area to peruse and a shaded porch for relaxing. As so many other reviewers have said, the icing on the cake is the breakfast Brad prepares every morning. Wonderful fresh fruit followed by incredible eggs and baked goods.
We will return – perhaps in January to break the drive home from Florida. For sure, we’ll be watching for Brad’s cooking school to open. Thank you both for a delightful two nights in your house and I hope it continues to be a success. You deserve it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLancasterBandB, Owner at The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Please forgive it taking so long for me to respond but I decided to shout out to all who had written kind words. Thank you for all you shared about your staying with us. We continue to have the very best guests. We continue to redecorate and keep improving each room as we can and do really providing good food to our guest your generous words make it so rewarding to do what we do. Thank you, we would love to see you both again sometime, and the cooking school continues to move forward and we will send out invitations as soon as it opens, most likely late fall 2014.
Thank You again! Yours Brad & Keith, The Lancaster BnB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1105 E. King St., Lancaster, PA 17602 (Formerly O'Flaherty's Dingeldein House)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast is a Dutch Colonial style inn, built in 1912, conveniently located 1.5 miles from the center of the vibrant creative downtown and a short 5 minute drive to the inspiring Amish countryside. An evolving vintage boutique decor brings warmth and sophistication.  Your comfort is our first priority with in-step local information, personal dining (and marvelous breakfasts!). Wi-Fi keeps the business traveler at ease. Peaceful gardens and the nearby Conestoga River Greenway trail enhance your stay at The Lancaster, a marvelous get-away for work and play. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.