We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast - A Travel Agent's Perspective” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lancaster
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
1105 E. King St., Lancaster, PA 17602 (Formerly O'Flaherty's Dingeldein House)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 22 Lancaster B&B and Inns
nj
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast - A Travel Agent's Perspective”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I was looking for a special place to celebrate my mom's birthday earlier this month and came upon The Lancaster on TripAdvisor. Rated #1 with so many glowing reviews, how could I resist? After looking at the website and deciding that this was the place, I was hoping that the rates would be reasonable. Imagine my surprise that I could book a room for 2 nights for less that $250 total? And breakfast for 2...sign me up!

When we arrived, mom and I were greeted by Keith and Brad. Their kind personalities and the comforts of the inn made you feel like you were coming home to visit family. We had booked The Juniper room, a room on the second floor with 2 twin beds and a private bath in the hall. They had turned on the air for us so the room was quite comfortable. They even left chocolates on the beds. The inn is a gorgeous old home that is decorated beautifully. There are snacks and drinks for guests, as well as port wine and yummy cookies in the living room. Mom and I hung out in the living room a few times and it truly did feel like home. Keith and Brad spent some time with us chatting after all the guests checked out. They were awesome! Definitely make time to get to know them.

And the breakfasts......well, between breakfast and the cookies, I must have gaine 5 pounds in 2 days. Fabulous.....all fresh ingredients. They know their way around the kitchen!!

So if you are looking to plan a trip to Lancaster and want to stay in a beautiful inn that is centrally located and run by innkeepers who make you feel like you are family, and feed you delicious food, I highly recommend you stay with Brad and Keith at The Lancaster. We entered as guests and left as family!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
136
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunshine Coast, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in early October. We can see why this B&B is no 1 on Trip advisor. Absolutely nothing to fault - exceptional in every way. Beautiful old house, wonderfully decorated, warm & welcoming. The most friendly, welcoming & helpful hosts -great to chat to the guys over breakfast! So many little touches like the snacks, water/sodas, chocolates, port, homemade cookies...All in all, very comfortable & enjoyable - only wish we had more time to just sit around and enjoy the house. Thanks Brad & Keith - we couldn't recommend your place more highly!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for mother/daughter trip for two nights in October. It was absolutely fantastic. Room was great. Keith provided wonderful suggestions for things to do that really made our trip amazing. Brad made the most fantastic breakfasts. Only regret was not having more time to enjoy the wonderful house and sitting area outside. Wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We recently stayed one night at the Lancaster and without a doubt, Keith and Brad have a most wonderful B&B. House is exceptional along with the creative delicious breakfast. My brother in-law and his wife from Japan were in from Hawaii and we toured the lancaster area. Both he and his wife could not get over the beauty of the home and how gracious the host(s) were. Thanks Keith and Brad for a wonderful time. Keep up the good work.

Regards

Gene

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia, Usa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I had problems finding a place at a BB in Lancaster area for one night. My husband and I prefer this kind of staying compared to the hotels. It gives such a unique experience.
This was a gem, the guys are fantastic, one feels welcome, it is perfectly equipped with both the charm of old and the technology of the new. And breakfast is actually made every morning...and it is fabulous. We had the best time, even if staying just one night. I really highly recommend it. You will feel like it is your wonderful house.

Room Tip: If you stay in the Clove on the last floor, be sure you are not to tall (otherwise some bath tub iss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leavenworth, Kansas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We spent two days of our honeymoon at the Lancaster B&B and it was a wonderful experience. Keith and Brad are great hosts and made us feel just like family. The room (Safron) was very comfortable and it was nice to have the privacy afforded by the cottage. Parking was easy and we enjoyed driving around Lancaster exploring some of the recommended places. Breakfast was truly a treat as Chef Brad cooked up a delectable meal each morning. We enjoyed everything about the visit and hope to head back again soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on our anniversary and it was wonderful. The room was very nice and we liked the sun roof. Breakfast was fantastic. Very fresh and delicious. We would recommend staying here for at least one night for the experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1105 E. King St., Lancaster, PA 17602 (Formerly O'Flaherty's Dingeldein House)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast is a Dutch Colonial style inn, built in 1912, conveniently located 1.5 miles from the center of the vibrant creative downtown and a short 5 minute drive to the inspiring Amish countryside. An evolving vintage boutique decor brings warmth and sophistication.  Your comfort is our first priority with in-step local information, personal dining (and marvelous breakfasts!). Wi-Fi keeps the business traveler at ease. Peaceful gardens and the nearby Conestoga River Greenway trail enhance your stay at The Lancaster, a marvelous get-away for work and play. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lancaster Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.