We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lancaster Arts Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lancaster Arts Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lancaster Arts Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Harrisburg Avenue, Lancaster, PA 17602   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 38 hotels in Lancaster
Somerset, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had a girls night at the hotel. When we arrived the staff was very friendly and helpful. We had never been there before and we were given information on how to get to the outlets. When we arrived we were given a cute gift. In our room we had a bottle of wine and a cheese tray. The beds were turned down and we had chocolates and a rose on our bed. In the morning we had a free breakfast. The only thing I wish there would have been was fresh fruit. The juice and coffee tasted good. The art work was original and it was nice to see that the old building was renovated and the brick walls were the originals. I would recommend it for anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    354
    119
    37
    12
    11
See reviews for
111
235
30
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights this past weekend as a weekend getaway to celebrate our fourth anniversary. Another great stay! We had a "king deluxe" on the 4th floor which was spacious and clean. The room was beautiful, the staff was friendly and I have no complaints at all. We had a fabulous weekend and I can't wait to come back!

As other reviewers have said, the walls are a little thin so there is a bit of a noise factor. Overall, though, it does not detract from the whole experience. If you want total quiet, stay in one of the hundreds of motels/hotels/inns out in the country side....not in a trendy hotel in the middle of a city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This hotel is housed in a renovated red brick factory, in this charming town full of art galleries and other artist's venue. The interior is modern and beautifully decorated with wood floors, brick walls, stylish contemporary furnishings. Original works of art by local artists are displayed on the walls. There is a spacious and attractive breakfast room with a continental buffet breakfast - food nothing special. Staff courteous and helpful. Room on the small side, but comfortable. Tiny wine cooler fridge only. Beautiful bathroom with walk in shower. Parking on site - easy walk to restaurants and down town and market.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lexington1, Director of Sales at Lancaster Arts Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your review! We are lucky to be located in an area where it is easy to walk to many nice restaurants, and only blocks away from many boutique shops, galleries and theatres. Each room is uniquely equipped with wine refrigerators, however, standard refrigerators and microwaves are available upon request. We do hope you come back to visit us again soon and enjoy all that Lancaster City has to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We decided to get out of town for a weekend and heard good things about the Lancaster Arts Hotel. The staff was friendly upon our arrival, and the rooms were nice with fun decor and good amenities. The food for breakfast is basic, but a great way to start the day. As other reviewers have pointed out, the one issue is the noise. You can hear people in the halls and in other rooms. Our view was also over the parking garage, which if they put a green roof on would definitely help the view. They encourage everyone to add their own artwork to the hotel collection too. Overall, it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The hotel looks great! Common areas and rooms are stylish. Food was great although curiously slow. Daytime staff were great.

Late in the day we had to change rooms because the cigarette smell in our first room was too much, and the second room we were assigned was musty. Staff seemed displeased that we complained of the cigarette smell, so we didn't complain again..

The design of the hotel is very cool, but there are huge trade-offs. The walls are paper thin, so we could hear everything from every direction: the doors down the hall slamming will wake even sound sleepers. I have never had a problem sleeping - ever. Yet, the tv's in adjacent rooms were loud, babbling until late night. Some time after 1am I went online to look for another hotel, but I decided to stay and get work done and could sleep when return home the next day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is a great place to stay, particularly if you have business at Franklin & Marshall College or the Lancaster Theological Seminary. Very close to both and within reasonable walking distance of downtown. It's clean, the staff are attentive and there are a lot of amenities (YMCA, breakfast, wifi.) Some people have complained about the noise caused by the Norfolk-Southern switching yard that's across the street. That will be going away soon. This part of Lancaster was once heavily industrial. In fact, the hotel itself and the buildings that surround it are reclaimed warehouses, foundries and the like. The railroad yard was a feature of those industries and is just about to be totally moved outside the city. Hang on! Soon the only noise will be the cheers from the 2 block away baseball stadium.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland oh usa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed for 5 days this fall. It was still baseball season, so i took advantage of the complimentary tickets to the Lancaster barnstormer's baseball game - about two blocks from the hotel. They also have complimentary access to the YMCA across the street. This YMCA branch is quite new and very full featured. A hidden add-on to the hotel. My room was small, but it had all the amenities I needed. A good high-speed WIFI (free), clean and quiet. Behind the hotel is a small set of shops and there are some very nice dining options within walking distance. The car park was a two story building attached to the hotel - if the ground floor is full there are lots of spaces on the second level. Also some spaces outside - all free. The complimentary breakfast was European - with food set out on a table - breakfast burritos could be microwaved for a warm meal - many juices, coco, pastries....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lancaster Arts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Arts Hotel

Address: 300 Harrisburg Avenue, Lancaster, PA 17602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 38 hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lancaster Arts Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Splendia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Lancaster Arts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lancaster Arts Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.