We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique. Fantastic. Wonderful Attention to Detail.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lancaster Arts Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lancaster Arts Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lancaster Arts Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Harrisburg Avenue, Lancaster, PA 17602   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 38 hotels in Lancaster
State College, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Unique. Fantastic. Wonderful Attention to Detail.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

This has to be the best hotel I've ever stayed at. The attention to detail was fantastic. What first attracted us to the hotel is it's contribution to the community. Taking an old warehouse and using local craftsman to redo the place into a viable business in the community is a task I think should be lauded. Then, once we got to the hotel, we realized that there was something to appreciate around every turn. These guys really pulled out all the stops on this one. And at a reasonable price, especially for what you get. We did get a good deal on Expedia, but the full rate is definitely worth it. If we could live there, we would. The art, the history, the architecture, the friendliness of the staff, the atmosphere all offer something new and special. Cute meeting spaces, free WiFi, great on-site restaurant, located very near a(n almost) thriving downtown district, and a great breakfast selection all add up to a superb experience.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    353
    117
    36
    12
    11
See reviews for
110
232
29
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dakar, Senegal
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

Let me say, I like quirky hotels, and this is indeed an interesting hotel in a lovely town that was so green and clean I just wanted to live there (well for 5minutes anyway)....this is not a hotel if you want to take your children, our room was termed a family room, it was tiny, in fact after being on the road now for 10days it holds the distinction of being the smallest...two very small double beds, and its been said, just a shower no bath...the internet was free but not reliable, the bfast was good and plenty of it, staff were mostly friendly, its always difficult in America to find those hotels that are deemed Boutique, and also suitable for families...sort of an oxy moron really, I would definitely say this is lovely if your on business, or a loved up romantic weekend..but I would not recommend this if you have kids and luggage, you won't be able to swing a cat...I also didn't like the red rose on our bedside table (no vase to place it and a waste of something lovely) and I didn't like the envelope placed at the bedside for a tip..thats tacky.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2009

Let's get the "cons" out of the way first: The restaurant is expensive, dinner only and doesn't do room service, there are few of the "typical" hotel services (no pool, no 3-meal restaurant, no 24-hour room service), the parking deck ramp is insane and sometimes the rooms can be noisy (if you are located in a room with a spa tub on the floor above).

Now for the "pros":
It's a really cool building and the staff is very friendly. Hardwood floors in some rooms; exposed brick, very high ceilings. All the bathrooms have showers rather than tubs. Lots of nice touches in the rooms--a small wine refrigerator, for example. Turn-down service. The beds are very, very comfortable. And the place just smells good.

The bar at the restaurant has a very good vibe. A next-door restaurant, Rosa Rosa, will deliver room service so there are more options there.

To me, the "pros" greatly outweigh the "cons" and is just part of the boutique hotel experience.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, USA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Lancaster Arts Hotel while sightseeing in the Lancaster area. We arrived early enough that our room was not yet ready, but an extremely personable and helpful woman at the front desk told us to leave our car in their parking garage and gave us information about what to see in town. She also offered to make reservations for us at the restaurant in the hotel when we expressed an interest in dining there that night. Our room was delightfully furnished, comfortable, and extememly clean. We had a loft suite on the 5th floor which included a large jacuzzi tub and a wonderful bathroom with a roomy walk-in shower. One of the towels was a bit thread bare, but this was the only negative (and certainly not a big one) of our stay! There is artwork everywhere, and we walked up the five flights of stairs once in order to look at the artwork displayed on all the hallway walls. Dinner at the restaurant in the hotel, John J. Jeffries, was incredible. The service was attentive yet unrushed, and we had the best bison steaks I have ever tasted. Our daughter and son-in-law have upcoming reservations to stay at the Lancaster Arts for their anniversary, and I know that they will enjoy it.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2009

Cool spot, and friendly staff. Neat rooms and the whole atmosphere is wonderful. After some technology issues we really enjoyed our stay. If wireless connections are really important to your stay, beware. There are some issues. However, if getting away from it all is important, this place provides. Really enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2009

I was in town for the weekend with my boyfriend and thoroughly enjoyed staying at the hotel. We felt well taken care of by the staff. and the room was great. We arrive early and was given suggestions for lunch nearby. Our room was well decorated and you'll love the paintings and exposed brick. I love that we got a rose on the bed and chocolates, plus bottled water (which we put in the wine fridge to chill).

Take advantage of the complementary taxi service. Just call the front desk, tell them where you want to go or be picked up from, and within 10-15 minutes the taxi will be there. The hotel uses a yellow cab company.

It is on the pricey side but it's well worth it.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2009

We stay in this hotel when we are in town for events at Franklin & Marshall - twice in a row now. The location is perfect for this, but the hotel staff is also always friendly and we like the eclectic nature of the rooms. The shower is luxurious and the rooms are always comfortable. My one complaint is that there's no closet or drawer space in the rooms we have had, so we seem to end up living out of our suitcases. Love having the bar right downstairs, and the free internet is also a bonus.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lancaster Arts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Arts Hotel

Address: 300 Harrisburg Avenue, Lancaster, PA 17602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 38 hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lancaster Arts Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Splendia, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Lancaster Arts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lancaster Arts Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.