We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lancaster Arts Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Lancaster Arts Hotel to your Saves list
Lancaster Arts Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Harrisburg Avenue, Lancaster, PA 17602   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Lancaster
Long Island, NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2008

My Fiance and I spent a long weekend at the Lancaster Arts Hotel in June. This is a great hotel if you're looking for something a little different in lancaster. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    135
    40
    14
    12
See reviews for
121
260
34
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
doylestown pa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2008

Our recent stay at Lancaster Arts was physically very lovely, with comfortable beds, fluffy bathrobes, chocolates and roses on the bed at nightime.

However, the coldness of the reception personnel overshadowed our experience. As out of towners attending a special family event, we were severely disappointed with the lack of hospitality offered by the staff. We echo other reviewers who received little to no help with directions to local shops or restaurants.
No smile or friendly greeting was offered when we arrived.

No one advised us of the very useful taxi service provided by the hotel--is it a secret? We only learned about it from another hotel guest.

Also be aware that aside from the individual room doors, all of the doors are extremely heavy to open.

  • Liked — comfortable beds, beautiful rooms, bathrobes,
  • Disliked — staff
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2008

What a fabulous gem this place is! The front desk staff couldn't have been more friendly and courteous upon our check in. Our room (a Queen Suite) was gorgeous. Exposed brick walls, modern lighting and appliances, soft linens, comfy bed, great shower! Made you feel like you were staying in someone's luxury loft in New York City! There's even a wine cooler in your room should you choose to chill a bottle or 2 for later. The turn down service was wonderful. I loved that we arrived back to our room to find a rose and chocolates waiting on our pillow. Such a nice touch. The bar was outstanding and offered a fine array of wines, beers, and spirits. When they couldn't offer me Pinot Grigio, the bartender kindly suggested a Grenache that was similar in taste and simply delicious! We visit Lancaster twice a year to see friends and I can honestly say that we will be staying here from now on! Wonderful place!!

  • Liked — Everything! The room, the customer service, the bar - it was all fabulous!
  • Disliked — Can't think of a thing.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayne,pa
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2008

I am being generous in giving this glorified motel three stars. It fails to provide most of the services of a real hotel. First of all, the staff in general is sorely lacking in skill- one of the receptionists was downright rude when I asked a guestion. Most were at a loss even for giving directions. The most aggregious sin is that they charge your card an extra $75.00 per day per person, and do not even tell you this when you book! For users of debit cards, this can be a real problem. Secondly, there is no soundproofing. We could hear easily the people next door. When we complained, the staff did nothing. The restaurant is very good, but they consider themselves a restaurant that happens to be in a hotel, and it appears there is bad blood between the hotel and them. This is basically a good choice for F&M parents or couples seeking a weekend in Lancaster. Lancaster is far short of upscale accomodations, and I was hoping, as a regular visitor, that this would be the answer, but it falls far short. Room itself was adequate but small. Housekeeping gives all women a rose each night- a nice touch, but does not compensate for other serious issues.

  • Liked — restaurant on site
  • Disliked — debit card policy; noise
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2008

The Lancaster Arts in a newly renovated hotel in the far end of the city. Don't be discouraged by the neighborhood and exterior. This is a beautiful hotel in every way. There is plenty of parking in an underground garage. They have a nice bar and restaurant in the building although we didn't go to them. Next door there are more restaurants. When you come in the lobby it is filled with original artwork and furnishings. Check-in was a breeze, and they upgraded us slightly to an artists loft suite with a jacuzzi. We have reserved a king smaller suite. Even the hallways are filled with artwork and carved furnishings. The room was so amazing! It was huge with beamed ceilings, gorgeous original artwork, several leather sofas, giant swivel plasma tv, sink with wine cooler, large jacuzzi tub, endless lamps--each one a work of art in itself...I could go on and on. The bed was fabulous with a down comforter and many plush pillows. They offer free internet on the tv although we didn't try it. The clock radio has an ipod dock. The bathroom was also incredible. Huge walk in shower, fantastic toiletries, plush robes, two sinks. When we came back from being out, they had remade the bed from our nap and left chocolates and a rose on the bed. You can buy a romantic package and get massages. This hotel is about 5 miles from where all the attractions are on Rt. 30.

  • Liked — Comfort and furnishings in the room
  • Disliked — view and neighborhood
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnclavin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2008

My Husband and I stayed at this hotel by recomendation from a good friend and it was the best hotel we have ever stayed in. We stayed in a suite because we have a small child and it is easier to have the portable crib in the living area. The hot tub was so nice after a long day. We were surprise to find a rose and mints on our bed at night. Check in and out was easy and smooth. The included breakfest was very fresh and tastey. It is a nice touch that all the food is from local vendors.

  • Liked — The room was great (hot tub large shower)
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2008

Wow what a beautiful Hotel!! I have never stayed at such a unique hotel. There is an Art Gallery in the main lobby and Art hanging in all the halls and rooms which really make this hotel stand out. Our room was very nicely decorated and clean. The bed had very fine linens and the towels are egyptian cotton which made the stay very comfortable. There is also an excellent free breakfast with a nice selection of food...you gotta try the waffles!!

  • Liked — The Room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lancaster Arts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Arts Hotel

Address: 300 Harrisburg Avenue, Lancaster, PA 17602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lancaster Arts Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TravelClick, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lancaster Arts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lancaster Arts Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.