We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lancaster
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
1105 E. King St., Lancaster, PA 17602 (Formerly O'Flaherty's Dingeldein House)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
3rd Night Free!
Ranked #1 of 22 Lancaster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brooklyn, New York, Usa
1 review
“Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Waiting to exhale and that's exactly what my partner Kathy and I did as we arrived. Exhaled with joy and excitement. The friendliest hosts ever. If ever anyone is considering a bed and breakfast I would truly recommend this one..thanks Keith and brad

Room Tip: Astoundingly clean and the decor beautiful..needed a bit more heat but overall good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLancasterBandB, Owner at The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Michele & Kathy, We loved your visit with us. Thank you for the generous words. We would love for you to come back and if it is cold outside Michele I promise to raise the temperature while your here or at very least personally attend to your Amish heater in your room...Thank you so much for the kind words and forgive my taking so long to respond. Yours, Brad & Keith, The Lancaster BnB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
145
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, Maryland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

When checking out reviews, I decided all the reviewers could not have conspired together to give fabulous ratings - this is for real! Even so, my two friends and I had an unexpectedly incredible time, and we spent three nights at The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast. Brad & Keith see to it that every detail is perfect. Breakfast is amazing without question. There are also special treats throughout the house including cookies, stocked fridges, chocolates and port wine. They also provide a vast selection of books, movies and games for fun/family time. Beautiful fireplaces and architectural details are prevalent. The home is beautifully appointed and spotlessly clean, as is the cottage. I challenge you to find a bed and breakfast with more charming and witty (yes, funny!) hosts who provide a fabulous experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in two adjoining rooms, which was perfect for us. Suites are also available. Send an inqui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLancasterBandB, Owner at The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Denise, Please forgive my lateness in my responding. Your words make me blush, I am certain you don't believe I could blush...We loved having you all here and would love to see you all again and again...Miss you all Yours Brad & Keith, The Lancaster BnB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

My partner and I stayed one night in the clove room. The room was very private and had a beautiful claw foot tub. (If you need a stand up shower, another room may work better for you). The b&b was tastefully decorated and offered two fireplaces in the common spaces. We ordered the cheese plate, which was ridiculously good. The cheese selection was great and there was enough cheese for at least five people. Powered by a bottle of wine, we tried to make it through the great cheese sampler but couldn't finish. In the morning the leftover cheese was packed into a to go box.

Now the important part - the breakfast. This was by far the best breakfast at a b&b we ever had. A fresh fruit salad with a maple, lime juice mint glaze. Amazing challah bread French toast with fresh raspberries. I'm a vegetarian, so mine was accompanied by soy sausage. My partner raved about the freshly made chicken sage breakfast patty.

Other details - house port, cookies and candy. Close to shops and eateries. In nice months, you could walk to the lancaster brewing company. Not so much in the winter.

The hosts are great. Super friendly and great conversationalists. I asked were a certain cheese could be purchased, and they were on the phone checking to see if it was in stock in a store that was open on a Sunday.

We will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLancasterBandB, Owner at The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank You, Thank You please forgive my lateness in responding. We too loved having you both stay with us, and so very close, we have not been able to get to Philly but when we do...I have added some new veggie dishes and variations. I look forward to seeing you both again soon, Yours Brad & Keith, The Lancaster BnB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We arrived the night of the 20th of November for a two night stay. Our rooms were adjoining on the second floor. The house is decorated so tastefully, snacks, coffee, sodas, water, chocolate, port wine all available at all times. Little suprises throughout the house. Several beautiful fireplaces, internet, books, office, and the most amazing hosts. Brad and Kieth both greeted us. So kind and informative. Breakfast was amazing. Fresh and prepared by a professional chef. Served between 8:30 and 10. The first day we had a meeting and had to leave early. The hosts prepared us a breakfast to go including the most amazing homemade scones. The second night we were having so much fun we decided not to leave. We moved rooms to the cottage (also wonderful) The food is amazing!!! The host told us about local places and we saw Lancaster totally different on this trip. I would give them 10 stars if I could and will be back and bring friends.

Room Tip: We loved the rooms on the second floor. No fitness center, sorry I hit the wrong button.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLancasterBandB, Owner at The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Cathy, You are so funny sorry that I am back reviewing your first review just after you have returned, please forgive me. I miss you all! We have a fitness center...its the stair climber to and from the 3rd floor ten time a day...LOL After you all left both Keith and said you all are like sisters we didn't know we had. LOVE Miss You come back soon Yours Brad & Keith, The Lancaster BnB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Brad & Keith are are the most gracious, fun, interesting hosts. We thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our stay here - and can't wait to get back. Would love to be their first participants in their cooking school……..

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLancasterBandB, Owner at The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Sorry for the delay in responding but better late than not because your kind words to indeed mean a great deal us both. Thank You! The cooking school is indeed moving forward and I will call ASAP it happens hoping for late October, early November. We did truly enjoy your visit and would love to see you again. Yours, Brad & Keith, The Lancaster BnB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Lancaster B&B was our destination for a much-needed late Fall getaway.
Stayed in the Foxglove Room which we found spacious and cozy with the fireplace. Also enjoyed sitting by the fire in the well-lit living room.
Breakfast had to be the highlight - Baked oatmeal followed by a root vegetable and smoked chicken hash with shirred eggs one morning, and shrimp and grits the next morning . . . Brad outdid himself!
Keith could not have been more helpful and friendly with terrific advice on excursions and places to eat.
'A thoughtfully well-run and "neat-as-a-pin" establishment to which we hope to return.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLancasterBandB, Owner at The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Please forgive the lateness in my responding. I made shrimp and grits today and thought of your breakfast so wanted to say so. Your visit even though a while ago seems so recent we would love to see you again but until then we are blessed with the best guests staying in BnB's. Thank You! Yours, Brad & Keith, The Lancaster BnB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Truly outstanding gourmet breakfasts! Cozy, inviting, comfortable rooms! Helpful hosts! Attention to detail! Convenient location! The Lancaster B&B will definitely be our go-back-to place in the Lancaster area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLancasterBandB, Owner at The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Lucy, Thank you and forgive my taking so long to respond. It is our wonderful guests that make our jobs truly enjoyable. Thank you for the generous words and come back to Lancaster. Thank You! Brad & Keith, The Lancaster BnB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1105 E. King St., Lancaster, PA 17602 (Formerly O'Flaherty's Dingeldein House)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast is a Dutch Colonial style inn, built in 1912, conveniently located 1.5 miles from the center of the vibrant creative downtown and a short 5 minute drive to the inspiring Amish countryside. An evolving vintage boutique decor brings warmth and sophistication.  Your comfort is our first priority with in-step local information, personal dining (and marvelous breakfasts!). Wi-Fi keeps the business traveler at ease. Peaceful gardens and the nearby Conestoga River Greenway trail enhance your stay at The Lancaster, a marvelous get-away for work and play. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.