We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, funky atmosphere with exceptional staff...but...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lancaster Arts Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lancaster Arts Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lancaster Arts Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Harrisburg Avenue, Lancaster, PA 17602   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Lancaster
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Charming, funky atmosphere with exceptional staff...but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This was a wonderful, fun, eclectic and great hotel with one caveat. Make sure your room is not anywhere near an ice maker or the elevator. The walls are thin and you can hear everything. Street noise on the weekends also bothersome. The hotel and staff in and of itself is exceptional with the room amenities very nice and beds super comfy and turn down service a treat. Everyone from the front desk to the room stylists were friendly, accomodating and simply wonderful! The hotel restaurant was delicious with exceptional bar service. The area fun and eclectic. Make sure to use one of the hotels bikes and have fun exploring the area - only make sure it is later in the day in particular on the weekends as the area is not too biker friendly and the traffic difficult to navigate on bicycle. Later in the day on a saturday was a breeze. Breakfast buffett not up to par with quality of the hotel with premade breakfast items lacking fresh foods, but suffices. I highly recommend this hotel with the room location being something to keep in mind.

Room Tip: stay away from elevators and ice machines
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    126
    39
    14
    11
See reviews for
117
247
32
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chardon, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My husband and two adult daughters spent the weekend at the Lancaster Arts Hotel. What a find! We were there to check out Sight and Sound Theater in Strasburg for the first time. It was about a 20 min. drive.

We had a lovely room that was plenty big enough for us. The brick walls and the art work throughout the hotel were a nice change from the typical hotel room. The window even opened giving us the much appreciated warm spring air.

We had no issues with noise. The bathroom was large and airy and modern. The lobby is very
impressive and the breakfast included was better than most. Real fresh fruit, cheese, yogurt with toppings, granola, egg wraps, the usual bagels etc...great coffee. It was just right.

The location is wonderful, we were able to walk from the hotel into the Arts district, have dinner and continue checking out the area. We felt safe and the walk was very doable. It is a historic area which I love. We would go there again.

It is a bit expensive compared to other hotels but if you want an experience rather than just a place to sleep it is worth it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Funky hotel located in downtown Lancaster. Comfortable bed. Enormous bathroom. Pleasant, helpful staff. Breakfast included hard boiled eggs, yogur,t cereals, juices, waffles, hot chocolate. All nice! Free parking, would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This was my first time staying at the Lancaster Arts Hotel. I was in the area for business and the hotel was recommended to me as an alternative to the national chains. The check and check out process was easy. A rose with turn down service was a pleasant surprise. I found the room to be well decorated and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom very nice and the double vanity was added bonus. There was also a wine fridge in the room. My room was next to the elevator, and fortunately I never heard it. The only issue I had with the room was the jacuzzi in the room, it seemed to be out of place with the type of hotel and ambiance that the management has created. I thought that was unecessary. Overall, I would stay at the Lancaster Arts Hotel if business or personal reasons take me back to Lancaster.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Montana
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel numerous times and have always had a pleasant experience.

It is very clean and well-maintained. Staff are very friendly and accomodating. They even have an evening turndown service with chocolates on your pillow.

FYI, I didn't know this until a colleague told me, but the blue bottles of water in the room are complimentary. No need to be afraid to drink one.

I even got a free upgrade to a suite on this trip, which was very nice! The suite has a separate sitting area with a hot tub. It is very spacious.

Breakfast buffet is good and included in the rate.

Just down the street a few blocks is Iron Hill Brewery - an excellent place for local brews and outstanding food. Try the crab cakes.

Hotel is only a short walk from Franklin & Marshall College.

Room Tip: If you're extremely sensitive to noise, you might prefer a room on the backside (away from the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is the second time I stayed here. The rooms are beautiful and the hotel has unique artwork throughout. Excellent bartender and atmosphere. I will definitely go back. I have never stayed in a hotel with such a large shower!

Room Tip: huge bathroom, chocolates on the pillow and a rose, unique artwork throughout good bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The Lancaster Arts Hotel is a historic tobacco warehouse that was renovated into a boutique hotel. The rooms are extremely comfortable, very clean and well appointed. We received a red rose at turn-down each night. There are numerous works of art scattered across the hotel and the lobby if beautifully lit at night with colored lights. Room rates are a little on the high side but worth the splurge.

We found the clientele to be an artsy crowd and the bar scene was lively every night. The restaurant is also quite good with a focus on local and seasonal produce, but a little pricey. There is a wonderful free breakfast served daily in the lobby.

The front desk was friendly and helpful. The parking garage is enclosed. The hotel is directly across from a train yard but we didn't find it noisy at all. The location is outside of the central city, but probably just within walking distance in good weather.

I would highly recommend staying at the Lancaster Arts Hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the second floor - it is directly connected to the upper level of the parking g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lancaster Arts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Arts Hotel

Address: 300 Harrisburg Avenue, Lancaster, PA 17602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lancaster Arts Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Splendia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Lancaster Arts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lancaster Arts Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.