We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spoilt in Lancaster” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King's Cottage Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lancaster
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
King's Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added King's Cottage Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
1049 East King Street, Lancaster, PA 17602   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 22 Lancaster B&B and Inns
Falls Church, VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Spoilt in Lancaster”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2007

My husband and I spent Easter weekend at the Kings cottage last year and had a great time.

Great gourmet food all around, pretty and comfy B&B, great service. the proprietress provided us with so much helpful information about the surrounding area which was great! They even hooked us up with a lunch at an Amish household at a small price to the Amish family -that was a great experience. She also cooks a super delicious gourmet breakfast. The proprietress was even willing to share her gourmet recipes with us.

We stayed at the princess room which has a whirlpool tub - it was fun and a cute romantic room.

If you're in the Lancaster area, this is certainly a great choice of B&B to stay at. Granted that it is not in a secluded location and it's actually surrounded by some other regular houses and buildings. However, the great service, food, hospitality makes up for that.

We plan to return when we get a chance.
We highly recommend it!

  • Liked — they thought of everything.
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    16
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
9
149
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lancaster
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2007

My husband and I spent our wedding night in the Carriage House at King's Cottage. As you can imagine, our expectations were very high and this place surpassed our expectations. Every detail was attended to. The innkeepers pour a lot of love into running this place. They also have a great knowledge of the area and were very helpful in picking a wonderful place to have dinner. Immediately upon leaving King's Cottage my husband and I went to another Bed and Breakfast in the same price range. And although it was nice, it paled in comparision to King's Cottage. I hightly recommend it. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2007

Just returned from the King's Cottage, vacationing over the 4th of July. Approaching the B&B one can only appreciate the care and pride put into this fabulous B&B. As we entered the establishment we were met be the first hostess who greeted us warmly and provided an overview of the B&B. We were shown are rooms...an believe me they are even more beautiful than those found on the web site.

We were provided with a brief orientation and possible ideas for enjoying the Lancaster area. Our hostess, Janice twisted our arms and forced us to have afternoon snacks and light drinks. It was great after a drive.

If you want to go anyplace you will be directed by word of mouth and of course a map for every possible location you might want to visit. Want a reservation for a restaurant in town...ask Ann. We walked out the door at 7:45 and she had set up a reservation for us at 8:00 in a restaurant that had no seats left....what service!

OK...the food.....to die for...breakfast is a great experience, everyone belongs to the clean plate club at the cottage. Breakfast is a time for oooooos and ahssssss....so good. Breakfast is worth the price of admission. Guests were great!

The B&B is exceptionally clean and the two women that operate the King's Cottage must have PHD's in running B&B's. They are so professional yet so down to earth..you feel as if they are family.

  • Liked — The room
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2007

This was our honeymoon; we stayed in the princess room which could not have been nicer. I would HIGHLY recommend the rose petal bath, and we also did the wine and cheese, roses, candy, etc. All were wonderful. Ann's massage was the best I have ever had; she doesn't do the cookie cutter thing, but tailored each of our massages to our respective needs.

I cannot say enough about this place or the innkeepers, Janis and
Ann. We felt like we were staying with friends by the time we left. They go out of their way to make things special and the breakfasts and afternoon snacks were creative and delicious. They obviously like
what they do!

Simply said, our honeymoon was perfect and there is nothing we would have changed; staying here was a lot of the reason we can say that.

  • Liked — Can't choose one thing; we loved everything about it
  • Disliked — The we had to leave!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2007

My girlfriend and I went for a weekend getaway. We stayed in the Carraige House which is seperate from the main house. At first we were put off by the fact that it looked like we were staying in the garage. But inside the room was big and lovely. The only issue was the heat - the room had a fire place and it got very warm even with the heat turned off. The innkeepers, Ann and Janis were very kind and their home was beautiful. They pay great attention to detail including strategically placed towel racks so when you come out of the jacuzzi tub you get nice warm towels. The highlight was the food - they are excellent cooks as other reviewers mentioned and they generously share their recipes (apple cake and sweet potato pancakes to die for). I am glad we stayed in the Carraige House as we prefer the privacy and we had breakfast delivered to our room every morning. We had a really nice time at Molly's Pub for our other meals (based on Ann's recommendation). We definitely plan on visiting again.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — The smell of Lancaster (Horse Drawn Buggies = Horse Poop everywhere)
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2006

My GF and I stayed in this B&B as we were sucked in by the website and the online hype. Don't believe a word of it.

Let's begin with the so-called 'Majestic Chamber'. Positioned adjacent to the highway, one hears traffic at all hours of the day and the lights from taffic during the night. It's also next to both the kitchen + dining room and, like many old bldgs has little sound insulation, so one is treated to the kitchen prep and guests arriving early for breakfast -- so forget about sleeping in unless you can sleep through a battle.

The romantic atmosphere is a joke as the rooms are too close together, the bathroom is adjacent to common areas and sound propagation remains a concern. There's no need to use the fireplace as the Inn had a temp of ~ 75 F at night (in Dec.)

Read the cancellation policy and note that you're locked into this place (for two weeks prior to arrival!), so one cannot cancel their second (or third, fourth, etc.) night withought taking a grievous penalty.

Spend your hard earned money elsewhere... the next day you will have saved some dough and be far more rested.

  • Disliked — Noise
  • Tips/Secrets — staw away
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsCottage, Owner at King's Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 20, 2010
It has been years since your New Year's Eve stay and we apoligize for not replying sooner. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your visit to our Bed & Breakfast. As of 2008 we have installed fireplaces in all of the guest rooms, which allow us to keep the rooms cooler at night. Our cancellation policy, as with most B&Bs, is quite different from hotels. We do need to prepare and serve breakfast for all of our guests. We try to be as quiet as possible in the kitchen between 8:00PM to 8:30AM and we try avoid excess kitchen noise during the final breakfast preparation, which usually begins around 7:30AM. Guests are free to use the Living Room and Sun Room as they like. Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Walton Beach, FL
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2006

This was our fourth trip to Lancaster and fourth time staying at The King's Cottage. We have stayed in four different rooms and have thorougly enjoyed the uniqueness of each one. On this trip we brought our daughter and son-in-law so they could experience first hand all the wonders of The King's Cottage and Lancaster. Never having been to a B & B before, they did not know what to expect. They were extremely impressed! The inn is beautifully decorated, comfortable and homey. The innkeepers, Janis and Ann are friendly, knowledgeable, very accommodating, and excellent cooks. The breakfasts are fabulous (ask for their special Amish sausage) and served in a beautiful dining room with china and linen. The afternoon treats set out each day in the sunroom and the cordials set out in the evening add a special touch. Janis and Ann's recommendations have been perfect for our needs and they will handle any and all reservations you might need. Their warmth toward their guests is genuine and they make you feel like old friends from the minute you enter their beautiful home. If you are planning a trip to Lancaster, we highly recommend The King's Cottage, The Sight and Sound Theater, and The Log Cabin Restaurant!
Lois and Allen
Fort Walton Beach, Florida

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to King's Cottage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1049 East King Street, Lancaster, PA 17602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a home away from home near world-class dining and entertainment at our romantic bed and breakfast in Lancaster, PA. Our Lancaster County inn features luxurious rooms with cozy fireplaces and whirlpool tubs! Indulge in our signature gourmet breakfast and afternoon goodies at our romantic Lancaster, PA B&B. Enjoy a pampering massage or immerse yourself in a rose petal bath while you nibble on chocolate-covered strawberries at our Amish country bed and breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
King`s Cottage Hotel Lancaster
King`s Cottage Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King's Cottage Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.