We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lancaster Arts Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lancaster Arts Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lancaster Arts Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Harrisburg Avenue, Lancaster, PA 17602   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 38 hotels in Lancaster
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Booked this Hotel through Jetsetter and what a great choice. Charming building and it is loaded with interesting art pieces. Rooms are very comfortable and the service was top notch. If you choose to eat dinner away from the Hotel "Fenz" is just a short walk away and I would highly recommend it. Outdoor rooftop dining is an option and the food is top notch.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    353
    117
    36
    12
    11
See reviews for
110
232
29
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nieuwegein, Utrecht, Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed one night in a double queen size bed room. Good space in room and bathroom. Good quality furniture and looks. Internet was free and good signal (as it should be the std). Breakfast included, which was quite good offering quite some choice of food and drinks.
The personel was very helpful and friendly. As it was too busy we decided to eat outside, but the menu looked attractive; if there would have been space (we didn't make any reservation) we for sure would have eaten in house.
Parking garage attached offering plenty of space for parking and easy access directly into the hotel. Nice, the combination of some history of this building with modern and stylish/functional hotel. Definitely recommended. Good value for money and great base to explore Amish county around.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed here for one night in May 2013 and wished we could have stayed longer. Definitely would recommend this hotel. The rooms were lovely, beautiful bathroom, red rose on the bed as well as a chocolate for both of us. The only negative is a slow elevator for those who need it, we were on the 4th floor, so we took the stairs. The breakfast is more continental than hot, but plenty of choices, which was fine for us. Would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

No only is the hotel a showcase for local artists, but a great example of reuse instead of tear down. Filled with the character of its former tobacco warehouse this is warm and welcoming property. I had a very large room and bathroom. All was clean and the bed very comfortable. There is a small balcony. A two level parking garage provides on site parking. My only complaint was that my room, next to a laundry room, was a little noisy in the morning when housekeeping staff was getting their carts ready. All staff I encountered were friendly. This was really important to me because this drive out was stressful. Next time I hope to visit the restaurant. Breakfast was nice and the coffee good. There is complimentary water in the room. There was also turn down service with a rose and chocolate.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown Square, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The staff began by accommodating our unique check-in situation, and then continued to be wonderful from there. Every staff member we came in contact with was very helpful and polite! The hotel itself was beautiful and so very unique. Love the red rose turn down service....Bathrooms beautiful!! My husband and I were there for 4 days with our 3 year old daughter for a double dose of wedding fun. The stay at the hotel made this 4 days so much fun! Breakfast every morning was more than a continental breakfast, and sitting out on the patio on a beautiful morning was a great addition to our morning coffee. Our schedules for the weddings were busy, but we since we were so conveniently located, we were able to walk to a lot of places, or take a short drive, which was a fun part of our stay. It is evident that the City of Lancaster takes great pride in themselves, it really shows!

Room Tip: Everything excellent!!! Free access to YMCA across street - please read full review - WONDERFUL EXPE...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring MD
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

While returning home from a trip north of here, I decided to take a night for myself and stay at the Lancaster Arts Hotel. I wanted to visit the traditional Amish communities and tourist traps again, but was intrigued by how different this hotel appeared for an area I thought I knew well. Staying here opened my eyes to the fact that there is much more to Lancaster than what I had come for. There is a large arts community that I had been previously unaware of. The hotel itself is a work of art--housed in an old tobacco warehouse, each room has exposed brick and quirky architecture. It's a little on the pricey side, but a very nice stay with comfortable, clean rooms, helpful staff, and a free breakfast to die for. Computers are available in the lobby for guest use. I believe there is access to a pool or a gym at the YMCA across the street--I'd confirm that first--but I did not have the time to take advantage of it, so I can't vouch for it.

My one complaint was that the lighting in the actual room was dark and inefficient--beautiful and artsy, but not very practical. But this is very minor in comparison to what it has to offer. And the free breakfast was unlike any other I've seen; wonderful, quality foods that were different and beautifully prepared (when's the last time you were offered breakfast burritos?), with a beautiful, relaxing dining room or outdoor seating available.

Room Tip: Don't miss the breakfast. Quality food, unique offerings, pleasant service, relaxing atmosphere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This was a Quick getaway, and the accommodations were fantastic. The staff was great and the hotel is really well done! our stay was refreshingly more comfortable than a stay at one of the high end chains would have been! We will make a point to be back and refer our friends as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lancaster Arts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Arts Hotel

Address: 300 Harrisburg Avenue, Lancaster, PA 17602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lancaster Arts Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Splendia, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Lancaster Arts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lancaster Arts Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.